We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Ambiente

Hotel Ambiente
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ambiente
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My first trip to Walldorf, visiting the SAP office. Hotel Ambiente was recommended by a colleague and it did not disappoint. Incredibly clean and comfortable. I wasn't the least bit cold, and in fact kept my window cracked open the entire time for fresh air. The bathroom features a toasty radiator and excellent shower. Plenty of space. Comfortable bed and duvet, though next time I'll request another pillow.

Decor is updated and very sleek. Think Ikea. Some carpet stains in the hallways, but nothing bad.

We arrived jet lagged and early, but the clerk was accommodating and checked us right in. Everyone we encountered was very kind and friendly. Breakfast was amazing, and I looked forward to it every morning. After breakfast, we took a short, enjoyable walk to the SAP campus.

One night we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar -- generous pour and friendly bartender.

Loved it so much I'd stay there on a personal trip. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskeranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location if you are working at SAP (10 minute walk away) whilst still being in the centre of Walldorf; giving you a choice of places to eat & drink in the evening (albeit limited by the fact that Walldorf is quite a small town). The rooms are fairly spartan but very clean and reasonably spacious. Noise insulation is very good. Free wifi is available for as many devices as you need, and the speed is ok. There is also a "Wellness Area" with sauna, jacuzzi and relaxing zone, which is free of charge - I didn't make use of this so can't rate it, good or bad. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak English well.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

At first I was very satisfied with hotel. This is new hotel just 10 minutes from SAP headquarters. Rooms are very clean and all furniture is new. Bath is super. Noise isolation is also perfect between rooms.

But: for three days there was no hot water. After 4 days I could not access wi-fi from my room using three different devices (two different laptops and iPhone). There are a lot of access points for wi-fi but only few of them are visible from room. To all of them I could not connect. On my question what happened and if they could fix it - they said they would try but actually nothing was improved. I had to go to different floor or go to the lobby - to get access to another spots. The same issue was with other guests.

Another -1 star is for blankets. They are just two small for 1.85m man. Either your legs/back/stomach/soft place is not covered by blanket. It was uncomfortable in the mornings because I was a little bit cold.

Breakfast is very good. A huge choice of different salads, meat and so on. I really enjoyed meal in the morning.

Would give 5 stars but they have issue with wi-fi and strange small blankets.

Room Tip: Do not take room with windows to the entrance. Always noise from new guests at night and in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zopik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

So your staying in Walldorf and looking for a hotel? This means you are likely working at or with SAP which tends to dominate this little town. You have a few options but honestly, this is the Go To primarily option for those in the know. Here is why. Location, Location, Location. Sure there is a Holiday Inn Raising out of the Asparagus Fields near the SAP complex but it is completely cut off from the rest of the town. The Ambiente is within the center of the "town" which gives you access to a variety (not a lot) of small and decent places to eat and drink.

They provide a free shuttle to and from the SAP buildings making things very easy. In nice weather its an easy 10min walk. Check in is efficient and available 24/7 unlike a great many hotels in the area where checking in at odd hours can add to the complication.

Rooms are fine... nothing exciting nothing terrible. They claim to be remodeling soon so perhaps this can improve. Standard German business hotel. Bed, Desk, Chair, Bath etc... Free Wifi!

Breakfast... something for everyone including Hot and Cold Items.

The on site restaurant is Thai which is fairly unique from a Germany perspective. So provides an easy option when you tire of Schitzel.

Room Tip: Ask for a back or side room... the street side rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Very decent, neat and modern hotel. Yes, it is not a four star hotel, but for a hotel at this price it is a very good deal. Good size rooms, decent, clean and neat bathroom, excellent breakfast. Only room for improvement: the bedcover is about 1.80meters. I really don't understand who would fit underneath it? But then again: just ask for a second cover and you sleep like a baby....

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Hello

As Walldorf being a small city with less people, Ambiente is resonably good for tht location and its just at the backyard of SAP Head quaters.
This makes it easily approachable and also the ambience is good,
Rooms are spacious, but there is no internet avaliable so one has to sit at the reception to access one.

It has integrated kichen and nice view from the window.
Rooms have good heating facility.

I would recommend it for people visiting Walldorf germany.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed 5 nights in the Ambiente hotel and the hotel is OK. Nothing more, nothing less. The rooms have everything you would expect, though beds are poor. Flatscreen works well and wireless internet is fast and for free (at least with my room rate).

Hotel price is OK though not at all cheap. It is hard to be enthousiastic about the hotel, though I do not have any major complains either. Consider it as a good place to spend a night, though 5 nights was too much for me and I did not feel happy there after 2 nights. They don't charge for parking or for Internet which is good. Also breakfast is fine and for a soft price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walldorf
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#1 of 16 in Walldorf
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astralis Hotel Domizil
Astralis Hotel Domizil
#5 of 16 in Walldorf
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palatin Kongress Hotel
3.8 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#4 of 16 in Walldorf
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zum weissen Roessel
Hotel Zum weissen Roessel
#10 of 16 in Walldorf
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambiente

Address: Am Neuen Schulhaus 4, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Price Range: $120 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambiente 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ambiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing