We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school meets chic but leave the breakfast room to the dinosaurs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old school meets chic but leave the breakfast room to the dinosaurs!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Staying here was always an aspiration and finding ourselves with a free night and fancying a change - gave it the benefit.

Beautiful room yet strangely bland with stark black and White decor, all pristine but a little too Dubai and not enough Deauville!

Great service but as pricey as The Savoy and nowhere was there a beautiful room for us to sit in the common parts as the lobby and bar were very retro but not intentionally.

Would I return, probably not as long as Chateau Montreuil exists about 15km away with more charm than a charm bracelet worn by prince charming.

Room Tip: See room first as the price and the size don't always marry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    577
    224
    89
    45
See reviews for
266
891
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We love everything about this hotel that dates from the turn of the century and has not completely changed with the times ...
As in the years the rooms have been renovated, with sufficient facilities to rival luxury 4 star hotels but it remains that this hotel also has obvious defects.
We love the new century atmosphere in the lobby, stairs with large handrail sumptuous, spacious rooms (privilege) that overlook the park, the hotel's location in Le Touquet, which allows to Saint Jean street walk, and take the car only when you leave the "city".
We love the pool, however small it, the jacusi, sauna before dinner.
This is one of our favorite weekend when we go to Westminster.
Of course, the price is high compared to the hotel and benefits but there is no competition and we must take into account the whole weekend to enjoy your stay: hotel facilities, restaurants, beach situation, forest, golf, horses, refinement of all ...
Westminster staff recognizes you, it's always nice and we are dealing with true professionals (sometimes with the old, which has its charm)
I keep going back as we go to a pilgrimage, I love it !!

Room Tip: Room Privilege is good : n°121
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I used to think the Westminster was stuffy and dowdy, but it seems to have bucked its ideas up. I would now say it was traditional. Our room had a huge bed and the decoration was pristine and less heavy than it has been. Bathroom not modern in that there was no proper shower only a hand held tap attachment. I think proper shower fittings could have been fitted to the bath without too much upheaval, but everything sparkled. Staff pleasant, cheerful and efficient. Main restaurant had small menu, but everything cooked to perfection. Would have liked coffee/tea facilities in the room though. Had to make do with soft drinks from mini bar as I wouldn't dream of ordering room service at the crack of dawn.

Lots of golfers and business groups, but no conference folk when I stayed, mainly English. Le Touquet is very lively whatever the season. Always a pleasure to stroll around. Retains the spirit of its turn of the century heyday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Westminster is rather grand looking and certainly makes an impression on first sight, especially if approached at night with it's elegant exterior lighting. It a massive building not too dissimilar to a large palace and is located at the posher top part of LeTouquet, just down from the Casino and tree lined boulevards. I have never seen anything quite like it before.

There is an inclusive car park to the left of the hotel. Upon entry, it has an updated version of the original 1930's design - it must have looked incredible when it was first built - complete with the original working cage lift, almost as if it were part of a film set. Both the reception and concierge were friendly and professional, likewise the bar staff - I've stayed a few times and always found this to be the case. There is a bar area to the right and Michelin starred restaurant to the right called 'Le Pavillon' - which also has tables outside, looks lovely.

The rooms (I've stayed in various ones) are individually decorated in quite a unusual style for a hotel - one room had a Wedgewood look with blues and whites, one room a simpler pastel style, another had a custom black and white padded wallpaper, all very elegant and probably in keeping with the 1930's look. The bathrooms were good, some fresher than others and again in keeping with the style of the hotel, some with an art-deco feel to them.

All of the breakfasts I had were excellent, buffet style with both hot and cold food - scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, fruits, French continental, juices, cereals, really nice.

All of the occasions that I stayed at Westminster were a real treat and I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cayseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

On a whim, I went to Le Touquet for the weekend to get out of Paris for the weekend. I was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel and the ambivalent staff. I expected the hotel to be a bit exensive given the location, but the Westminster, probably a gem in its day, was very tired and ownership is not re-investing into the property. At 300 Euro (approx $450) for the night, I expected more! All the carpets were frayed and torn. The paint was cracked, chipping and bubbling. Dogs were welcome (I am a dog lover) but the hall way on my floor smelled like it, probably for lack of modern ventilation systems. The spa was on the basement level and the only way back to your room was in these cage elevators where you would be on display in your robe through the main lobby. The elevators were so small (and I am accustom to small elevators in old European hotels) that I took the stairs every time. The hallways were stiffling hot and when I opened the door to my room, I was disappointed to find that they had not retro-fit the building with any air conditioning or at least installed ceiling fans to move the air. The plumbing was old, circa 1940's and I was disgusted when I lifted the seat to my toilet to fine stained toilet paper floating in the toilet. Later I learned that the toilet took about 3 flushes to flush but why didn't housekeeping see this if they 'sanitized' my toilet. I'm not fooled just because they folded the corners of the toilet paper. The tub was a retrofit but really small and there was hand held mounted to the wall, but no shower curtain. On my arrival evening, I went to the spa to book a massage for the next day. I took a peak to check out the pool. One was expected to walk though this pool of stagnant water in order to climb the stairs to get to the pool.. No thanks! I passed. My 'Swedish' massage was mediocre and overpriced at 115 Euro. Le Touquet is a charming sea-side town (except for the horrible 1970's high rises in the best location). I would consider going back, but I certainly would not stay at the Westminster.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BostonBoxerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this well known palace in le touquet Paris-plage. With many friends and ados for a three days golf trip. Breakfast was excellent and location is very convenient. The hôtel has a safe parking included in the price. Thé hôtel has the charm and the beauty of old palaces but in our bathroom this "belle époque" age was clearly visible and not convenient at all. Bed and télévision were quiet modern so why not the bathroom?

Room Tip: Great golf courses around. Do not miss LA MER at Le Touquet golf club and Belle Dune at Fort Mahon P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeDouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed in this Hotel on a Sunday, when we arrived the room wasn't ready but as we were early not a problem. Helpful receptionist checked us in and an even more helpful concierge valet parked the car. In it's day this must have been some hotel, the lifts stairways are quite lovely. Excellent room, very large and very comfortable typical French no air conditioning.

Sadly all this was let down by the most appalling bar and terrace service staff I've ever met. To interested in chatting with their friends and playing with their mobile phones. At one point both barmen were outside gossiping away whilst 3 tables of guests wanted serving. In the end a concierge had to go and gee them up. Then we got the Gallic shrug and pout. I can put up with that in Paris but these guys were just lazy locals.

Breakfast was pricy but ok, overall liked the hotel. Magnificent location and you do get a feel of what Le Touquet must have been like in it's heyday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headhunter1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#9 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster & Spa)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing