We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Villers-Bretonneux
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Franco-Australian Museum
from $149.63
More Info
from $165.52
More Info
from $1,346.46
More Info
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
69
17
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
69
17
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria school the australian war memorial school children school hall worth a visit well worth the effort personal items small entrance fee primary school from australia the link connection diggers donated australians artifacts photos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2019

After seeing the Monash Centre and the Australian War Memorial this museum was our last stop on our WW self drive experience. It was just wonderful to see how much Australia means to the people in this area - it was heart warming and very uplifiting to think that our young diggers still mean so much.

As proud Victorians we just loved the history here and would recommed it to all who come to the area. We should never forget .

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KellieSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musée F, Responsable accueil at Franco-Australian Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Bonjour,

You visited the Franco-Australian Museum of Villers-Bretonneux and we thank you for that.
Our company is committed to quality and will do what is required to please you.
A survey is at your disposal to provide us with any comment you would like to make by typing this address:

http://questionnaire-qualite-tourisme.fr/qt80594

Thank you for your participation.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

This was great plus I loved actually seeing to Victoria school with the Never Forget Australia.
You only need 1-2 hours. Open the drawers!! They have treasures.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank GPH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musée F, Responsable accueil at Franco-Australian Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Bonjour,

You visited the Franco-Australian Museum of Villers-Bretonneux and we thank you for that.
Our company is committed to quality and will do what is required to please you.
A survey is at your disposal to provide us with any comment you would like to make by typing this address:

http://questionnaire-qualite-tourisme.fr/qt80594

Thank you for your participation.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

The museum was very informative and educational and gave insight into WW1 Battles in the area and the feelings of the locals towards Australia. It is a very modern and well lit museum. There are numerous personal items and mementos from the battles.
Interestingly, there were a few French people looking around also.
If this type of history interests you, it is well worth the effort to visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank FrancisS982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musée F, Responsable accueil at Franco-Australian Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Bonjour,

You visited the Franco-Australian Museum of Villers-Bretonneux and we thank you for that.
Our company is committed to quality and will do what is required to please you.
A survey is at your disposal to provide us with any comment you would like to make by typing this address:

http://questionnaire-qualite-tourisme.fr/qt80594

Thank you for your participation.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019

We visited here following out visit to the Australian War Memorial at Villers Bretonneux and Monash Centre that is just 5 minutes away. The museum charges a small entrance fee and has many displays commerating the connections between the town and Australia (especially Victoria) and the "Never Forget Australia" sign was tends to make you reflect on just how much a role Australia played in this part of the world 100 years ago. As museums go this one has a unique look at the role Australians played from the french perspective and how that lives on today. School holidays meant there were no children around but try to seek a look into the main school hall - it really is amazing.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 391grantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musée F, Responsable accueil at Franco-Australian Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Bonjour,

You visited the Franco-Australian Museum of Villers-Bretonneux and we thank you for that.
Our company is committed to quality and will do what is required to please you.
A survey is at your disposal to provide us with any comment you would like to make by typing this address:

http://questionnaire-qualite-tourisme.fr/qt80594

Thank you for your participation.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

The museum has moved out of a school hall and is now situated in a modern premises with the school hall adjoining it.
You can view a range of items, in particular, a photo book of soldiers who are yet to be identified; a range of photos personal letters, craft, poetry and maps outlining areas such as VB; some interactive screens and a model of the Villers Brx red chateau that has unfortunately been demolished.
We spent a number of hours reading through documents especially relevant to V-Brx and searching for info or photos relating to the 56th Infantry Division, which we have close ties with.
Look out for;
1. There are a number of drawers you can access and slide out from under the visual displays. These are sometimes overlooked by visitors
2. You can donate and 'buy' an item such as a poppy and or a sm. wooden cross to write a message and leave it at the V-Brx cemetery to remember a blood relative who made the supreme sacrifice
3. There is a gift shop attached to the museum. There are a number of books which specifically relate to the Australian war campaigns from Gallipoli right through to VB, Fromelles etc
4 There is a visitor's register. Look out for that one in the last room just as you move into the gift store
5 The French are also identified and depicted in a similar manner

Well done Diggers - Pride of Australia.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank SearchforBillyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews