We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An at home setting just minutes from Paris”
Review of La Vasconia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Vasconia
Ranked #1 of 2 Bougival B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An at home setting just minutes from Paris”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited La Vasconia when on a research trip recently. The house is in a quiet, leafy residential area, just a short walk from the train station. My room had every creature comfort including a large flat screen TV with satellite stations and a VCR player, and the bathroom was truly luxurious. Just outside the French doors, was a lovely garden. But the best part of my stay there was the warm welcome. Jean-Pierre went way beyond the call of duty. He drove me into the center of Bougival, researched my transportation back to Orly, made dinner reservations at a charming restaurant just a short walk away. And he cooks a wonderful breakfast. His French toast scented with orange is the best I've ever had. Even the jams were home made.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InRomeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Five of us were cycling from London to Paris (using Donald Hirsch's low-traffic route guide) and needed somewhere stay near Versailles, before our intended visit to the Palace and completing the last short leg of our journey into Paris centre. La Vasconia was well placed for us cyclists, not too far off our route and also easy for another friend to visit by train from Paris. My room was the "Rotonde" which was great, light and airy, clean and spacious; there's a hair dryer plug near a mirror too which my wife always rates as important. My friends liked their rooms too although the couple in the cheaper room called "Marine" said they couldn't figure out how to close the blinds (it was very late by then), so were awoken in the morning by bright light. I didn't see it myself and so can't comment.
Best of all was our host, Jean-Pierre Pilard, who took sympathy when we 5 exhausted cyclists arrived late evening a few miles away with only a 1cm=1km map and no clue as to how to find Bougival. He came to find us and lead the way to his place and even booked us table at one of the few restaurants that were open not far away. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rotonde or Manoir
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at La Vasconia several times and it has never failed to impress. The house is beautiful, surrounded by a lovely garden with choice of 3 immaculate rooms. Breakfast is not to be missed! There is ample choice of fresh bread, meat, cheese, jams, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice, fruit and of course the legendary pastries which Jean Pierre bakes fresh daily. Nothing is too much trouble and it really feels like home. From central Paris take the short train ride from St Lazare or La Defense direct to Bougival and from there it is a very easy 5 minute walk to La Vasconia. Perfect if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with all the pleasures of Paris within easy reach.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are stunning; beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betsybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were at the end of 2 weeks touring the small towns around Paris, and this was the perfect storybook ending. Jean-Pierre was very helpful with sight-seeing information. Great restaurant tips and each breakfast was unique and delicious. Our room was beautifully furnished with extra touches and very comfortable as well. What a pleasure to meet both Marie-Dominique and Jean-Pierre in their beautiful home and garden which made for a wonderful experience.

We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpressionismRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We wanted to spend an evening in Versailles, and one day in Paris. Therefore, we were looking for a B & B in between .. After I was already 25 years in many B & B all over the world, I can say with certainty that La Vasconia was one of the finest and best accommodations. Jean Pierre has served us every morning homemade cake and a very fine breakfast at a beautifully set table. His hospitality and helpfulness would not have been better. The rooms were very clean and with style. Jean Pierre gave us many good information. The "La Vasconia" we can highly recommend and we are determined to return there oureself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a beautiful house with a pleasant grounds. The room was immaculate with a walk in closet and large bathroom. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. All this and only 30 minutes at the most to downtown Paris. Also very close to Rueil Malmaison, home to Josephine and Napoleon and Versailles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mittenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

On previous business trips to Paris I've always had to stay at Holiday Inns or Campaniles but having discovered La Vasconia I'm never going to stay anywhere else.

Jean Pierre is the perfect host and La Vasconia is in a lovely location. The rooms are spacious, bright, clean and comfortable. There's a five minute walk to the station and from there I was in the city centre very quickly.

Breakfast was delicious (Jean Pierre prepares a fresh pastry every day) and there's a good choice of local restaurants, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anny65Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bougival
2.8 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
1.3 mi away
Villa Des Impressionnistes
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Henri IV
Pavillon Henri IV
#1 of 6 in St-Germain-en-Laye
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#3 of 8 in Versailles
60 reviews
3.4 mi away
Charmilles des Cordeliers
Charmilles des Cordeliers
#1 of 1 in Noisy-le-Roi
65 reviews
6.3 mi away
Les Marronniers
Les Marronniers
#1 of 1 in Les-Loges-en-Josas
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vasconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vasconia

Property: La Vasconia
Address: 7 rue de la Butte de la Celle, 78380 Bougival, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Bougival
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bougival
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Vasconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing