We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dining disappointment”
Review of Dolce Chantilly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Chantilly
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chantilly
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Dolce Chantilly has a lot going for it - lovely situation, beautiful hotel equipped with pretty much everything you could want including free wifi everywhere. My room was perfect except for the bathroom shower head which wasn't working properly.
I only stayed one night but attended a dinner organised by the business people I was meeting. The dinner was at the hotel's Le Sulky restaurant and I have to say that it was a most disappointing experience. The kitchen was obviously in turmoil as the meals were of poor quality, mostly overcooked and there was an hour between serving the first courses and the mains. Also, a pre-ordered vegetarian main course arrived 30 minutes after everybody else's main courses. The problems in the kitchen affected the waitstaff who couldn't be bothered to top up drinks and had a couldn't care less attitude when asked for service. The same attitude extended to the dining room supervisor who simply did not want to know about the problem.
Breakfast the next morning was good so perhaps the dining room disaster the night before may have been a once off aberration. I hope so.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 2,425 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is better than average, but the rooms are small. Breakfast is excellent, but if you happen to be staying when a conference is happening you might have the same experience as we had at dinner. We ate there on two of the evenings we stayed, and on the first night, we had really good food, but shameful service. None of the waiting staff cared - the first glass of water arrived an hour after we had sat down, the red wine we ordered came freezing cold, and I had to go myself to get spoons for those of us who were having soup. One of our friends complained to the manager the next day, and to be fair service on the second night did improve - but none of the waiting staff were the same, so we wondered whether it's to do with the business function going on the night before.

Room Tip: We had a standard room so we expected it to be small. Our friends travelled with two kids so they bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDoubleU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I suspect that if looking for a conference hotel and you get a good price, this hotel would be a good option. But for couples or families, there are a lot of better choices.

We stayed in a superior room overlooking the golf course, which whilst a bit on the small side was fine. Everything you would expect in a four star hotel, clean and well presented. The front desk service was polite and efficient, although they made some serious mistakes over the bill and took a long time to resolve the problem.

The biggest disappointment was the restaurant. Whilst the Michalin star is probably amazing, on the two occassion we used the other restaurant the food was cold. On the Sunday morning there was a 25 min wait to get a table for breakfast!

If looking for a golf break, whilst enjoyed playing the course, there are a lot of better hotels and deals.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Victa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is fabulous, great service and the restaurant was fantastic
The rooms overlooking the gardens are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smcwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed on a four night break in a superior room which I had difficulty believing except for the view over the golf course. The rooms are minimalist and grey in decor so extremely functional no cosiness but what you would expect from 'corporate type hotel'. However everything worked and it was comfortable in its way but glad we were not there for longer in that respect. Free Wi Fi worked perfectly in our room which was fantastic. All the staff were extremely well trained and spoke extremely good English so no problems there. Even the cleaning staff spoke broken English. As I said this is a corporate type hotel so lends itself to that with multiple conference rooms and function rooms plus private dining rooms. They had 3 weddings in the time we were there but that was not a problem in any way because the hotel is so big. We played golf and liked the course though preferred Apremont Golf Course which was on another level for almost the same money so would say play there in preference. All in all ok but possibly not for a long break as you could get more of the flavour of France staying in a small Auberge etc. Just to add very easy by train into Paris Gare du Nord so that was a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course as lots of rooms must overlook the front of the hotel whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneyes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is certainly very grand, the drive up to it is lovely. The huge grounds are a big bonus, lovely to jog along the various tracks and pass the stables to take in the beautiful scenery.

The rooms were nice, what you would expect for what is primarily a business hotel, all the fundamentals were good. They have lots of large and small rooms for conferences and it's very useful for breakout rooms also.

There were major problems with wifi all throughout the week of our conference, and a colleague that was there at a conference previously and said they had similar problems - the wifi was not actually usable and it's unforgiveable that it was in this state for so long. This meant over a hundred people who need to be checking email regularly could not do so. That is a deal breaker for a business conference.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhPinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear OhPinchy,

I would like to thank you very much for all you positive comments about the Dolce Chantilly and its facilities.

I have well noted the problem about the Wifi and I am pleased to inform you that all our equipment will be modified in the next few days in order to receive optic fiber. This will give a very better debit.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future and that you will be in the first guest able to test our New WiFi.

Regards


Sébastien Bernard
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I may have traveled to this location for business - it does have a terrific conference center for small groups - but once the event was over, I had an opportunity to get out and walk to the Castle and park grounds. All I need to say is that the picturesque community met my expectations for an old world French town. Then I had dinner at the on site restaurant Carmontelle, which provided a wonderful and absolutely sumptuous dinner. If you are heading this way, bone up on your French, at least enough to get by at check-in and in the restaurant - I did allude to the quintessential truly French nature of the property, after all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesliesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantilly
1 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 7 in Chantilly
806 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Du Parc
3.4 mi away
Chateau de Montvillargenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Chantilly
Hotel Le Chantilly
#3 of 7 in Chantilly
19 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal Chantilly
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal C...
#1 of 1 in La Chapelle-en-Serval
1,095 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Chateau de la Tour
Le Chateau de la Tour
#1 of 2 in Gouvieux
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Chantilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Chantilly

Address: Route d'Apremont-Vineuil St Firmin, 60500 Chantilly, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Chantilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chantilly
Price Range: $129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Chantilly 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Chantilly forest, just 40 minutes from Paris and only 25 minutes from the Charles de Gaulle International Airport, the Dolce Chantilly provides an idyllic environment for rest, relaxation and productivity. Dolce Chantilly offers a fitness centre with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, hammam, tennis court, an 18-hole golf course, and jogging trails. Reward your palate at our restaurants including the Donatello, the bistronomical restaurant, or explore the Chantilly castle and the medieval town of Senlis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolce Chantilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Dolce Hotel Chantilly
Dolce Resort Chantilly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing