We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Bleu Blanc Mer - CLOSED

Bleu Blanc Mer
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
rustington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Once we were sat down we were handed menus then ignored and had to get there attention so we could get a drink. The staff did not talk any english which did make it hard but ok we are in France. The menu is all in French so not easy to work out but we were lucky as one of our 6 spoke french. so after we had all chosen the next bit was to get someone to take order. We all ordered different things and all starters came out at different times. the first two had fish soup which was bland and no fish in it at all. Then the fish pate arrived again bland and very odd. The Haddock arrived and this was good. Then the last was 2 calamari in batter, the batter was soggy and full of fat eat about 3 of them before feeling sick. We then complained and asked for bill again they did not seem bothered we paid in the end for drinks and haddock and left. The staff seemed young and not trained. Not a good time

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marktiger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    52
    14
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice restaurant with good food at a reasonable price. Decent choice of menu options but it would be a whole lot better if they offered something other the "frites"!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gerryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch in Le Touquet”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Came here as a special treat for my Mother in Law - Day trip to France with lunch in Le Touquet - which is a lovely location and not too far from the channel tunnel. We had visited this restuarant a number of years ago and loved it. Sadly this time the service was dreadful, we waited over 45 minutes for a starter of terrine and fish soup, thankfully the two ladies that were working in the restaurant were far more helpful than the surly waiter we were allocated. Then we had a further wait on nearly 30 minutes for the main course, fish and duck neither of which take long to cook - after twice asking where were our main courses the ladies came to the rescue and from the scurry of activiity and my understanding of french he had forgotten the order - no apology from our waiter - again the ladies came to the rescue - really disappointed - food average - service dire. If you are going to give it a try make sure you avoid sitting at the table near the window by the door and if the waiter with facial hair approaches you leave or make sure you know the french phrases for - where are our starters, where are our mains courses, please don't slam down the cutlery on the table and launch the plates across the table whilst shouting what is on them. The only saving grace was the two ladies working there who at least tried to make us feel welcome and resolve the mistakes

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firsttimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“another place I've been going to for many years”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

and I'd say it is much the same. Same deco, same sort of quality food, equally good service and after 10 years very similar choice of grub. I say grub as it is not fine dining as some places in Le2K but don't let that put anyone off as it is a charming experience.

Their beef and carrots is great as is their duck.

It is surprisingly large so you may find this a handy place when all else is full, closed or too fancy for your taste buds.

One thing, they did a fantastic hazel nut pie, the 'Squirrel' but alas seem never to have it any longer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“initially a biy surly but staff warmed quickly”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

great food, not bad price, decor was lovely menu nice and varied - esp as i dont eat fish

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank modwolf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleu Blanc Mer also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing