We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Margherita Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Golfo Aranci
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day holiday stay at Villa Margherita.
Our entire experience has been fantastic. The Staff is so nice and helpful, and will do anything to make sure the clients are happy, from reception to restaurant and housekeeping - genuine lovely people!. This holiday coincided with my x0th birthday and was so nicely marked by the hotel, thanks again to all!
The room we got had an excellent view over the Gardens and the bay. Huge bed, really nice bathroom and the aircon is a bliss. The entire hotel has been decorated with such good taste, it is a pleasure to just sit in the lobby or by the infinity pool and sip on one of the hotel's unique cocktails.
Really quiet streets around the hotel. Parking either in front of the hotel or in their own garage. Either way, you do not have to worry about parking your car.
There is a market on Mondays so if you like going out and try some of the local delicacies or traditional Sardinian artisan stuff, this market I great.
Breakfast is very well supplied with everything from fresh fruits and cereals to the traditional bacon and egg.
Dinner is also vey nice with a wide variety of choices. Pick a table by the pool and you will have a fantastic evening.
Will recommend to anybody looking for a quiet holiday in a great location to visit Costa Esmeralda and the amazing caves South of Olbia.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stapi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    37
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
135
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this beautiful hotel and it was just what we needed for a relaxing holiday.
Our room was spacious and clean and our balcony had stunning views over the pool, gardens, sea and surrounding hills. The pool and gardens in the hotel were well maintained and we never had problems finding available sun loungers. We'd hired a car to explore beaches round the island but ended up spending most of our time around the hotel pool as it was too lovely to leave. Golfo Aranci is a small, quiet town but we found a different restaurant to eat in every night and it is perfectly located for exploring different beaches and the island. Finding the hotel was a bit of a struggle. The road outside the hotel was closed except for access every evening between 8 and 12 for a market so we got a bit lost, not helped by us arriving after dark. The car park is also quite small, luckily we always managed to get a space when we needed one but I'm not sure what we would have done if we couldn't.
The restaurant at the hotel was lovely. There was always a good spread for breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool. We also ate an evening meal there one evening and the good Sardinian food was delicious and very reasonably priced.
Finally, I must just say how friendly and helpful the staff were. They were all so welcoming and rounded off what really is a fantastic hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We are a family of 4 and spent a week at Villa Margherita in early June 2012 and loved it. It's a beautiful, clean and quiet family run hotel with very friendly staff. The breakfasts are buffet style with a bit of everything, we didn’t notice anything running out and not being replenished quickly. We ate at the hotel one evening and it was very good, and not too expensive compared with the local restaurants. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a seaview and balcony. On our last day we were allowed to keep our room until we left the hotel at 5 pm which was great, but this was only because the room wasn't booked the next day.
It is situated between 2 quiet roads and there is currently a lot of work on the seafront as a new marina is constructed (due for completion in August 2012). However, the gardens are stunning and well screened from the road, which reduces the noise considerably and we barely noticed it. Once the marina is complete the walk along the seafront should be lovely.
The pool was cool, but we either toughened up, or it warmed up during the week! It's a deep pool though, my 9 year old can swim but was quickly out of her depth. I would not recommend it if you have independent young children who aren't confident in the water – head to the beaches for gently sloping sand instead. There is also a jacuzzi near the pool and there is a small gym in the hotel.
Golfo Aranci is a great place to base yourself and we'd recommend a hire car in order to reach the numerous and fantastic beaches along the coast. The beaches in the resort are nice, but there are better. We visited a different beach every day and they were all fabulous. There is limited parking at the hotel but we were able to park in the car park every day. You must not park on the road on market day (Monday) because of a very expensive tow-away fine. Driving on the island was fine, it’s generally quiet on the roads although fuel prices make the UK look cheap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Definitely not what I expected from a 4*hotel in Golfo Aranci. The location is good, just in front of the sea, and the swimming pool is a plus. But the hotel does not have the amenities of a four star, and if you want to have dinner in the hotel make sure you have reservations! The hotel and the room were always clean, and the staff is very friendly. For breakfast they have a great cappuccino! If you are considering staying there, is also a good idea to have a car. The most beautiful beaches are a few kilometers away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibelletorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

In July of this year I had four days to spend between being in Paris and London. I ended up at the Villa Margherita Hotel. It was perfection. I had the end bedroom with my own private whirlpool. The room was wonderful, the bathroom had everything one needed. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout and the grounds excellently maintained. The dining room is lovely, looking out onto the courtyard with its swimming pool. The breakfast and dinner were extremely good and very reasonably price. All the service at the hotel is excellent. Rosemarie Soldati took great care of me and even looked up the bus schedules so I could travel to see Garabaldi's farm and tomb on the island of Caprera. As I discovered from that trip public transport on Sardinia is both infrequent and erratic but I did eventually get back to the hotel, two and a half hours late. Rosemarie was genuinely worried and distressed! It is a wonderful hotel but you do need your own means of travel if you want to get in and out of Golfo Aranci (as other reviews have pointed out).

Room Tip: The bedrooms on the ground floor in the wing to the right of the reception desk are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestPointGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel on the 7th and 8th September 2011 whilst travelling around Sardinia. The staff were extremely efficient and helpful and the hotel was run smoothly. The bedroom we were allocated had a fantastic view over the ocean and the beautiful hotel gardens. The room was clean, spacious and very classy. It had a bathrobe, slippers and beach towels which was a lovely touch. The breakfast consisted of a buffet and a variety of hot and cold foods to chose from- all plentiful and delicious. We ate in the hotel restuarant on the first night and enjoyed the food- price reasonable. We spent the second day exploring Golfo Aranci in the morning and relaxing by the beautiful hotel pool in the afternoon. It was very quiet when we stayed at the hotel which made the setting more relaxing! We travelled by car around Sardinia as most people do and liked the fact that we could use the hotels car park. One thing to note is the the road outside the hotel closes most nights for a street market to take place and if cars are parked outside they are liable to be towed away. There is car park around the corner from the hotel if you cannot find any spaces in the hotel car park- I imagine it gets packed in high season. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling around Sardinia and to those who want to relax and kick back!! I forgot to mention the hotel has a fabulous lounge area where you can kick back and enjoy some house cocktails! Also Golfo Aranci is a pretty area to explore with some great beaches!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristolmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed bed and breakfast and I feel for myself, partner and son this was the best option as there is plenty of places to eat and drink for lunch and dinner for all budgets. The hotel was clean and the pool was fab but I really wanted to have a beach that was child friendly. We walked around to what some reviewers have called beach 3 and it is far the best but if you want to sit on the loungers be prepared to pay €26 for the day for 2 beds that is. However the toilets are null and void on this beach as you much ask the staff behind the kiosk and if you havnt eaten in the beach cafe the answer is no even though you pay for all the beds. We found a great beach bar that is at the other end of this beach and is part of another hotel but it has a menu for everyone and the staff are helpful. That brings me back to my review on the hotel, I would say couples great but for families find one that is one the beach so you won't annoy oher guests when your child is having a paddy! The hotel does not have much of a bar area also so you do go out so will only see many of the guests at breakfast or round the pool which is a great asset to the hotel. The staff where very friendly and would assist in any issue you threw at them. I loved the resort but will be going to another hotel that is more suitable for my son but please book this if you don't have children or want a long weekend as the resort is a sealovers delight!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessLaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfo Aranci
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
#3 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Resort & SPA Baia Caddinas
11.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#6 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tabby
Hotel Tabby
#4 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita Hotel

Property: Villa Margherita Hotel
Address: Via della Liberta' 91, 07020, Golfo Aranci, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Golfo Aranci
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#1 Family Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#1 Luxury Hotel in Golfo Aranci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Margherita
Villa Margherita Hotel Sardinia/Golfo Aranci, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing