We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cote Mer Hotel and Le Touquet”
Review of Cote Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cote Mer Hotel and Le Touquet”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Cote Mer in Le Touquet. The hotel is excellent value for money and in an excellent location too. It's a one minute walk to the shops and we could see the sea from our balcony ... only a 5 min walk to the seafront. It's positioned on a quiet street, and there was parking directly outside which was free due to it being April (I believe you need to pay during the weekends and summer months).

The hotel rooms were decorated very nicely - we had 2 rooms - a double with balcony on the front and a twin on the back. Both were perfect for a short stay... comfy beds, ensuite, and the added balcony was great. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so do take a travel kettle if you want them - the hotel were fine with this although there is a sign in the room to say no food/drink from outside in the bedroom. The hotel was very clean, tv with many channels in each room, and ensuite was fine - although our shower was slightly impractical as it wouldn't angle down so you had to hold the attachment to shower ... and as there was no shelf to put shower gel it was very entertaining!

We had breakfast each morning as well ... initially we had thought that it was fairly expensive so wasn't going to bother but when we say the price of everything else in Le Touquet it was worth doing! It was cereals, fresh fruit, lovely choice of breads, jams and croissants, some cold meats/cheeses ... plenty to fill up for the day.

As for Le Touquet - I have to say I wasn't a I'd imagined .... quite a few of the shops were closed, the only 'things to do' were the Aqualad (waterpark) and crazy golf, both of which were closed, and an average 2 course meal with soft drink for four was over 100 Euros .. it's not cheap! We also explored the area a little ... the next two beach resorts and Montreuil all of which were closed! Not sure if its holiday season for the French but we ended up in some ghost towns and hadn't imagined that the week after Easter!

Overall though, if you are visiting Le Touquet, we can highly recommend Cote Mer for great value, lovely service and a fantastic central location.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms were well worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Côté mer lives up to its reputation here on Trip Advisor. Refurbished, comfortable beds, good breakfast (coffee could be improved) and decent dinner provided by owner, who likes to talk with guests (in French, at any rate). Triple room on ground floor is beautiful, very big with a big bathroom. We didn't stay in that room (only left baggage there momentarily), so I can't say if it's quiet. Excellent heating throughout. Right next to downtown but quiet.

Some additional info that has nothing to do with the hotel: we took a cab from the train station (which is too far to walk from) and it cost 20 euros each way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had a lovely comfortable stay at the Cote Mer, it was perfect for the time we were in Le Touquet. The staff were friendly, was able to come back late at night after dinner with the door still open. The only down side was the shower in the bathroom it was a little short and not mych pressure

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is an elegant old town house a few minutes walk from the sea and the town centre. A friendly welcome on arrival from the manager with a droll sense of humour. We stayed here for one night and found the room to be clean and quiet with a comfortable bed and good shower. Most of the parking spaces around the hotel were taken but we managed to find a free on-street parking space a few streets away. The breakfast was a simple buffet of of fresh breads and rolls, cheeses etc. Overall good value in otherwise expensive Le Touquet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

What a find this hotel was! The hotel is located just a few hundred metres from the sea (you can just about see it from the rooms with the balcony). it's nicely located in town in a quiet street but just one block away from the main shopping streets. Plenty of onstreet parking available and the hotel sells vouchers for a very decent price ( we paid 7 euro per day).

The room was -for french standards- pleasantly sized: not big, but larger than i expected after some stays in miniature rooms in Paris. Bed and bathroom both very comfortable.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They serve a simple but tasty breakfast.

All in all i think this is an excellent hotel when you combine price, service, food, rooms and location!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank doortje_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a one night stay here - booked mainly on the strength of good TripAdvisor reviews. Room was adequate in size, very clean and nicely decorated. Location is great - a couple of minutes walk from the main bar and restaurant area, but far enough away to have a peaceful night's sleep. We booked online via the hotel website and can't fault the process. Wifi is free in the hotel and easy to access. Cote Mer doesn't have it's own parking but street parking is always available. It's free until 9 a.m. Breakfast was well worth the extra euros - lovely breads (some home-made), ham, cheese, jams, etc. Owner /manager very helpful and friendly, and his English was definitely better than our French! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I didn't make it known to the hotel, but I work in the travel industry and know a lot about hotels, their workings and how they should be run. My professional opinion after my stay:

Hotel is in a good location, centre of town is two blocks away but the hotel is in a peaceful location. Off-street parking plentuiful (free at certain times of the year). The owner is genuinely friendly, helpful and attentive. As I travelled with my wife, 2 young children and mother-in-law I sent a special request to the hotel which was granted. Rooms are small but very nicely decorated and well presented. Professionally I can see why the hotel is 2* but do NOT let this put you off. I would consider this to be a small, friendly boutique hotel.

On a personal level, I have been to Le Touquet many times and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scrumpy3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#9 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Itsara Suites & Spa
Itsara Suites & Spa
#6 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Mer

Property: Cote Mer
Address: 56 B rue Leon Garet, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cote Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing