We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing start to the holiday but look further north”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Golfo Aranci
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel was good not great. Hotel rooms are OK make sure you get one facing Isola Tavolara. Staff are pleasant and helpful, always helps if you can speak a little Italian. Agree with the other reviewers that the hotel is in a good location, it's close to Olbia airport, the pool was nice, views good, breakfast good. If you want somewhere reliable and you're happy to explore during the day by car then stay here - it's a good place to base yourself.

That said for me after a full week exploring the area there are better places to stay. Nothing against the hotel I just think that Golfo Aranci is not the best area - if I had my time over I would stay somewhere with views closer to Porto Cervo, Cappricioli, Palau area or La Madalena.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank GenghisPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 405 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Enjoyed staying at this hotel, although it was a little disappointing to be at the back of the hotel and not overlooking the bay. Nevertheless the public rooms and the swimming pool area are lovely spots to sit in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The meals were very good, with a good choice of menu for dinner and an extensive buffet breakfast.
I would agree with another reviewer that the single beds were rather narrow, but apart from that the room was large, also the bathroom and everywhere was kept scrupulously clean.
I would certainly love to stay there again, but would like a room overlooking the sea next time..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned this week from a 6 night stay at Hotel Gabbiano Azzuro (we are in our late 20s). Overall this was a wonderful place. They are right on a beautiful beach with sandy bottoms - though it is rather shallow so popular with families. It is also a good location to get to the airport of Olbia.

The staff was very friendly. We only did B&B, so we ate at their outdoor restaurant for dinner a few nights. This was delicious food - pricey but worth it - with a wonderful view of the sunset over the beach. Very romantic place.

The one "downside" is their hairdryer was awful (I am using downside very loosely here). This is a very small thing, but in case others want to know about the amenities I figured I would include it. It only emitted really high heat (no air with it), so it felt like I was holding a toaster up to my head and frying my hair. Though it really wasn't a big deal - I just went on the balcony with the amazing view and let my hair air dry, but that was a bit surprising with everything else so great.

Room Tip: I chose the compact room with a sea view, and it was a great view (as shown in the photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon in Italy and Sardegna was our first stop. We stayed for a week at the Gabbiano Azzurro and had a wonderful experience! The hotel is clean and the beach view is amazing. The pool was also great; had a great deep end that was worthy of many dives and jumps! Great to have a nice swim. The beach was generally quite warm and usually crystal clear. The lounger chairs were probably the most comfortable we had ever laid on.

Hotel Staff is absolutely outstanding! Front end/Concierge were so helpful and nice- a special mention to Tullio and Luca who were always there to help with whatever. The food at the onsite restaurant was amazing and very reasonably priced. Servers were always very attentive and literally serve your every need. All in all, great experience and would have no problem recommending the Gabbiano to anyone!

Special note: The northern island boat cruise is a must!! There is a day trip that takes you directly from the hotel to the northern islands, that will absolutely blow your mind!

Room Tip: beach view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fabrizia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Quiet beautiful place in Golfo Aranci. Overlooks the sea. Owns a beach. But we preferred a doubled swimming-pool with cleaned salted water right from the sea( not cold). At the reception you can ask for a wonderful sea trip on a small or larger boat full or half day. Then you can swim in the open sea! For me - first and memorable impression! They can also help you arrange a variety of tours - land and sea, English speaking guide, not expensive. The staff manages to create a homelike friendly atmosphere . Very enthusiastic and inventive! (our special gratitude to LUCA!) Food is fabulous! Choose the place - inside, outside, on the terrace or the beach. Better take half board and explore other fine restraunts nearby. Later our friends joined us and were happy!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guzel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Family run, the rooms and hotel are spotless, the staff are attentive and friendly, the food is great, warm shallow seas, I went with a friend my only moan was that the twin beds are a little on the small side, fellow inmates of all nationalities and a real mix of couples, friends, families. Whilst I did not have any family with me the beach is perfect for toddlers and poor swimmers. The resort is tiny with little to do but if you are looking for total relaxation this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowy1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After a week in an agroturismo near Alghero we moved across the island to Golfi Aranci and this hotel.

We loved everything about the place. The size (60 rooms), the staff (many have been here many years), the exquisite food (range, tastes and presentation), the setting (all day sun, great sunsets and fantastic views across the bay).

Great for families and couples just a short drive from Olbia and near to the more touristy Porto Cervo and the Costa Smeralda.

Turquoise warm seas and stunning views await you.

Family run (they live on site).

Go there!

Pls tick the helpful button if this has been useful - thx!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfo Aranci
5 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
144 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
76.9 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#8 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
361 reviews
75.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
79 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro

Address: Via dei Gabbiani s.n.c., 07020, Golfo Aranci, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Golfo Aranci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 Romantic Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 Family Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Golfo Aranci
Price Range: $180 - $1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lush landscape of Golfo Aranci, Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites is a lucky place blessed by sun, sea and nature, where comfort, food excellence and hospitality blend together to bring you only the best of the Italian hotelier experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel
Gabbiano Azzurro Golfo Aranci
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro Sardinia/Golfo Aranci, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing