We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean Hotel - bad location and staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint Ouen
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel - bad location and staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I just returned from Paris, staying in the Holiday Inn for New Years.

Although the room is very clean (aside from the fact that the bathroom smelled like urine), my experience was bad.

Breakfast is 15€, and it wasn't even good. I ended up going around the corner to the Barry and getting breakfast much cheaper every morning.

I accidentally left my watch laying on the nightstand, and it was stolen. I'm currently working with Holiday Inn in regards to this.

The hotel staff is not overly friendly, but much nicer than most French people living in Paris.

The metro is relatively close, but it isn't somewhere you would want to let your guard down, especially at night. There are gypsies around and a bridge you have to walk under than wasn't very well lit. Once I reached the alley every night, I was relieved because it was fairly well lit and safer feeling.

Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Rooms are nicely laid out, even though they are small compared to rooms in the USA
- Staff will help you
- Close to metro
- Very comfortable beds

Cons:
- Cleaning crew stole my watch
- Rooms are small (expected in Europe though)
- Area feels unsafe (although I experienced no problems)
- Room was ridiculously hot and wouldn't cool down without the window being open.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    56
    26
    17
See reviews for
13
34
11
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in Dec 2011 as part of the Contiki tour. The road in front of the hotel was too narrow for our bus to stop so we had to drag our luggage from the drop off area, which is about 2mins walk, so it's not too bad. The lifts (apparently quite common in Europe) are so small only 2 people with about 4 luggages can enter. Our assigned room is on the third floor, instead of waiting for ages (48 of us!) we just carry our luggage up the stairs.

The room is shockingly tiny(between the bed and the wall and less than my arm's length). I mean really tiny. there isn't space to store 2 luggages. I think the use of space is probably not the best, since it's a tiny room, there isn't much point having a bath and shower over. Basin area is tiny so there isn't much space for toiletries. Tv is seated above the small desk (smart) and this hotel (out of the rest in our trip) provides a kettle, which i had took for granted that it's a norm thing in every hotel.

Although small, it appears to be clean. There are sheets provided(many hotel in Europe don't!) and you can open the window for fresh air. Heater works too. English channels(BBC, CNN) are available on the TV program.

On the back of the door, it published it's rates, which is about 200Euro for 1 night stay. Frankly I will not even pay 100E for this hotel in this location, which is about 15mins walk to the nearest Metro station (Saint-Ouen) which you can't see it on the main metro map, and it's another 15-20mins ride to the city. One way ticket cost E1.70.

As for breakfast, although we have a cut down version for the breakfast(because of the tour), where we are seated we can see the main breakfast area for other guest and it appears to have hot food. our breakfast is not too shabby, different types of beverages are provided, ham, cheese and different types of pastry, bread and yoghurt are given too.
I find the prices of drinks rather high(E7 for a glass of house wine) but i guess it wouldn't be considered high given it's a Holiday Inn branding.

Summary- it's clean and decent so I won't complain. But it will not be my choice of hotel if i'm travelling independently.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Paris is always a night mare but this hotel tucked away in a side street just off a main road was an oasis.
Parking always a premium in a major city non more so than Paris is easy with out door parking behind gates or for a little extra in the underground carpark . Both have large spaces for modern cars.
The actual rooms were very clean and well appointed with kettle etc .
Meals were good and the bar was great . one thing to note is that the resteraunt is closed in the evening at weekends.
If your looking for a down side to this hotel it can only be the area. its surrounded with kebab shops and its not that close to a tourist site.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Ok, so again, a Garden Court Hotel. For me this was the second one on my French extravaganza. Let it be said, this is NOT in the city of Paris, in fact it's miles away, however the station is very close, so no problems there, however I would have liked to have been a bit more in the city, however that's just a me thing.

Saint Ouen is a pretty wild place, a University Town, but can I say the fresh food market is stunning. The food was OMG wow, and quite reasonable. The bakeries are also excellent in the area.

Is it safe? Is Paris safe, well, I'm a big bloke, but yes I felt a little scared in this area. It's not the most welcoming of Areas. I think there are definitely better areas in Paris to stay.

It's about 30 mins from the airport and I guess about the same from the city centre of Paris.

Staff were friendly enough, though inconsistent. I found it difficult to get them to confirm my airport transfer.

Biggest downfall was that this hotel had a lot of tour series. Now I was only there for two days and there was a big one from with China or Japan and one from Australia that checked in. It just meant that lobby was noisy, always crowded (and it's tiny) and there was a big bus out the front.

I also couldn't early check in, understandable and my fault, but it would have made things better.

anyway. all in all, not bad, rooms small, which is expected. I just found the whole thing a bit lethargic, staff, hotel, area etc

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed hre for a weekend on my own.

Good Points
St Ouen Metro is 400m away, line 13 straight down to Champs Elysee, or change to 2 for Pigalles and Montmartre / Anvers.
Rooms are clean and tidy.
Concierge service 24/7
Many nationalities staying as popular with coach trips.
conveniently placed on Blvd Peripherique.

Bad Points:
Coach Parties were dominating the place with difficulty getting breakfast due to numbers.
Bar closes at 11! What!
Area is a bit rundown with a few north african bars round and about. Not worthy of a visit.
between hotel and metro yuo will have to walk past Roma, drunks, junkies and prostitutes.
There is no threat, or begging, just street people and poverty.
Beyond the metro it get progressively better.

Summary:
It cost me 85 Euros a night and it was only 1400 metres from the Sacre Coeur in Montmartre.
Musee d'Orsay The Louvre, Tuilleries, only half hour away on the metro

That remains excellent value, much better than anything London could offer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face away from the BP and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is in the suburbs of Paris, 10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station. There are few amenities in the area so you need to travel into the city for restaurants. I stayed 1 night and twice in the night the electricty cut off leaving the room in complete darkness. The power failue only affected the one floor of the hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk at kleast 10 minutes to reach the nearest Metro station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isaacparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabriano
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I come often in Paris for travelling and we have a budget that normally is not high for Paris. This took me in very bad hotels in the last periods but this time I found this pearl: good price in the budget, not far from the centre (I went by foot to Mointmatre) and anyway well connected to tube, silent even if near the Periferique.
The reception is pleasent, there's a small bar opened till ten and automatic distributors for any need in night. The rooms are really large according to parisienne standards, the bathroom a bit too small but clean. In teh room thers a good Plasma TV, free access to internet in WI-FI good quality, iron and hair dryer. It is missinga frigo bar.
Employess are handsome and available, a very good surprise

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ouen
Le Manhattan Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Ouen
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Source Hotel
#693 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Timhotel Paris Place D'Italie
Hotel Residence Europe
#1 of 11 in Clichy
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen

Property: Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen
Address: 9 rue la Fontaine, 93400 Saint Ouen, France (Formerly Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint Ouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint Ouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kyriad Paris Nord Porte de Saint Ouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte De Saint Ouen Hotel Saint Ouen
Holiday Inn Saint Ouen
Saint Ouen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing