We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotschlitz
Indiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Average Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Five stars maybe for the grounds but not the room we were given. We used Hotwire and that obviously made a difference. Walked down the bright hallway in the renovated section turned the corner to what looked like a different hotel. Dimly lit hallway to a tiny room. Were I not with my husband, i would have not felt safe. Door opened up into the wardrobe. High windows only opened about two inches. Not enough to let any breeze into the room. Felt ten degrees warmer in the room than outside. Twin beds on rollers pushed together to be a full size bed. After the first hot night asked for a different room. We were told no but they brought us a fan to use. Just blew around the hot air. Said self serve laundry was available but it wasn't. Language barrier for our nonexistent German and their English. Our fault there. Had good pizza in the restaurant. The grounds were very nice. Hard to find down a long road with a one car bridge. If we had been in the new rooms I am sure I would rate them higher. So check the room before you stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seashll59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear seashll59,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is very unfortunate that we were not able to deliver completely based on your standards due to the condition of the room that you were given. We will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

I sincerely hope that the next time you're in the area, you give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    30
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
25
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

It just gets better with each visit. The superb staff checked me in their new Lobby. We got the same delightful modern rooms. Clean and bright and quiet. What more could you ask for. Same easy access and free parking.
This time we came in late and decided to visist the new house restaurant. It was very very nice. I had the most pleasant meal and my spouse enjoyed herself too.
The hotel seems to be a gathering place for the locals and they know a good place when they see it.
Each time we have come back, the place improves. i must admit the staff was so efficient on this trip. They were always there to answer and assist any problem.
So if you travel from Scandanavia to Italy, this is a good halfway point. It is not for party animals, no workout rooms, but bikes and nature are nearby. There is no clubing here, but this is not their purpose.
it is a good solid Holiday Inn experience. It is affordable and it perfect for my needs.
Great job Guentersdorf Holiday Inn staff!

Room Tip: Try the restaurant. All meals looked and tasted great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedaworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The only drawback I see is that their address they provide on reservation confirmation does not lead you to their destination! I typed it into the GPS and hit the road. When I realized I have a problem, I called them and they very quickly gave me the keyword "Gunthersdorf" that you must type and since then everything went smoothly. The stay was very pleasant, we had a great night in a comfortable room, delicious breakfast, internet worked fast and my wife was very happy.

Room Tip: remember this is not Leuna, it's Gunthersdorf on the GPS
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here in the summer and decided to do it again. What a pleasure to see the place is clean and well maintained.
Pro: nice rooms with a modern touch. free parking. clean. quiet. and good personnel.
Con: Next to a huge mall, might be a plus or minus here. new breakfast room was almost finished.
So if you return to a place, it says they did it right the first time. Highly recommend this place. You do need a car as a bus stop is a 400 meter walk away.
Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: big mall next door, I mean huge. Aral tank station 200 meters away. very easy to get to from A9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedaworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is good for a night's break from the German highway. The restaurant has a limited limited menu. The food is ok. But the atmosphere is somewaht clinical. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are excellent and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well laid out gardens and hotel. Three isolated building, two of which make up the hotel. When we stayed work was taking place in the restaurant and bar areas, which required the them to be relocated elsewhere on the ground floor. It appeared the kitchens were still in use. The restaurant was most ably looked after by "Rosemary" during our stay.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, which required a change of lifts and buildings , due to the building work, to get to the most impressive suite of two rooms in the eves, very clean and well looked after. One of the best hotels I have stayed in within this price range. I feel for the hotel 5 stars in each rating, even with the building work taking place..

Parking in either the underground carpark or the gardens infront of the hotel and was free. The only problem was with the disabled parking trying to get 5 none blue badge holders in 3 blue badge holders spaces, trapping my car in. Reception were very good at getting cars moved.

You can tell I laked this hotel and can fully recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G3erd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

First stop after 600+ mile drive from the UK.

Typical Holiday Inn hotel - warm welcome, receptionist mis-took javelins for fishing rods which certainly lightened my mood after 14 hours in the car.

Missed evening dinner service as we both fell asleep at 8.30pm (not even the curse of the soft Holiday Inn mattress could waken us) but breakfast was up to usual Holiday Inn standards.

All in all a good stop off hotel conveniently located for the Autobahn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldmanjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotschlitz
1.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Leipzig Doelzig
3.3 mi away
Globana Airport Hotel
Globana Airport Hotel
#1 of 3 in Schkeuditz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Halle-Merseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
8.8 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
7.4 mi away
Novum Apartment Hotel am Ratsholz Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf

Property: Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf
Address: Aue-Park-Allee 3-7, 06237 Kotschlitz, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Kotschlitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotschlitz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leipzig-Günthersdorf, your business and conference hotel for pleasant meetings in the heart of Central Germany. Holiday Inn Leipzig-Günthersdorf is conveniently located within easy access to the main routes in the economic triangle of Leipzig-Halle-Merseburg. You will meet & sleep at the edge of the Aue Forests, the Green Side of Leipzig. The exhibition centre Messe Leipzig, the international Leipzig Airport and the cities Leipzig, Halle and Merseburg are within a short 20-minute drive. This hotel is your ideal place to start sightseeing tours to discover Leipzig as well as nearby destinations along The Romanesque Road .Don t miss the Bachfest from the 11th to the 21st of June! Within a 5-minute walk you can reach one of Germany s most modern shopping centers, the Nova Eventis, with 260 shops and the UCI cinema palace with 10 cinemas. Holiday Inn Leipzig-Günthersdorf offers 89 comfortable guest rooms, 51 of these being non-smoking. All guest and conference rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet. The hotels has a conference area with 8 conference rooms, all with natural light and suitable for conferences, seminars, training events and banquets for up to 120 people.In our restaurant we will spoil our guests with local and international cuisine. Have a rest in our sauna or enjoy a relaxing massage!Parking is free of charge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Leipzig Gunthersdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing