We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Golfo Aranci
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Top Family Hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The rooms were comfortable with excellent, and quiet, aircon. The views and locations are stunning. The staff are exceptionally efficient, friendly and helpful. The pool is just about the right size and the beach is good too. Add in a super a la carte restaurant and a lobby ideal for pre and post dinner drinks and it's all very good indeed. Golfo Aranci itself is pretty quiet so it's a place for relaxing not for clubbing! Those in search of water sports however, particularly diving, can have some fun. A trip into the bay to dolphin watch is well worthwhile.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and got the morning sun. Choose a beach view if you want to lie in :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisofBlackheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    98
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
107
192
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Where to start? We loved Gabbiano Azzurro,the staff were terrific, so helpful, especially as our Italian was very limited to say the least! I thinkwe provided them with plenty of laughs! The whole place was immaculately clean,bathrooms cleaned twice daily, plenty of fresh towels and bedlinen. We only had the compact sea view room but we had everything we needed with plenty of built in storege. Luca on reception was exceptional with his knowledge of the area and advice on the best trips to suit our needs as was Sylvana and Maria. Everyone was so kind and friendly.
We did two boat trips, one to the La Madalena Archipelago which was extremely good; we did the Wally Trolley ride around La Madalena with Marco driving and telling us all about the island, of course we couldn't understand a word, but what a character! The second trip was to Tavolara Island stopping to feed dolphins and swim at various bays. Lunch was cooked totally by Paoalo and what a lunch, seafood pasta, bread, home made wine, cheeses, salami followed by the most enormous fresh fruit platter we had ever seem.Truly scrumptious!.We loved all of our holiday. We had bed and breakfast at the Gabbiano, that too was excellent. If there was something different you wanted you only had to ask.
Eating out was good with help from Luca who booked tables with good views for us. Our favourite was L'Ostrica Ubriaca near the Port, but for a cheaper, excellent pizza we went to La Pecora Viziosa, a massive, gorgeous pizza for 5 euro! We also ate at La Spigola and when eventually the food arrived it was very good. This was our first time in Sardinia and it certainly won't be our last. Loved it!!! ( The only downside at Gabbiano? 15 euros per day per sunbed on their private beach in peak season and the little stretch of public beach gets too crowded so you really have to have the beds if you are a beach person if you're not then the pool area is fine. Also the beach sellers, dreadful!)

Room Tip: If you are of a larger stature the compact room shower cubicle could be a little small but fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I decided to stay at Gabbiano Azurro based on reading the reviews.I was not disappointed. The hotel turned out to be even better than I had expected. I had a nice room overlooking the sea, the bed was comfortable by Italian standards, the breakfast was well done and selection had something for everyone, the beach despite being relatively small was relaxing and the water was as warm as the bathtub. I have to recognize Silvana and Claudia at the front desk who patiently answered all my questions and went out of their way to recommend things to do, snorkeling being the most memorable. Grazie mille. The service was really outstanding and i was pleasantly surprised.
I did not bring my family as they were away but clearly this would have been ideal place for the kids.
if you want to see a spectacular beach go to spiaggia bianco about 10 minutes away. There are a few quite good restaurants within a minute walk, right on the beach,

I would absolutely go back again

Room Tip: room 207 was perfect end room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LockhartsUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel again after a 7 year gap. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We stayed half board - breakfasts were really good, lots of fresh fruit and everything you could want. The dinners were even better - I found myself really looking forward to them during the day. Silver service, professional waiting staff. We have already booked for next year.
The only downside is the lack of sunbeds - there are not enough of them and to make it worse, people put their towels down and then disappear, so no one can use them. We also are avoiding the time of the year when you have to pay for the beach - I do think it is unreasonable that hotel guests should have to pay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After arriving In Sardegna we were excited to get a taxi to the hotel, but our excitment drained a little as we sat in the cab watching the meter go up and up- reaching €56 for a drive that took less than 15 minutes and with no traffic.
Disappointed with that excessive cost we arrived to the hotel, a swift check in process and we were soon in our room - town view-but with a wrap around balcony so we could see the pool and sea)
The double bed was infact 2 singles pushed together (something that always grinds on me when you pay for a double room), the bed was really quite firm and not too mine or my partners taste which didn't always result in a comfy nights sleep.
The room was decorated nicely and had a stocked minibar (crazy to pay 6€ for a beer when you can buy a 6pack in a supermarket 5minutes away for 5€) the bathroom was again nicely decorated but the shower was disappointing-a tiny cubicle shower that every time you moved you hit the taps and
either changed the temp to scolding or freezing.
The hotels 'private beach' isn't all that private when you can access it from the main road and is open to non visitors at the hotel-it is however a beautiful beach and we were fortunate enough to stay during the time they provide you with sun loungers and umbrellas for free.
The swmming pool was very nice and maintained well although a little smaller than we would have hoped-but having the beach so near made this not so bad! Something that the hotel should think about is not allowing people to leave their towels on the sunloungers as to 'secure' themselves a space by the pool as many a time we went down and found the pool was practically empty but because people had left their towels and some belongings there-it meant we were unable to sit down!

We were b&b so can only review breakfast at the hotel, which was a nice Buffett breakfast with a good selection of cold meats pastries and fruits.
I would recommend an evening meal in the blu restaurant as the view and food are superb in equal measure.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, weather was fantastic and beaches were top notch, maybe an upgraded room would help the room issues we had and I would rent a car if we come again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Little B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one week and had our wedding on the beach. This hotell is amazing.
The whole staff made our stay excellent. The rooms are very nice, and get cleaned severalt times a day. The view from our room was amazing.

Thank you very much. We`ll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kai190504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location, right on the sea, private beach with sun beds. Pool with salty water, two really good restaurants. Just a perfect stay, staff is really friendly the place is clean and nice. Will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The family suits are just refurbished and look amazing ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfo Aranci
0.6 mi away
Hotel Resort & SPA Baia Caddinas
3.3 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#6 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
144.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
811 reviews
11.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
623 reviews
10.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro

Property: Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Address: Via dei Gabbiani, 07020, Golfo Aranci, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Golfo Aranci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 Romantic Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#3 Luxury Hotel in Golfo Aranci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated modern high quality 4 Stars Hotel with private beach, pools, restaurants, dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel
Gabbiano Azzurro Golfo Aranci
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro Sardinia/Golfo Aranci, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing