We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are still talking about it.....!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Riva Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riva Bella
Surrey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“We are still talking about it.....!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My son went on a school trip for 8/9yr olds for a few nights earlier in May. It was his first experience of a residential trip. The hotel's main positives are that it is well located for the beach and market. The main things that he still talks about are - tobacco smell permeating the room, no soap or toilet paper in the bathrooms. When I asked what he had eaten during the trip, I realised that the hotel hadn't offered the children a single portion of fruit or veg. We know kids can exaggerate but he's not an overly fussy boy enjoying many caravan holidays to the Isle of Wight - not just 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    7
    7
    13
See reviews for
11
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived at the 'hotel' Riva Bella and was baffled by how poor the staff's English was. Eventually after talking to the staff in French to the best of our ability we managed to get the key for our room. Walking up the three flights of winding stairs with two suitcases was not the best of ways to start the holiday (if you can even call it a holiday) but eventually we got to our room and that was when the nightmare began. The room was out of date and extremely unclean. Our 4 year old daughter of course was not old enough to understand how bad the room was. Under the bed there was a hole in which some type of large beetles must have been nesting as during the short space of time we spent in the room we saw two beetles come out from under the bed. The bed covers where unclean, they had chocolate and hairs on them. I dread to think how bad the room actually was as it was so poorly lit, the main light didn't work and they had the type of lights you would find on your shed as bedside lights. While standing in the room with a distraught expression on our faces not thinking of the possible hazards that our daughter could be faced with. She had walked in to the bathroom and picked up a used tampon. At this point we immediately washed her hands and shut the bathroom door with the tampon left dropped on the floor. At this point I was fuming and tried to plug my phone in to charge while I went to complain but found that neither of the two plug sockets in our room worked. After spending around 15 minutes finding and then trying to complain to the poor English speaking staff. I had had enough so we collected our belongings and left the 'hotel'.

Under no circumstances would I at all advise staying at this 'hotel'

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels

Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I went on a trip there, and we were escorted into the courtyard around the back, It was quite decent on a sunny day. Next we got into our rooms; We had a balcony which was alright but the room was quite poor, fags in the ladders of our bunks. in the bathroom, the shower only trickled and leaked alot! Our friends across the way, had a gas leak. And the bedding was poor, stained and overall, too flimsy. For our meal, we had chicken and chips with a thai curry poured in top, It was alright. But the next night, we were served an omelette, which came with hairs in it. And a maccaroni cheese pie thing. which was very off-putting. I reccommend you stay here IF you are staying just for a night. I'm not impressed but I did, afterall, get a good nights sleep..

Room Tip: Small rooms tend to have damp. Big rooms usually have graffiti or dirt. Medium sized room are dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Declannnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I went there on a school trip, we were staying there for a week. The hostel was very clean, i think in the other reviews are abit exaggering, maybe the duvet covers had a stain on them, but bring a sleeping bag!!!!! The owners were very welcoming, they let us do anything we wished, there's a pizza parlour accross the road! me and my friends had so much fun! were planing on coming back next year. The bedrooms and toilets were cleaned daily by the cleaners, there was enough space in the room and space to keep our luggage. i highly recommend this hostel for all types of people, its cheap and very warm! Plus very pleasing, thankyou and good luck on your holiday!!!! Hope you have fun!!x

Room Tip: don't need! all rooms are accepteable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have just come back from a 5-day residential with 41 yr 7s. I had previously stayed 5 years ago at the Riva Bella and although had stayed in other places on school trips wanted to give the Riva Bella another chance. There have been some improvements - they have updated the rooms and the ensuite shower rooms. They also provide the teachers with a pass key - so no more lost keys or not being able to gain access when necessary. The location is great for the kids as it is a stone throw from the beach (which is massive and a good idea to beg your PE department for some rounders bats and tennis balls) and the shopping street is just around the corner - ice-creams, crepes, chocolaterie and sweet shops proved popular. The improvements that the Riva Bella have made have come with a not so good alteration - the food, the breakfast is fresh bread, butter, jam and one cereal. The orange juice is in fact squash, this isn't too bad. I was and so were other members of the party (staff and pupils) disappointed with the lunch, sliced bread sandwiches, crisps and a carton of squash. The evening meals seemed to have gone down in standard since my previous stay, although they did try and cater for the vegetarians. The hotel owner is flexible and on the day we went to parc asterix, she said we could come back whenever we wanted and she would have a cold platter on the table for us. On arrival, she also does a quick safety talk pointing out the fire exits. Before checking the kids into their rooms, check them all out first including the electrical shutters. One room was accused of breaking them and it cost the trip 10euros per person in that room. Also, if you are taking school children here, check which rooms have a balcony and put your best behaved children in that room.
The hotel doesn’t have any coach parking and although they will fetch the drivers back from the nearest coach park (the airport 2miles away), isn’t very convenient when trying to load the coach in the morning as it will block one of the one-way roads.
As you can tell from my review, they are used to school parties, so if you are a lone traveller it would be a good idea to ask if you would be sharing the hostel as a good night sleep is difficult with that amount of children.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hostel is cozy and friendly. It is quite small since it doesn't have many stories. The food was average for a 2 star hostel but lunches of supermarket salami sandwiches are quite manky. The rooms were quite clean and we could see the ocean. It is quite close to the market. We found a strange red hand shaped mark on the curtain which wasn't very friendly. Floor upstairs was very creaky though and it was hard to sleep. Bedrooms and bathrooms were dingy and bathroom was very small. Lots of storage space though. Found only 1 plug in the room which was quite annoying since 4 people were trying to charge things up in 3 days for a 9 hour bus journey home. Shower was only a drizzle and no towels. Lights in Le Touqet were bright at night. Private garden in the hotel was very nice on a sunny day. We had a fun time in France staying at the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

I would recommend this hotel for any teacher organising a school tour to the area.The management is used to large youth parties so is very flexible and accommodating to needs of the group. Teachers given master keys to rooms which avoided problems of lost keys. Dining room excellent for briefing group. Seating area in courtyard fine for assembling group prior to excursions. Food was adequate-children always fuusy whatever given anyway. Owner was lovely to teachers-very understanding. Appreciates help with clearing tbles at mealtimes and keeping kids' rooms tidy through week!
Excellent location in heart of beautiful Le Touquet.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pino20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel  les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#13 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Bella

Property: Riva Bella
Address: 12 rue Leon Garet, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Riva Bella Hotel Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing