We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Goldener Engel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Goldener Engel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heppenheim
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stopped at the Goldener Engel while we walked the "Blossom Walk". The hotel is everything you would expect in a family run hotel in Germany. The rooms were fine, the breakfasts very good (German style) and the food in the evening was also very good. My wife's a vegetarian and there was a good choice for her.

You'll need a cab to get to the hotel from the station with luggage, but after that it's an easy walk, 10-15 mins.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hoemtown of Sebastian Vettel has an amazing oldtown area with great restaurants. The central place - where the Hotel is located - is like a beergarden (in summer). The price-performance ratio is really good. Hotel is clean, staff is friendly. Parking is difficult.
Die HEimatstadt von Sebastian Vettel hat einen schönen Altstadtbereich mit netten Restaurants. Der Hauptplatz an dem das Hotel liegt hat im Sommer Biergartenatmosphäre. Preis-Leistungsverhältnis sehr gut, freundliches Personal. Parken allerdings etwas schwierig.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlJarreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

As part of a Rhine Valley tour we stayed in Heppenheim for two nights. Regrettably this was at another hotel that fell short of expectations. However, we did dine one evening at the Goldener Engel. The food was excellent and plentiful; top class service with a smile, and very good value. If we should ever return to Heppenheim, we'd like to experience the accommodation, hoping that it would match its kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesparian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Goldener Engel is situated on the old market place in Heppenheim, Germany. It is in a building with traditional old German Architecture. So adorable to look at and the accommodations were wonderful. We had a great shower and tub, nice big bathroom, flat screen TV, closet, writing desk and comfortable bed. The weather was very warm so we slept with the windows open and there were no bugs. There is private parking for the guests of this hotel. The breakfast was wonderful.
There was no lift/elevator so you had to carry luggage up the stairs but it was part of the charm of this place. There was free wifi. Significant shopping is very close and there is an old castle you can see from the Market Place. We drove part way and walked part way to visit the castle. There is a bank and pharmacy also within walking distance. There is a museum and an old church just off the market place. We enjoyed staying in this charming city and will be back. I can not imagine anyone not falling in love with Heppemheim and this hotel was perfect for the experience.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it also had a nice entry way giving more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Goldener Engel is situated in the picturesque centre of Heppenheim and has a frontage onto a charming cobbled square with other restaurants and hotels. I was allocated a twin room for single occupation and it was simple,light and airy with fittings all in good condition. Room and shower room were very clean. The staff spoke English and were efficient. As I had to leave early, they kindly provided an early breakfast outside the usual serving time. The price of breakfast was included in the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank jhaselhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alfa_Taucher_1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heppenheim
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Boddin
Hotel Villa Boddin
#1 of 6 in Heppenheim
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Michel Hotel Heppenheim
Michel Hotel Heppenheim
#4 of 6 in Heppenheim
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel am Bruchsee
Hotel am Bruchsee
#3 of 6 in Heppenheim
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlossberg
Hotel Schlossberg
#5 of 6 in Heppenheim
3 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Bacchus
Hotel Bacchus
#1 of 9 in Bensheim
127 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tobbaccon Hotel
Tobbaccon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bensheim
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldener Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldener Engel

Address: Grosser Markt 2, 64646 Heppenheim, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Heppenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heppenheim
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldener Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Goldener Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing