We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first”
Review of Le Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Belvedere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was the second time I have visited Le Belvedere, the first there were four of us on Motor Bike on that trip Maggie the owner made us so welcome so we returned a year later with our wives. When we arrived, we lit the log fire and settled in the spacious sitting room and looked through the information on restaurants Maggie had provided and discussed each one with her, she also offered to order a sea food platter take away if we did not want to go out. I can only say this second week end has proved as good as the first. The Belvedere is only 10 mins away from Le Touquete centre/beach and 15 from Etape, varied restaurants, lovely beaches a great vintner close by and a very knowledgeable Host. The light in the town are really good this year, and the taxi driver we used was only to happy to take us round the town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room leading onto the lounge both times by choice with no isuue, the other two...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Le Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had high expectations of staying at Le Belvédère.
On looking around the B&B we noticed that it was looking tired with paint peeling off the window shutters and a missing window pane in the porch.
We were shown to our room, which was situated just off the breakfast and tv room - we were concerned that the room would be noisy.
We were even more concerned when we entered the room to find two cats sleeping on the beds - we were horrified and speechless.
I also noted that there was twin beds in the room when the picture advertising the room seemed to show a double bed. The expected noise, cats and twin beds teamed with an unwelcoming host was a deal breaker for us - we did not stay and left for alternative accomdation in Le Touquet.
Most certainly would not recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was called Terrace
Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank nevilleb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBelvedere, Propriétaire at Le Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

I am greatly saddened that, although this gentleman has never spent a night at the Belvedere and was in the house for less than 5 minutes, he feels justified in posting such a negative review.

It is important to me to try redress the balance and I would mention that Nevilleb1 booked earlier in the year at a time when he had a choice of all my rooms but specifically requested this room, by name, at the time of booking his one night stay. A photo labelled ‘The Terrace Room’ can be seen in the photo gallery on this webpage and on my own website and I truly believe it clearly shows the room to have twin beds

I do not own 2 cats but one and he is NOT allowed in the guest rooms, only in the uncarpeted areas. On this particular occasion however the bedroom door had been left ajar and he had indeed sneaked into the room for which I apologised and immediately offered to launder the bedcover.

There is no ‘missing window pane in the porch’; this is a catflap

Contrary to Nevilleb1’s description of the house as ‘tired’ it is in good decorative order inside and out. A guest photo of the exterior was posted earlier this month on this Trip Advisor page – see photo labelled ’Perfect location for a relaxing break’ in the photo gallery – which allows anyone interested to judge the current general state of repair of the house for themselves

It is true to say that the ironmongery parts on some of the shutters could do with a touch of Hammerite and there is one pair of shutters at ground floor level which has been damaged but that is a far cry from the state of dereliction Nevilleb1 implies. As any owner of a large seaside property will tell you, fighting the damage caused by salt air to woodwork is an ongoing battle and my french windows are all brushed aluminium for this reason. Work on the shutters is scheduled for the downtime at the end of the season along with other decoration and repairs

Nevilleb1 speculates that the room he selected might be noisy, however all my rooms are well-insulated acoustically and there are a number of extremely positive reviews on this site from guests who have stayed in this room and found the peace and tranquillity they were expecting. As he did not spend the night here Nevilleb1 is not really in a position to judge, I feel

Given Nevilleb1’s other negative accommodation posts and his dislike of cats, my only suggestion is that he analyse closely his accommodation needs and perhaps in future avoids rural bed and breakfasts in France where he runs the risk of owners having pets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Driving into the forest you receive a lovely surprise as The Belvedere looms into view. Maggie offers a very friendly welcome and a relaxing atmosphere. A beautiful setting so one immediately feels at home. The room was clean with adequate facilities and a wonderfully comfortable large double bed.
Breakfast was a jolly affair as the residents chatted together and with Maggie's sense of humour and the added bonus of 2 very dictintive 'chats' one was almost reluctant to leave the table!
Highly recommend. We will definitely be returning as there are many attractions in the area and a four night stay was barely enough time to see them all.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the terrace.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My partner and I travel to this part of france on a regular basis. This time he had to work, so went with a friend to The Belvedere. We had the downstairs apartment, which is very well appointed and has comfortable beds.

It is in a lovely setting in the wooded area of Le Touquet. Ideal for somebody wanting a relaxing break.

Maggie recommended a couple of excellent restaurants and an interesting wine shop. Would like to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermanaeriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Le Belvedere is a great place for that short stopver or longer break. Maggie is a great host and gives great recomendations for sightseeing or eating out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Just returned after an enjoyable three night stay at Le Belvedere. We were staying in the Terrace room which along with the en-suite bathroom is of a good size and nicely presented. When the weather allowed, as it did on at least one occasion, we were able to go direct between bedroom and garden and relax in the peaceful surroundings whilst enjoying the afternoon sunshine.

The inclusive (continental) breakfast consisted of Juice, fresh, warmed croissant, choc au pain, french bread, jams, marmalade and more coffee/tea than I could drink.

The owner, Maggie, is indeed very friendly and most helpful, providing us as she did with details on parking in town, recommendations/suggestions for restaurants (La Coupole esp!), walks and places to visit in the surrounding area.
If, like us you want to avoid driving into Le Touquet centre, the walk into town took us about 40 mins each way (and we are used to walking) so although "do-able", you might want to make sure that you have some comfortable shoes with you. We walked into town several times and the distance is about 2 miles (to the sea-front) and if you avoid the main road, the route is via some very nice tree lined streets which are relatively traffic free.
Picking up on a point made in a previous review, we also thought that it would have been nice to have had the opportunity to make a cup of tea or coffee or have been offered one but having said that I can confirm that we did see that another couple had been served tea one afternoon so I guess if we had asked it would have been provided.

Overall a very relaxed and comfortable stay and I am happy to pass on as a recommendation.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthantsPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Only stayed here one night but instantly felt we wish we had booked a couple more nights. The rooms are really lovely and in such an interesting building - the beds were comfortable and we all slept well. Breakfast was a mountain of French breads and croissants which we somehow managed to make our way through. Although slightly disappointed when i found out it was owned by a British lady i soon realised that this was an absolute bonus as she was so helpful and informative about the local area. One of our girls wanted to buy a French version of Harry Potter and she was soon downloading a conversion sheet of all the spells and house names as they aren't the same.

My only bit of constructive criticism is that it would have been nice to either have been offered tea/coffee on arrival or have the facility to make one for ourselves - there is a lovely lounge to relax in and perhaps if we could have made a drink and settled down for a few moments we could have enjoyed it more. having said that i am sure if we had asked for it then Maggie would have provided !

I would like to go back and would definitely recommend Belverdere
Laura

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LStoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
738 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
667 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#11 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
477 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#9 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
588 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jules
Hotel Jules
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Belvedere

Address: 294 Allee des Bleuets, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range: $84 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belvedere is an English-owned guest house offering four Bed and Breakfast rooms and two self-catering Holiday Apartments. Set in Le Touquet's peaceful pine forest only 2 ½ kms (1½ miles) from the town centre with its array of chic shops, restaurants and nightlife it is conveniently located for the airport, golf courses and other sports facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Belvedere Hotel Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing