We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sardinia Blu Residence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a fabulous time at Sardinia Blu Residence. Although there were no taxi's at the train station when we arrived we eventually found the accommodation not realising that we could have called and they would have collected us. The accommodation was modest, clean and adequate. The staff were very helpful and accommodating to any questions that we had about Sardinia and Italy. They were extremely helpful in helping us hire a car for the day and in dropping us down to the local cafe and to the fish markets. Without a car it is a 10-15 minute stroll to most places which is great for a morning walk or evening stroll. It potentially is a challenge if you need to go grocery shopping. The complex had wifi but it was only available in the communal courtyard. BBQ's are available on request from reception. The bedroom was air conditioned but was not necessary as a beautiful sea breeze swept from the front to the back of the apartment. The back gate offers a short 5 minute walk to the ocean for a swim.

Room Tip: Ask for a collection from the train station if you do not have a car as it is approx 30 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

Sardinia Blu residence is situated in a great location overlooking the town of Golfo Aranci and with its own swimming / plunge pool at the top of the complex it is a great place to soak up the sun when not on the beach.

The apartments are spacious and equipped with just about everything you would need for a S/C stay. We particularly liked the fact that you had a full size fridge freezer and for tired kids the equivalent of FREEVIEW TV. Every apratment seems to have been laid out so as to give some shelter from the sun (should you need it) at all times of day... with great balconies or terraces to entertain family and friends.

The Sardinia Blu staff, Vicky, Francesco and Laura, really make the accommodation what is is.... they are always friendly and speak a bundle of languages (including English) fluently.... dealing with all of your needs... from suggesting great restaurants (where you get a good discount) to arranging fishing / boating trips. The site is kept in immaculate condition with gardeners tending the site every evening.... it was rare to see anything out of place.

There are a number of beaches within a 5 min walk of the complex the closest being less 200m away (if you nip through the private complex ;-)) - with food and drink, pedalo hire available on most of the beaches.

The town itself is very pleasant with lots of touristy shops, some great pizzerias (the best one being at the bottom of the complex where they sell pizza by the metre!!), sea food is of course the local speciality and should not be missed!!

There are lots of other more secluded beaches within a short drive of the complex if you have a car.... which provide fantastic snorkelling for young and old (my 6 and 8 yr old are now hooked).

We found everyone we met in Golfo Aranci to be more than helpful and despite my rather rusty Italian skills there was always a smile and a helpful approach to any problem.

All in all we had a SUPERB holiday at Sardinia Blu - it had been over 7 years since we had last been to Golfo Aranci and we could see that the whole area is being developed to accomodate its growing popularity, we are looking forward to going back in the future.

We would certainly choose to stay at Sardinia Blu again - the holiday was really good value for money considering this is where the ITALIANS choose to come on holiday... for the great weather, great beaches and great accommodation.

Enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HiggyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Sardinia Blu Residence, Golfo Aranci

When we arrived the reception was closed and we had to wait several hours before we could go into the accommodation. Francesco and Vicky were emailed in advance with our arrival time, so it would have been courteous to have known that reception would be closed prior to arrival. Francesco did not appear to be expecting us even though I had emailed for directions just 6 days before.

The accommodation was clean. A sea view and south facing apartment were requested months in advance. The sea view was partially blocked by another building and whilst the apartment was in the sun in the morning, it was shaded from early evening. For English people, don't expect a kettle or toaster. Water for tea is boiled in a pot on the hob and toast is made in a griddle pan. There is no oven or microwave. Having the freezer is handy for ice-creams and freezing bread. There is no iron or ironing board. The shower is extremely small. I weigh 57kg and had difficulty bending down to wash my feet. However the bathroom is of a good size, just badly designed. There is no BBQ and the outdoor furniture is years old to the extent that the finish is cream matt rather than a glossy white plastic. We were told that the apartment was not close to any noise. However, there was noise from the fun fair until late at night and also continual noise from the main road with cars travelling through from the ferry.

The area is an excellent base for exploring the north east coast and beaches close by are the best. The island is beautiful but the Sardinians are very rude and unhelpful. You get the feeling that they don't really want tourists, just our money.

We paid 1525 euros for 2 weeks in July and feel that the accommodation on offer was not value for money. Francesco and Vicky had a take it or leave it attitude.

There is quite a selection of restaurants. Most selling pizza and fish dishes. Don't expect to be able to have any meat unless you hunt it out! Lasagne and spaghetti bolognese is practically non-existent and there is no fast food (burgers, chicken nuggets) for small children. Vegetables are also rare and where on the menu are an extra charge as is a side dish of salad. However, we did find some very nice restaurants off the main tourist area.

Don't get ill. Unfortunately I had to attend both the doctors and hospital. They charge huge prices for all treatment and medicines even though the UK is a member of the EC and I had a blue card. I wasn't even examined at the doctors and received a prescription! However, when challenged the prices become much cheaper. Also, the treatment is not very good. My own doctor was appalled that the antibiotics I was prescribed were too strong and they have caused other problems to which I am still recovering 1 month later!

To conclude, I would not recommend this accommodation to a friend. I would recommend the location as a base and the island for its beauty but not the people.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpeedyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastien_D54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Il piano superiore ha una vista mare bellissima.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginoaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rez de chaussée, vue mer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CVGE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golfo Aranci hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Resort & SPA Baia Caddinas
1.9 mi away
Baia de Bahas - Apartments & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Antonina - Baja de Bahas Exclusive
0.7 mi away
Villa Margherita Hotel
Villa Margherita Hotel
#1 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#6 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sardinia Blu Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sardinia Blu Residence

Address: Via Giosue' Carducci 7, 07020, Golfo Aranci, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Golfo Aranci
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Golfo Aranci
Price Range: $81 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sardinia Blu Residence 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Apartment with swimming pool, in Sardinia, placed 200 meters from the beach, just renewed, fully equipped and furnished and mostly with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sardinia Blu Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sardinia Blu Residence Golfo Aranci, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing