We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Second Home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our Second Home!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

One of the best vacations of my life. My wife and I were welcomed with open arms by one of the kindest hosts on earth. Our private apartment made it feel a home away from home. Fully furnished, super clean and superb location. It was nothing short of a perfect getaway. Close to the beach and walking distance from one of the best and friendliest bakeries. Now when I say bakeries I don't just mean cakes and pastries, I mean home made lazagna, meatballs, and every other delicacy that your stomach can desire in Sicily.

Can't wait to go back!
love Anthony & Sabrina

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Owner at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Anthony it was a pleasure to host you and your wife!
Rosa and I look forward to seeing you in our beautiful island.
On your 5th weeding anniversary your stay is on us!

Rosa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 3 months in Italy celebrating our retirement, our marriage and our reaching of 65 years of age in good health. During that visit, we spent 8 days in Letojanni with John, Rosa, their own family, neighbours and friends and cannot say enough about their hospitality, generosity and guidance.
When our plans changed at the last moment, they were not only able to accommodate us a day earlier, but also the additional surprise 4-day visit of our son and his wife as their own Christmas present to us. Upon our arrival on the first day, we were personally greeted by John and Rosa at a late hour and shown the apartment and its mechanics of operation. We then enjoyed the fresh fruit, proseco and eggs from their farm which they had provided. All of this was after John had graciously offered to meet us at the Messina ferry 40 kms away to ensure that we did not get lost from there to his home.
John and Rosa's further efforts to make our stay perfect included driving us around one morning to show us Letojanni and its surrounding towns and their favourite cheese, fish, meat, bread and vegetable stores. An evening of conversation and drinking in their own home below our unit. They also arranged for a neighbour to come on our last day to lead us in the preparation of an incredible Sicilian dinner. And they responded promptly and in person to any questions we had as to the use of their apratment and its equipment and our tourist questions.
My wife and I have many highlights and memories from our trip, but our stay with John and Rosa was indeed the cherry on top!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pugliaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Owner at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Rosa and I truly enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you and we wish you many more great decades!
Any time, our home is your home.
ROSA & JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Fabulous place fabulous people John and rosa could not do enough for us would highly recommend. The location is excellent the beach is very close. We got to see the real Sicily with the friendly locals waving every morning making us feel so welcome. John very kindly organised a cook who made us a Sicilian feast one night and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Rosa organised a trip to mount etna with a local guy and this was another highlight for us. We were a group of 8 people and found the terrace fabulous in the evenings watching the sun go down looking out at the sea. The welcome we received was so warm and inviting that we would highly recommend anyone travelling to Sicily to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT310710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Owner at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
FABULOUS guests!
An owner/manager, must bend backwards to make his guests happy since they pay the bills!
It was a great pleasure making you feel at home!
Rosa and I will also be delighted in receiving and being your point of contact in Sicily!
John & Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Rosa and John's villa was very appealing; comfortable and in a beautiful setting. The town is on the sea and close to other towns. John and Rosa were wonderful hosts, accessible and showed us special places while we were there. Molto grazie John and Rosa!

Nancy
Vermont

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDesRault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Owner at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Nancy
Vermont.

Thank-you for trusting us with your well deserved holiday!
It will be a pleasure having over any time-----------next time you must bring Lucie!
p.s. promise to take care of her!
John & Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koskue, Finland
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

For once the great words about this accommodation were not a bit exaggerated - the apartment met all the expectations we had and provided many happy surprises! Thank you John and Rosa, staying with you gave us a great insight on Sicily, we learnt many things about your country that I would think most tourists don't.

The beach was just around the corner and it was nice and quiet on the beach in the end of May for our daughter to build sand castles. The beach lido and its personnel were lovely, and those pizzas - yam.

In general Letojanni was an excellent choice for a holiday in Sicily: good selection of restaurants, cafés, nice playgrounds, the beach, things that a family on holiday needs but we were also in the middle of normal everyday life: had the bakery, butcher, veggie&fruit store close by, saw and heard the friendly neighbours chatting from one balcony to another... We really enjoyed it. As well as the fresh eggs, salads, zucchinis, herbs, lemons, loquats (nespolos) etc that all came from John's garden.
There was also a bus connection from Letojanni to Taormina as well as a train connection to Messina and Catania, so going a around and about was very easy.

We can warmly recommend this place for anyone in need of a vacation! We'll surely be back!

Thanks John, Gracias Rosa!
Regards from Finland,
Erika, Janne & Aada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika_Koskue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Owner at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Erika, Janne & Aada,
Some guest, like to keep their distance and privacy which is normal but you guys are family!
any time you have a home in SICILY,
P.S. CAN WE ARRANGE SOMETHING BETWEEN AADA AND DIEGO, ora mai voi siete SICULI!
John, Rosa. Marco, Gian-luca, Diego,Nona and ZORO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The apartments and John and Rosa are as amazing as the other reviewers say they are!!

John and Rosa are extremely generous, helpful and kind hosts and go out of their way to make sure your stay is one to remember.
Their apartments are clean, spacious and equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. It was a perfect place to have relaxing and extremely enjoyable holiday.

It is one of those places you hate to leave and a dream about going back to!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 0rla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Manager at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Orla, it was a pleasure having you with us!
Any time you have a home in Sicily,
regards
John & Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We just came back from our 9-day-long Sicilian holiday that was as unfortunate as it can get EXCEPT for this apartment. We had terrible weather and many other problems, but there really is nothing negative we can write about our accomodation. We had read all these reviews before we chose Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela and they convinced us it would be the perfect place for our needs. It is very close to the beach, maybe 50m, one can see and hear the sea from the balcony. The balcony, which by the way is fantastic, it runs around 3 sides of the apartment (we stayed in the smaller apartment on the first floor). There's plenty of plants and flowers there. The neighbourhood is quiet and the neighbours are very nice, some speak English and German, they were always up to a chat or advise us about where to go.
The building is completely modernized and very, very clean. The owners, John and Rosa, live on the ground floor so whatever help we needed, they would always be there for us. It truly felt like being with family. There was fresh fruit and a bottle of sparkling wine on the table when we arrived. It was Easter, and there was a huge Kinder egg for our 2.5-year-old son too :). On our first day John took us to what he called his natural supermarket, his garden. It was fantastic. We've seen all these vegetables and fruits that we only see in supermarkets here in Germany/Holland :). We even got fresh eggs, they were still warm! We prepared a fantastic omlette, and ever since our son is addicted to bacon&eggs! He also could not stop eating these small orange fruits called nespole, also from John's garden. Then one day John got us our very own cook, who cooked a dinner for us (my first time eating rabbit - it was DELICIOUS, thank you Carmela!) - our small luxurious compensation for the bad weather ;P.
The price also included transport from Catania airport which we foolishly did not use as we wanted to have our own car for the whole trip. It was a bad idea, turned out to be much more expensive than what we were told by the car rental company. So maybe it is a better idea to rent a car locally later, as John suggested, only for those days when one wants to take a day-trip.
Taormina is right next to Letojanni and it's stunning. On top of the hill, wonderful view on the sea below and on the Etna in the background. Truly beautiful.
I just think we were very lucky with this apartment, the location is great, the owners are fantastic, we really cannot write negatives.
So thank you John and Rosa for making our stay so pleasant, we surely will be back - this time in summer to make sure we have better weather :).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaximLava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONERACE, Owner at Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
How can an owner not bend backwards when his guests are also "FANTASTIC"
considering the lousy weather you had thru out your stay--------a special rate will be applied on your next visit to Sicily!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letojanni
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Vincenzo
Hotel San Vincenzo
#9 of 11 in Letojanni
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#39 of 88 in Taormina
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Peppe
Hotel da Peppe
#6 of 11 in Letojanni
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sylesia
Hotel Sylesia
#35 of 88 in Taormina
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fernanda
Hotel Fernanda
#5 of 11 in Letojanni
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela

Property: Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela
Address: Via Lombardo 4 | angolo via marconi e duca d'aosta, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Letojanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela is located on the Bay of Taormina, 35 meters from the beach and 3 kilometers from the exit of highway A18.Ideal location for someone who wants to be close to the sea with the possibility of exploring HISTORIC TAORMINA, and all wonderfull sites easily accessible from highway A18.This fully renovated mansion offers all comforts and ammenities you find in your home.Rosa and John, your hosts, live in the same structure and are at your disposal for any necessity you might have during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vacanza Donna Carmela Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing