We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope you don't like breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Red Fox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Red Fox
Tadworth
1 review
“Hope you don't like breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location close to everything, but here lies the first problem- it's noisey especially early in the morning when the street services get going.
The second downer was the breakfast, if you want any sort of choice get there early otherwise what everyone else didn't fancy is all that is left, and nothing seems to be replenished which even included the plates.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    277
    134
    18
    6
See reviews for
101
261
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had intended to travel to Brittany, but at the last moment had to seek a holiday within easy reach of Calais. We had no experience of Le Touquet and booked the Red Fox purely because of availabilty. The location was superb and in easy reach of many very good restaurants.I am partially disabled and found the bedroom and bathroom rather small , but adequate whilst the bed was very comfortable .We slept well, despite a lot of noisy revelry outside on our first night. The breakfast buffets were well stocked, but the dining room was a little austere and very crowded most mornings, we wished we had tea making facilities in our room! On the whole, decent value and a very good c centre for a short break in Le Touquet

Room Tip: We did not see the new annexe, but understand they are larger and better furnished than in the origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay in Le Touquet and our second stay at the Red Fox Hotel. Check in was swift. we forgot to book a parking space at the time of booking the room. The hotel receptionist said the parking was fully bmooked but that we could park a little further down in the square for 5 euros a day. This we did. We had a room in the new annex on the second floor and the room was great. Was just sorry to see that it hadn't been cleaned as well as possibly it should have been - in the bathroom in particular. The shower cubicle was spacious and good power but it didn't look like it had been cleaned properly. Also the toilet bowl wasn't clean if you know what I mean. That was disappointing! Otherwise, the beds were very comfortable, the aircon brilliant and it was quiet apart from, weirdly, around 6.30am, a pile of youngsters were downstairs in the street - just out of a club maybe?
We slept really well and woke in the morning hoping to enjoy a walk around the markets, have a leisurely breakfast in the town and head slowly back to the channel tunnel. My husband went to pay another 5 euros ( our parking ticket expiring at 11am) on the car to find a market covering the whole of the car park and no car! The hotel receptionist ( a gentleman this time) said we had to go to the police station to do the paperwork to recover the car. We reminded him that it was his colleague who had recommended that carpark and there was no mention at the time of a market. He said there were signs everywhere. Not helpful really and we had seen no signs - aucune idee that we even had to be aware of a market the next day. We went to the station and 2 lots of people n front of us with the exact same problem - they had had many in before us so it was clearly not only us who had missed the signs apparently everywhere... I spoke in French to the gendarme and I have to say, he was superb. He called cab companies for us to no avail and given we had a train at 3, he had 2 of his colleagues drive us to the car pound about 10km away and they stayed open for us (should have been closed until 2pm)so we could collect the car and make the train. Absolutely brilliant and super gentille.
So, remember to book a carparking space when you book this hotel. We would stay again but were far from impressed with the unhelpfulness of reception this morning concerning the car. Not a way to treat hotel guests, not least repeat guests who raved about how good this hotel was on tripadvisor the first time we stayed!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 726Tania_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel was surprisingly easy to find (considering that most people in Le Touquet seems to struggle with English). The staff were very good and helpful all of them.
The day to day cleaning was very good, however the carpet had a permanent stain and the shower was a bit broken and the lining needed changing as well as a plug point in the room (receptionist said they would look in to that).
The room decoration was actually very good and modern. No noise could be heard (apart from birds outside). The temperature was very good in the room not to cold and not to warm and we could open windows if we liked. Facilities is a bit limited.The breakfast was not cooked breakfast so don't bother with that unless you like your bread and cerals.
The location was perfect in central Le touquet, which is a lovely small town and the amazing beach was very close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
follyfootfarm
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Red Fox years ago as a couple and returned (many) years later with our teenage children. Need to book garage parking, which we weren't told, but street parking nearby was fortunately available. Found it fairly shabby - we were in the main building - and the only difference with a 'superior' room was size of room. But clean and serviceable, and suitable for our one night stay. We love Le Touquet and next time might splash out on something smarter. PS time breakfast carefully, there were queues when we arrived.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank follyfootfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having tried to fly down to Tours for over a week, thwarted by bad weather, a last minute decision was made to nip over to Paris Plage for a night! The hotel we stayed in last time was fully booked, so a quick scan through Tripadvisor and an email via booking.com and hey presto we were up and running. An hour later found us touching down at the delightful Le Touquet airport (an excellent restaurant here too by all accounts!), no customs formalities, hired the bikes and pedalled into town. The Red Fox is well sign posted and we were not disappointed. Check in was rapid, our room was in a newly renovated building opposite main reception, so new in fact that the lift had been certified just a couple of days before.
The room was very simple, very clean, and spacious. Aircon fab which was just as well as it was around 34 degrees! Decor very simple, IKeaish would be a fair description, good TV, excellent curtains etc., comfortable beds, bathroom very good. Also considering it is on one of the main streets, exceptionally quiet. It is very well placed so everything is within a short stroll, beach ( stunning) just a few minutes away, loads of restaurants, excellent shopping. There is an underground car park about 200 meters away, but as we were on bikes we didn't use it. Staff friendly and helpful, stored our bags until we left in the evening. Good wifi etc. price wise I felt it was good value. Highly recommend this hotel. It is however fairly characterless so not for the romantics but if you want somewhere to stay that is immaculate, friendly , comfortable and good value give it a go!

Room Tip: There has been some criticism re rooms, so ask for the new section, that's assuming there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falcoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just stayed one night in this renovated hotel (in fact, situated directly opposite the building housing Reception). Fast check-in, staff friendly and welcoming (all spoke English) then over the road to our room, which was on the first floor, facing inwards, with a view of a small courtyard and other dwellings. Excellent air con. Fairly sparsely furnished, with plenty of room, well laid out, with a modern ensuite bathroom containing w.c., large washbasin with plenty of surround and separate shower cubicle with excellent detachable shower (v good pressure). Amenities were small soap bars and shampoo. A good hairdryer is provided. Wall mounted large flat screen TV. Very quiet all round with good blackout curtain. Openable window. We had asked for a double, and got a twin, but no matter - we pushed the beds together easily. Beds firm but comfortable with plenty of pillows. Room was immaculately clean, a reasonable size and for one night we had a very nice stay - quiet, and great room temperature. The hotel is in the centre of town, with everything accessible easily. Cannot comment on car parking, as we biked it in from the local airport, but did see an underground car park for the hotel down a nearby side street. We left our bikes securely padlocked outside the hotel, right in the Main Street, and they were still there the next day! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 516 was very quiet, a good size (including good sized bathroom) facing inwards (I.e. not road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Fox

Property: Hotel Red Fox
Address: Angle rue Saint - Jean et rue de Metz, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Red Fox 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Red Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel
Red Fox Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing