We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, food and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olimpo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Olimpo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Letojanni
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My father is Sicilian so have been travelling there since I was a young child. Since around 2000, when I visit Sicily, I stay at the Olimpo, for me its like a home from home. The food, staff and facilities are first class The rooms spacious and views out of this world. Getting out and about is very easy for the for the adventurous kind. I recomend seeing the Cathedral clock tower in movement in Messina at 12 noon each day. Also the Municipal gardens in Taormina which are located near the ampitheatre are worth a visit Most of all I enjoy watching the sunrise over the med each morning from my balcony, its fantastc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonino446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Mr Tonino,
Thank you very much for your great review !
We are thrilled to read such a wonderful feedback from our return guests , for us is a huge reward !

On behalf of the hotel managment and the staff a big thank you for the praises about the food and the quality of our services.

We wait for your return.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    227
    108
    59
    29
See reviews for
296
243
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

For me - the best pace to spend vacation. View from the hotel's rooms is AMAZING and Breathtaking, especially when You take the room with the windows placed directly in front of the sea. The food is very good and everybody can find something delicious to eat. I recomend italian food in this hotel !!!!!!! But there is also plenty of more tradicional european meals availaible. The All Inclusive Offer is very rich. You must try the italian wines and liquors.
But the best for are evenongs. Especially in Bar Antares with live music by Maestro Marcello. Yuo feel like in the heart of Sicilly !!!
Staff is THE BEST. Nice, helpful, with sense of humour.
I Love this hotel and You will also love this hotel if you will visit this place.
THE BEST ON ITALY

Room Tip: Hotel Olimpo , highest floor, with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mikolaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was fourth time, when me & my husband decided to visit again Olimpo Hotel in Letojanni. All because it's wonderful place with really nice people working there. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. As welcome in a room tasty plate with local fruits is waiting for us. Secondly balcone... with direct amazing seaview and look for Taormina.
Full complex with Terazze and Antares makes good impresion. Two swimming pools with crystalline water and three bars. When you add to it very professional hotel service creates perfect matching.
What is unique in this hotel? The evenings with live music. Musicians playing and singing Sicilian (but not only) music, provide great time at Antares Bar. I recommend to everyone, who is visiting Sicilly "La sera siciliana" with Sicilian folk.
About food - it really good. In some moments I forgot that it's hotel menu, not the small typical sicilian restaurant. The best on Sundays - pizza siciliana :)
I wish to everyone to find so incredible place for holidays as Olimpo hotel! I'm sure that next year we'll go there again.

Room Tip: Always take a room with direct seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlicjaRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay in the Olimpo section of this three part complex. The jumble of buidings clamber up a steep hillside behind the scruffy little seaside town of Letojanni. At the bottom is the Antares with the cheapest accomodation then Le Terrazza and on top of the hill the Olimpo the most expensive. We opted to pay extra for a superior room. Not cheap but we had a great sea view and plenty of space which not every one else had either at the rear of Olimpo or in the Antares. Although rated 4 stars this is a 3 star hotel all day long. It gets 4 star status because of facilities like a wellness center not on overall quality. The three hotels are all a bit run down and a refurb is overdue. In saying that everything worked and everywhere was spotless. The food was better than a lot of reviewers have implied. Lacking in presentation but well cooked for mass catering and plenty of choice. One would have to be very fussy not to be able to find something to suit. Both Olimpo and Antares have their own pools and guests generally have access to facilities in all three sections. The Olimpo pool is the bigger and is where most of the activities take place.Not big by modern standards but a nice pool let down by the fact most of the sun beds are only fit for the skip. The Antares pool is much smaller, quieter and with better beds. Both are served by adequate pool bars. There are two a la carte restaurants where one could book and have waiter service. Pointless really as nearly every one was all inclusive or half board. They were hardly used and a bit expensive. Evening entertainment was low key. Either a piano bar in both Olimpo and Antares and some sort of show put on by the animation team ( avoid at all costs ). The animation team were a lovely bunch but rated enthusiasm 10 talent zero ! The all inclusive package is good with the food being fine and the drinks choice quite generous. Its the only way to get value as to buy drinks and snacks was not cheap. There were many children staying during our first week as it was the last week of their summer hols. and most guests were Sicilian. Even though there were a lot of children during the first week i would not recommend this hotel as good for older kids as on site apart from the pool there was not a lot for them. The second week the kids disapeared and were replaced by coach parties staying for a night or two off what i imagine were low cost cruise ships. They were all whisked away early in the morning on day trips then herded into the dining room at night like school children but they didnt get in the way too much. The staff with one exception were brilliant. Cleaners, reception, bar and restaurant all of them were friendly and efficient. I normally would not name names but the staff were let down by a lady barperson called Claudia. There was no excuse for her offhand rude attitude. The hotel management must know she is a problem because she didnt just have the odd bad day. What you saw was what you got all the time. Retraining needed ! The town of Letojanni is very disapointing. Dirty and dilapidated, a town with no pride in its appearance and very few facilities. The beach is terrible, formed not of sand but what is coarse gravel. A little way down the coast is trendy Taormina. Whilst this is very beautiful its also very touristy a bit too much for my liking but you have to go if your in the area. We wont return but would not put any one off going if they fancied it. It was fine for a couple of weeks in the sun and a bit of mooching about.

Room Tip: Stay in the Olimpo section and pay for a superior high floor seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRBColwynBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

If some of the people in this hotel are very kind, others are terrible!
At the beach some place should be reserved for you, but if you come from the hotel, they will play to put you on the wrong places even if some better places are still available. And if you change your place, they will threaten you to call the police ! Do not be afraid they are just bad people but inoffesive. But it is enough to spoil your holiday. we strongly discourage this hotel and especially its alleged sandy beach.

Room Tip: A lot of noise everywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as part of tour group. This hotel caters for the mass market all-inclusive holiday maker...plenty of food but of no quality. If you are on a tour with early starts you will find it has a major drawback. The rooms at the front of the hotel have a wonderful view of the sea and Taormina but come at a price...outside entertainment which would prevent you getting to sleep before it finished. If there are wedding receptions whilst you are there the music could continue until midnight. The rooms are pleasant enough with tea/coffee facilities but random re-stocking. Perch on the top of a cliff face the hotel is not on the beach but it can be reached by funicular then lift and walk through tunnel to reach sea level, then it is a short walk to the shell beach. Easy to catch a bus to Taomina from sea level road at E2.80 return. Staff were friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Avoid sea view out front for quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Client,
we thank you very much for posting a review with trip advisor.
We regret to read that our food wasn't of your taste .
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our in room ameneties , and our welcoming staff.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you're from the USA and travel regularly, you already know that "four stars" means many different things to many different people. The Olimpo is typical of other Parc Hotel chain properties I have seen: a wide range of pros and cons.

Since we were with a small tour group arranged by an Italian cultural society in northern California, I don't know what the nightly charge was. But, it did include breakfast and dinner and we did have a seaview room (I'll post photos).

First, let's talk about location. This hotel is NOT in Taormina. It is in a small town to the south, Letojanni, which is an 18-20 Euro taxi ride (one way) from the Messina Gate in Taormina. So, if you want to spend the bulk of your time in that town, the taxi fare is a significant consideration. That said, there is the reality that the hotel was full of German visitors "on holiday." Apparently, many German families go there just to "go to the beach." We were there in late March. So, the place was not packed with the summer crowd yet. But, I could see how the "Taormina-adjacent" location was less of an issue for a family who didn't need the cultural tourist experience and this hotel seems to work well for them.

If it is the family "holiday" experience you want (and you understand that "four star" here means "Best Western" type amenities, i.e., threadbare towels and no "Heavenly Bed" type experience of Hiltons or Westins), This place has food, pool, bars, views, beach proximity (a funicular ride down to the road and then a short walk to the beach) and large rooms (some with an extra convertible bed). If the price is right for you, you might be able to overlook the deferred maintenance of wall cracks, old furniture, etc. and very mediocre cafeteria food served buffet style.

The food: For us, about the only decent food experience was a nice selection of local wines at very reasonable prices. Had we been closer to Taormina, we would've skipped every dinner at this hotel, opting instead for a variety of dining experiences on the Corsa Umberto in Taormina. Sorry Olimpo but your food is really quite poor. There's plenty of it. But, it was basically tasteless night after night.

Again, whether or not you want to go here depends very much on what you're looking for.
We would not return here since we can go to Lake Tahoe or somewhere along the California Coast for a "beach holiday."

Room Tip: though i don't know what the added cost may be, do get a seaview room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Client,
we are very sorry to read thay holiday experience in our hotel didn't fulfill your expectations.
About our location is clearly stated in our brochure that we are in Letojanni that is approximately 10 kilometer far from Taormina. To reach Taromina is not always necessary to take a taxi ; there is infact a company bus that with 4 Euro return ticket you can go to taormina ( at the reception there is a time table ). The bus, stop just in front of the main park of the hotel.
We hope you will give us the chanche to get back so you can revalue our hotel and services.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letojanni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
80.0 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
80.0 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
121.8 mi away
Magaggiari Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpo

Property: Hotel Olimpo
Address: Via G. Chincherini, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letojanni
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Letojanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpo 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Olimpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel Letojanni
Hotel Olimpo Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing