We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished We Could have Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goldener Engel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goldener Engel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heppenheim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wished We Could have Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent one night at the Goldener Engel before flying out of Frankfurt Airport and would have loved to stay longer. We had room number 5, with a great view of the picture perfect main square. Heppenheim is a small-ish town with a beautiful old centre, we wished we had more time to explore.

When we arrived, they were closed for the afternoon break but we poked our head in a side door/guest entrance and were warmly welcomed. Our room was a clean and had everything we needed. We had a car, that we parked in a small lot directly behind the hotel.

We ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant and the food was very good for a reasonable price.

We will definitely stay at the Goldener Engel again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here 28th July for one night as we were heading back to France then home. You will find that you have to percolate around the back streets to get into the court yard centre, as a few streets are closed to traffic .we were greeted with a warm welcome and given room 20 which overlooked their car park which was fine as the rooms were newly renovated so we were told. No problem lovely room. The only little thing I would say is that the weather at that time was extremely hot 35c and the hotel didn't have any fans we could borrow for the room. they had had this weather for over 2 weeks. If i was the owner of this hotel I would have bought some fans. I would have even paid for hiring one that night.Car park an added bonus as most other guest houses didn't have one.
The old town is beautiful and so picturesque we clicked away with our cameras for ages, walking up and down the little quaint streets. Breakfast was adequate and the gentleman on duty for breakfast was very helpful. The tourist information shop is across the court yard. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but sorry we didn't use it. We walked across the court yard to a bistro called Filou. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room number 20 was overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnNottinghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanahooka, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice clean, large room. Hosts were very helpful & spoke reasonable English. The restaurent was one of the best we found in Heppenheim. Cost was approx 45 euros for 2 with beer & wine. Fantastic location right on the most picturesque Market Platz. The only problem is getting to the Hotel by car. There are 7 streets/lanes leading to the Platz but only one is car friendly. Drive up the Hunter Graben street then turn in to either the Kirchgasse or Laudenbacher Tor. Access to the Platz is at the end of either one of these narrow lanes. There are no elevators and a spiral staircase to the upper floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Platz. Be aware of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baersden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Goldener Engel on a snowy Saturday and Sunday in this picturesque village about an hour's drive from the Frankfurt airport. As for location, you can't get better than a room overlooking the main pedestrian area of the old market. The room was spacious by European standards and though the structure retains its original old-world look, the interior rooms are modern and simply, but tastefully decorated. The bathroom is the typical, small but efficient room with ample shelfs for toiletries, nice thick towels, (no wash cloths as is usual), and a shower cabin. Bed was comfy and the thick down comforters felt good. The host and hostess were friendly and helpful. This charming little hotel actually includes a small restaurant which was unfortunately closed for a private party Saturday night and normally closed on Sunday night which was disappointing as the menu of German specialties and the associated smells coming from the kitchen lead me believe that it may be one of the best restaurants in town. The breakfast was the standard German fare, which my wife and I both liked (German breakfasts are great!). We had a car and there is a small parking courtyard behind the hotel which is locked from about 4:00 pm in the evening, but there is ample parking about two short blocks from the hotel if you arrive afterwards. If driving, Heppenheim is quite easy to reach via the autobahn. We used it as a base to go to the Bad Homburg and Budingen Christmas markets. Heppenheim was beautiful in the snow and I'm quite sure it would be stunning in the more temperate seasons as well. Lots of restaurants in the area. We'd welcome the opportunity to return to Heppenheim and this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Several rooms overlook the old marketplace which is quite after hours, though there are church bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked two nights in this hotel based on reviews we read on trip advisor. We arrived by train and as it was raining took a taxi to the hotel (5 euros). The hotel is situated in the old part of the town and is very quaint indeed.

We walked through the main door and were astonished to be walking through the restaurant dragging our wet suitcases between tables of people eating! We thought we had entered by a wrong door, however the waitress pointed us to the corner of the bar which we then realised was a tiny reception area for the hotel! Very strange to be checking in amongst diners. The lady spoke away in German and we advised we were English and couldn't speak German, however she continued to converse in German and we got the gist of the check in card and breakfast times. We were given a key and pointed to a door. Once through this door my heart sank. We were faced with a rather grotty public area, very grotty spiral staircase which we struggled up with our luggage. However, relief once we got to the top as the upper common areas were all fresh and new.

Our room was at the end of the corridor overlooking the side of the hotel and car park. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and nice big double bed which was extremely comfy. Nice big flatscreen TV. I was really quite relieved after experiencing the initial entrance and reception.

We had a bath with overhead shower however we did find the shower quite dangerous as one minute is was scalding hot and then the next freezing cold. The bathroom had a very large clear window which we found quite strange although there was a net curtain (which was very tatty and all torn) and curtains. We had to keep these closed at all times unless we wanted to be exhibitionists!!

Breakfast was the usual German breakfast and we did find it disappointing compared to other places we have stayed in Germany. There was lots of packets ie butter, jams, milk, croissants rather than fresh items. The orange juice was warm. Two kinds of rolls (brown and white) which were very hard and pretty tasteless. No offers neither to refill our tea/coffee. Again found it odd that we had explained we could not speak German, they continue to instruct us in German!

We were going to eat in the hotel. Looking at the menu it was more expensive than other places in the town, probably due to the location. Something stopped us from eating there and I am glad it did as we read trip advisor and went to A-Z restaurant just up the road which was excellent food and value.

For what we paid (92 Euros per night) we were left a little disappointed. I am just glad the room was nice but as for having to walk through a restaurant to check in, lack of any welcome and the breakfast, we came away a little disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed an evening meal whilst staying elsewhere in the town. Excellent food and service and great value for money. Buzzy atmosphere in market square. Main courses 11 - 12 euros. Half litre of local wine for 6.90 euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forres
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent nine nights at the Goldener Engel, using it as a base for walking the Blütenweg ("Blossom Trail") and for just being tourists. The hotel is situated in the small traffic-free marketplace, which could easily serve as a filmset. It is a timbered building, but has been completely and tastefully modernised inside - the floors are all level and not the creaking sort one would expect in a building of this age. Our room was at the side and had a bathtub - welcome after days of walking. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, and the younger couple who run the hotel have good English. The resatauirant can also be recommended, as can several others in this small town,
A useful tip if you are reliant on public transport is to buy a day ticket ( we were four adults and made considerable savings). The ticket can be used on buses, trams and local trains over quite a wide area

Room Tip: The friends who travelled with us had a room with a view over the marketplace. Their room had a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heppenheim
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Boddin
Hotel Villa Boddin
#1 of 6 in Heppenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Michel Hotel Heppenheim
Michel Hotel Heppenheim
#5 of 6 in Heppenheim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlossberg
Hotel Schlossberg
#4 of 6 in Heppenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel am Bruchsee
Hotel am Bruchsee
#3 of 6 in Heppenheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkhotel Krone
3.0 mi away
Hotel Bacchus
Hotel Bacchus
#3 of 10 in Bensheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldener Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldener Engel

Property: Goldener Engel
Address: Grosser Markt 2, 64646 Heppenheim, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Heppenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heppenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldener Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Goldener Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing