We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Canailles

Les Canailles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Where to have our lunch was the question? Having checked out a few likely candidates in advance we settled on Les Canailles. Midweek lunch. Warm friendly welcome. Charming place. Small and full of character. Limited luncheon menu but enough for us. 2 starters, mains and desserts. Quality food, great service & reasonable prices.133 Euros. 4 of us. 2 course each and included 2 bottles of wine plus coffees. Would definately go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    12
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

On the site formerly occupied by Djuke's, this small and recently established (8 months) restaurant ticks all the boxes. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the food is simple, with the menu changing every day, reasonably priced and of superb quality. My pork fermier was simply superb, and when I asked the lady chef how long it had been cooking she told me 5 hours. Run by a couple on their own, they also offer a wide choice of (mainly organic, I believe) wines, which can also be bought to take away. Nothing is too much trouble for them, my portion of goose terrine was so generous I couldnt finish it, so it was whisked away and packed for me to take home. The wine list is extensive and very reasonably priced, and it is also possible to buy wine by the glass (which you get to taste beforehand, just like a bottle). Every night we were there it was fully booked, so it pays to pre-book to avoid disappointment. We'll be back on our next trip! A refreshing change and good luck to them both.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caroleyoung404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss this little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had the chance to eat twice in this restaurant this week end. The tenants were both amongst the nicest people I've met during my trip and I felt like eating at a friend's rather than a restaurant.

In terms of food, it's simple, yet efficient: a few dishes of the day, all with high quality ingredients. If Baptiste made his Terrine du Patron, just go for it, it's delicious.

The atmosphere was great, the wine delicious and we for sure will come back as soon as possible.

Les Canailles may not be the most famous restaurant yet, but it's truly amazing what people over there did in 6 months since their opening. There's no doubt it will be the place to go in Le Touquet in a few years, so you might want to try it now before everyone else ;)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleadae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would travel across the channel more regularly just to eat here if I could!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This place is amazing! The service is friendly and welcoming. Then there is the food! Fresh and tasty and great quality. I never realised something as simple as tomatoes could taste so good. The gentleman and his fiancée are a great team. We mentioned we got married 2 days before eating here and they treated us to a glass of Champagne, which was very kind. Then the price, we left a big tip as in our option this place is underpriced! Expect to pay at least 3 times this much in England! And if you want a equivalent quality of meal expect to pay at least 5 times this!
Will definatly return and best of luck for the wedding in January.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laurs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“better than "average" but not quite "very good" as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

positive : nice wines , incredible friendly service , fresh produce , small but interesting choice of dishes on the chalkboard .
negative : ratio price/quality (le paris is definitely way better ...) not the best , the quality of the dishes is not always tiptop although there's clearly passion involoved , service is friendly but not always as professional .
Conclusion : give this one a chance . If they can mature it will certainly be an enrichment for Le Touquet !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewald1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Canailles also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Les Canailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing