We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Golfo Aranci
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location, right on the sea, private beach with sun beds. Pool with salty water, two really good restaurants. Just a perfect stay, staff is really friendly the place is clean and nice. Will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The family suits are just refurbished and look amazing ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a group package tour in June 2013. Unimpressive entrance on first arriving at the hotel as it is within a residential area. But after that everything worked very well. The hotel boasts two pools but in reality is one with a jacuzzi pool attached. The main pool is 3.5 meteres deep so only useful for those that can swim. Not really designed for swimming, more of a 'plunge or splash pool' really. We had a room that overlooked the pool area and on over towards the ferry terminal. Couldn't have been better. The bathroom was large but the shower cubicle so very small that it was impossible for me to move once in it. Even my wife found it very cramped. The private beach is right by the hotel and this too we found to be very cramped with sunbeds parked side by side sardine style. The water is very shallow here and ideal for those that like to paddle. Apart from the first evenings dinner ( at which the hotel staff seemed overwhelmed by the guest numbers) food and service was generally good. The gala dinner on our last night was particularly enjoyable and the guest keyboard player kept those that wanted too dancing until midnight. The town of Golfo Aranci has very little going for it other than a few small trinket shops and a few restaurants. In the main square there were a number of wooden cabins that looked as though they were used for a small market. One of them (the only one that was open) was a Santa's grotto come Santa's postal service!! In the middle of June?? Please.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeltonMowbrayPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in early June and can highly recommend it for a relaxing holiday in comfortable surroundings. The views from the terraces and most of the rooms are wonderful. I enjoyed going to sleep to the sound of the sea lapping on the shore just below the room. Bliss!

The staff really make this hotel. All were friendly and helpful, arranging tours and taxis for us and advising us of the time of the local market (Monday morning). We thought we would be stuck without a car but the staff recommended local places to visit by taxi and made all the arrangements for us. We took a tour by mini bus to Alghero which is beautiful city and well worth the 2 hour drive.

The waiting staff were charming and accommodated our dietary requirements without hesitation. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and of good quality.

The hotel was blissfully quiet - a little too quiet at times. No entertainment or music in the restaurant or bars, or by the pool which at times did make us wish for a little more atmosphere. The free wifi in reception was a bonus. We did wander into the village a few times and found a couple of pretty cafes on the edge of the beach. There were sufficient shops to keep us occupied for a morning browsing local pottery and basketware, and a lovely gelateria right by the hotel with the most delicious chocolate fondant ice cream.

All in all I loved the holiday and came back extremely relaxed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

we were only there for 2 nights but that what enough to say that the hotel is above average in italy. the breakfast is really good. we could have there for the hole day.
we did not really liked that they had deposit for everything, beach towels and safety box key.
the beds are soft for being in italy. wifi were only free in the reception but thats okey.
we did not get why the pool is closed between 1 pm and 4 pm. we did not care because we did not use the pool anyway.
it is Close to the restaurants in the Town. the beach looked nice but it cost between late june to september. didn't get that either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent our honeymoon in Sardinia and had booked this based on reviews. Was so glad we did. The hotel had everything we needed, spotlessly clean, excellent service, food was wonderful, although we only had booked for bed and breakfast, we did eat a few evening meals here. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and right near your own private beach. A car is recommended as the transport doesn't seem to exist. Was really sad to leave as we felt so at home here. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony opposite sea if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank woollysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here on a B&B rate for four nights of an eight night holiday. This hotel is very reasonably priced on theB&B rate. We really like it it has a lovely feel and is very friendly. It has a charm of days gone by. The rooms are a little dated but they and the hotel are kept impeccably clean bright and cheerful. It is a most convenient hotel for lounging on the beach and by the pool. The sea is quite shallow and you need to walk out a way to swim. This is a quite hotel a place to unwind and recuperate and then a base to do some exploring. We weren't going to eat in the hotel in the evening as we could tell it would be too 'hotel like'. It was a 5 min walk to the nearby restaurants. There were a couple of European package tours (50 and up age group) and I think most of the evening dinners in the dinning room consist of these pleasant folk. We had light lunches on the Terrace between lounging on the sun beds and swimming on the beach which sent the bill up somewhat but with such a great setting and so very convenient we were happy to pay. The Terrace is really special and the view is a must for at least one the romantic evening meal though for the rest of the stay we had better food at the nearby restaurants and were happier to explore.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenaKayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Key features - good location, excellent staff and especially on reception, pleasant rooms, small town and restaurants within easy walking distance, beach OK for sunbathing and perhaps a cool off (and brilliant for small children) but the hotel's bit is only some 40 yards long (and 6 yards deep) and the sea no more than 4 ft deep until you wade out for 60 yards or so (and so we tended to drive off to small bays of which there are plenty).

Hotel pool looked pleasant - but might, for a 4 star hotel, soon do with an upgrade from the traditional hard concrete sided surround to something more 'lapping'. Similarly rooms one day soon but currently OK (though we really could not see how there might have been room for an extra bed or bunks as advertised).

The only downside for us was, unfortunately, the dinner - but we only tried it once and just might have been unlucky. It was, as we remarked to one of the managers (or could have been owner) more like hotel food rather than restaurant food. Slightly bland and main course as if it might have been re-heated (too much). When we did (very courteously) comment they seemed shocked and suggested that we might try again or try the slightly superior Blu restaurant outdoors - but as we thought once bitten twice shy and more expensive than eating simply out and it was not clear if they were offering us any incentives, we did not risk it.

Other than that, pretty nice all round. A few package groups, who were eating separately. And might have done with a bit of life (or even quiet music) after dinner when most seemed to disappear. Quite a traditional hotel (waiters in smart white jackets and a Maitre 'D). Did hear that they had become now part of a group (with Su Gologone where food is wonderful). Trust they will keep their personal touches and feel.

Room Tip: People gasp about a seaview but they are much more expensive and if you are on a budget it is a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKES56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfo Aranci
5 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
144 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
76.9 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
361 reviews
75.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
79 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites

Address: Via dei Gabbiani s.n.c., 07020, Golfo Aranci, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Golfo Aranci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 Romantic Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 Family Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Golfo Aranci
Price Range: $179 - $1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lush landscape of Golfo Aranci, Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites is a lucky place blessed by sun, sea and nature, where comfort, food excellence and hospitality blend together to bring you only the best of the Italian hotelier experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites Sardinia/Golfo Aranci, Italy
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Gabbiano Azzurro Golfo Aranci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing