We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent value for money”

Engel Hotel & Gasthaus
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Engel Hotel & Gasthaus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Rastatt
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The gasthaus zum Engel in Rastatt is excellent value for money. The rooms are large, spacious, with a safe, fridge, large flat screen tv, free wifi, comfortable beds and a nice shower. The front rooms look on the Main Square and the hotel is centrally located in the old town. It is also a 20 minute drive to Baden Baden through the Black Forrest. The hotel has free parking for guests, which is a bonus. The rooms have wonderful large windows and our room had a large desk too. The staff seemed friendly and helpful (but spoke little English). There is also a nice cafe outside the front of the hotel for a bite or drink. I liked this place and it's homely old feel. It is an old building with large rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great budget value for money accommodation. Not the best or most modern decor, but tons of character compared to a typical "business hotel". Rooms are cavernous, clean and presentable, although perhaps a little shabby. Service is courteous and unintrusive, breakfast pretty good. Location in the centre of Rastatt is good, with underground parking available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plavi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Engel for one night during our bike tour along the river rhein. The location of the hotel is good and right in the center which made it good for sightseeing and eating out. Th hotel looks good from the outside and the room was spacious and clean. The service was poor as the greeting was unfriendly and to be honest the man at the reception although helpful wasnt friendly and didnt seem to care about making us feel welcome and didnt even care to tell us what time breakfast was! The room had comfy beds and a nice bathroom but smelled of smoke which was not particularly pleasant. As mentioned the beds were ok and we slept well. The breakfast was tasty and despite the poor customer service the range of food was good and we ate well. The breakfast room itself is on the ground floor backing onto the road. The noise from the traffic and activity outside was unbearably loud and quiet irritating during what should have been a quite relaxing holiday breakfast.

To be perfectly honest I would not recomment this hotel as it is over priced and the staff rude. The hotel has a 2 star german rating but in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in it was overpriced and had we spent longer searching for accommodation I believe we would have easily found a more friendly, fair priced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Kitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were staying at Engel Hotel in Oct., 2009.This is 15th century building though well maintain and very clean. It owns by a family-mother, futher and two kids. Daughter, Maren speaks good english. Family restaurant on premises provides real German food- generous portions and good quality. If you want to have affordable accomodation in the place close to Baden Baden, engel hotel is the best choice. By the way, there is wireless internet in the hotel-kind of rear thing in Europe.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank i_marchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rastatt hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rastatt
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Rastatt Baden Baden
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Da Franco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pension Anna
Pension Anna
#2 of 5 in Rastatt
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Haus am See
#5 of 8 in Rastatt
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zum Schiff
Zum Schiff
#3 of 8 in Rastatt
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engel Hotel & Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engel Hotel & Gasthaus

Property: Engel Hotel & Gasthaus
Address: Kaiserstrasse 65, 76437 Rastatt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Rastatt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Rastatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Engel Hotel & Gasthaus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Engel Hotel & Gasthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing