We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Annual visit never miss” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
266 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Annual visit never miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Perfect French restaurant great value menus and if you stick to good quality carafes of wine it's even better. One of the most endearing features is being ticked off for over tipping when we tried to add 10 percent. Only half taken. We go as a small group every year in July and look forward to going again we do enjoy food and wine. This is a family restaurant who go out of their way to help us understand what we nearly understand

Helpful?
Thank Bugsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    114
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We ended up at the restaurant by default having been booked into the wrong restaurant by our hotel. We wanted to go to Le Paris, but the Hotel booked us into Le Paris Plage which caused a number of problems as it was like comparing fine cuisine and wines to an evening in Wetherspoons.

Thankfully the owner at Le Paris was understanding and helpful (despite being fully booked) and advised us to go to Cafe des Arts as it was one of the better eating establishments.

First impressions were a little mixed and it felt like I had walked into a shop selling soft toys but I have to admit the food was outstanding and the service very good. Both my wife and I went for the lamb curry which was beautiful.

Whilst I would have preferred to have dined in Le Paris, this was a suitable alternative.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattnchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON,ENGLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NICE FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I ate here with my two brothers and 10 year old nephew on Saturday last. We've eaten here many times before and the food, as ever, was excellent. My nephew, Joe, paricularly liked his main course of " steak balls" which we actually revealed to him were escargots after he'd devoured the lot. As well as beautifully cooked and presented food, the restaurant has very smart but relaxed atmosphere and friendly, attentive staff.At the end, the bill for five courses (including amuse bouches and cheese) and three bottles of wine came in at what we thought was a very reasonable 230 euros for the four of us. It would have been even cheaper if Joe hadn't insisted on downing two bottles of Sancerre on his own, but maybe he needed to wash away the taste of the snails. (Not really).All in all, a great evening was had by everyone and I'd thoroughly recommend it

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CURRYLOVER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Arrived shivering at 11.50 but warmly welcomed ,and delighted that freebie starter was piping hot doll-size bowl of delicious carrot soup with grated parmesan on top. Warm theme continued with fresh hot bread rolls, my starter of snails with gnocchi was really hot in a hot dish, and our mains of haddock on lentils also properly hot. N's local herring terrine was a bit salty (that being the nature of the local cured herring used), and we are not mad about puy lentils still on the firm side which came with our haddock, but the coconut sauce was beautiful with the fish. Tarte tatin (husband) & rice pud with marron mousse (self) completed a lovely meal for 24 euros, value in this pricey town. Wine list not aggressively priced. Good coffee & petits fours. Liked the relaxed ambience, proper cloths and napkins; chairs a bit "cafe". Did not ask history of teddy bear theme/collection. Parking on plage reasonably near.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid French cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Slightly quirky and not the most inviting from the outside, but a classic mid-priced restaurant. Good value for money and appeared to be almost exclusively full of French speaking people - which is surely a good sign,

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing