We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, nice place, lovely area” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Poor service, nice place, lovely area”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We - a Danish family of 4 with 2 teenage girls - have stayed at Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale 3 times in the past 2 years. Le Touquet is a very nice town, and it is a a great starting point for visits to WW1 Memorials, we have also made 1-day trips to Paris as well as to the UK. (From nearby Calais you can easily take the ferry to Dover or the Euroshuttle to Folkestone.)
The residence is situated close to the town centre and the beach in a nice, green and quiet area with little traffic. It has a pool, heated, a garden and a tennis court, and bikes to let. We have only used the pool, which is okay for children/teenagers, but too small for grown-ups who want to swim properly.
The apartments are standard P&V apartments - we have stayed at other P&V residences. The 1-bedroom apartment (4-5 persons) in which we stayed in October was partly renovated, the bedroom (3 beds) was fine, whereas the sofabed in the livingroom was awful. The common areas outside the apartments are tired and in need of renovation.
The service, however, is extremely poor. We bought internet access for the whole family for a week, and it was completely useless. No service provided by the reception at all. We have also tried to order breakfast, but as we were 2 minutes late, they refused to take our order. We have not yet met a member of the staff who could speak more than rudimentary English, and their response to enquiries or complaints is rude in a manner we have never experienced before.
If we go back, it is because we really like the town and the area - and because the price and the overall quality of the apartments/the residence are good value for money when you come out of season.
But for now we will not be back - due to the poor service and rude manners of the staff in the reception.

Room Tip: Choose the big apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank eva_marie_moeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    204
    122
    86
    40
See reviews for
363
91
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been here before so knew what to expect in terms of the appartments - Butlinesque but reasonable. What did leave us shocked was the attitude to customer service - totally non existent! We paid for high speed wifi - only to be told when it only worked intermittently that they outsourced it, it was not their problem and that their providers didn't work at the weekends so we would have to wait til Monday to sort out the problem. When we complained that the shower was broken, the light needed replacing, the heater didn't work and the TV was dodgy we were again told that there was nothing that could be done about any of these problems over a weekend and a man might, just might, get to us on Monday - but no promises!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie4pawedmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

When we arrived we found the door locked and a sign saying reception closed between 12 and 2, although strange we went off to the beach and returned about 3. The receptionist spoke good English and seemed at first to be very helpful, how wrong first impressions can be!!! When hiring a bike she spoke to us like fools, when asked to call a taxi for us, we were told its not her job, but worst was when we ran out of loo paper and with a shrug of her rather large shoulders i was told "we do not supply", so i asked politely to buy a roll, "does this look like a shop" was the reply. I was forced to steal a roll from the public toilet in said reception.
The room was well appointed and comfortable with well equipped kitchen, the sofa bed was comfy but the beds were hard. There is no shop near by so for goodness sake if you do decide to book in, don't forget the loo roll!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tellgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 1 week in Sept '12 here, 2 very young children, 2 adults.
Le Touquet - the town
Our first visit here and a pleasant surprise with many nooks and crannies to explore (taking/renting a bike is recommended as it is very flat and lightly trafficed). Plenty of nice food shops to get provisions in from plus a larger supermarket (Carrefour) for bulk purchases -beer/water etc. The beach is great for sandcastles and there are plenty of playgrounds.

The accommodation
Generally good especially compared to the Greek style of self-catering. The cooking facility is more of a kitchenette than a proper kitchen (no oven) and on the small side.

The whole complex appears to be neglected in terms of maintenance, flaking paint, cold pool, signage for facilites that don't exist (bar etc) but the general ambience was pleasant. It is a short bike ride into town and ones' bikes can safely be left outside the complex.

Room Tip: Some of the advertised sleeping facilities are fold-out beds in the lounge, so for a larger party it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have visited this residence many times over the last 6 or 7 years. If you are expecting a luxury hotel you will be disappointed, but think Travelodge/Premier Inn without daily hotel services you will not be far out. We always book the largest apartment, which gives us a comfortable double bed, a separate living area, bathroom, separate loo/shower room and facilities to do simple cooking. The apartments are always clean, although sometimes they show wear and tear. This time we noticed that the damaged worktop and feeble shower had been repaired since our last visit to that apartment. The reception staff are always helpful, opening hours are clearly displayed, as is a number to contact outside hours.
The residence is well located for walks down the estuary to the yacht club (coffee and wine available in the club house!), along the beach and into town. You then have plenty of room to relax after expending such energy!
A big downside is that since the TVs went digital and analogue has been switched off in the UK you can no longer get BBC channels, and there are no none-French channels. I hope the management can do something about this!

Room Tip: We always go for the largest apartments. The ground floor flats give easy access outside - good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redgraverose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

After 3 days without hot water, we moved room. Were they very apologetic? No. Did they offer to help move our bags? No. Did they offer us partial refund? No (discount next time we stay, that won't happen). Did they clean new room for us? YES! Did they make up beds in new room for us? NO!!

Tired hotel but room layout okay and showers even though said only bath. Small kitchenette okay for small meals, no oven. Beds very hard, quite uncomfortable. Nice location, about 15 minute walk to town centre, beach.

Small pool but told no inflatables, no woggles, no balls, no rubber rings. Tennis court but 10 euros per hour. No free WiFi, 10 euros for week for single user. Small toddler play area.

Reception manned for limited hours and no out of hours information so if you have a problem after 7 pm, tough.

Le Touquet great if weather is good but not much to do if wet. Food so far mediocre, no French flair or culinary skill evident yet, perhaps we haven't found the right place yet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambridgedave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
339 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The bad news is the carpets smelt like urine (dog?) and were grubby, the kitchen units were badly cracked and there were dirty marks on scuffs on many walls. The good news was it was roomy, and the beds were clean and comfortable.The reception, pool area, corridors are fine and staff were polite.
It you are none too fussed by decor it is okay for a relatively cheap Le Touquet stop. But in the end it just isnt good enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpanishTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Hippotel
Hotel Residence Hippotel
#11 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Address: Boulevard de la Canche, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading seaside resort on the Côte d’Opale, residence on the edge of a woodWith heated indoor pool, tennis court, playground and cycle hire. Free activities for 6-12 year-olds in April, July and August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins De La Cote d`Opale Hotel Le Touquet
Pierre And Vacances Residence Les Jardins De La Cote d`Opale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing