We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Patria

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scandic Patria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lappeenranta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
anywhere
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Close to everything important: fort, museums, downtown, ferries. Is about a ten minute walk to the fort and the museums there. The rooms were clean, service was good, but quite pricey for the room. Parking was extra - but there is free parking available, it was just hard to reach because of the construction happening there at the time. Would stay here again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    173
    31
    11
    1
See reviews for
107
128
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, MS
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, but it was not a good value - quite expensive, even for Finnish prices, in my opinion. Room was nice, great location (walk to bus, walk to ferry, walk to eat), next to City Center. They are doing construction on the street out front, but it isn't bad and the noise was not a problem. Fantastic buffet breakfast, like all Finnish hotels - wonderful food. Stayed here twice a few days apart, before and after our Saima cruise to St. Petersburg - nice side trip. Free WiFi, helpful staff (details about bus, etc.), let us check out late so we could enjoy Lappeenranta, which is a very pretty town with a nice harbor with fortress overlooking it - hike up there!!

Room Tip: back side away from street during construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MISProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Functional Nordic hotel with a good breakfast and clean rooms. Free wifi and an excellent location for restaurants or walking to the old fortress or shopping. Nothing much more to say really!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find, free parking. Our room was apparently a "superior" room but felt very standard compared to other Finnish hotels although the balcony was nice to have. Everything was clean and in good order. Breakfast was good rather than excellent. The staff whilst not unfriendly were rather lacking in customer care! The hotel is in a great spot, less than 5 mins walk to the harbour with sightseeing vessels and the amazing sandcastle display. Linnoitus is also only a short stroll away. We'd stay here again but wouldn't go out of our way to do so.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed one night in Patria from Sun 17 to Mon 18 June. Last time stayed in this hotel was more than 2 years ago and the hotel had been totally renovated since then.

The hotel is clean and ok renovated. Personnel ok, especially in the breakfast on Monday morning.

As we had drived for more than 3 hours we would have wanted to have dinner at the hotel restaurant BUT the restaurant was closed on Sunday. The weather was not good, it was raining but we had to walk to another restaurant nearby. It was a disappointment that the restaurant was closed on Sundays but perhaps it does not have enough persons so that it would be competitive to be open. We did not want to eat some snack only, we had to eat properly.

Breakfast was varied and good, nothing to complaine (but not any luxury which you do not even think you get in a place like this).

Seemed to be off-season , not many persons staying in the hotel at the same time.

Situation is fine in the middled of everything in Lappeenranta.

Overall, a good place to stay for a short time in a small Finnish city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a basic hotel, but a good one. Our room (superior) was spacious, it had wooden floor, big tv and all the basic equipments I expect from a bit pricy hotel.

Breakfast is great with really good bacon. Sauna area was nice, they had different times for men and women. Gym had new and sufficent equipments.

Because they were fully booked for the weekend I also stayed in nother main hotel of Lappeenranta, hotel Lappee. I have to say Patria was better in every aspect, exept that hotel Lappee had a pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed in Patria for 1 night in Feb 2012 for business with many colleagues. The hotel is centrally located very near the harbour and shopping facilities, restaurants and bars. Overall this hotel is average compared to international hotel standards. In local scale this hotel is good, and one of the two main choises in Lappeenranta. Room was clean, not very big but ok for solo traveler. Some lorry noise did carry in from the near by bigger road, so please remember to ask for quiet room if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was standard with expected normal quality.Hotel bar did close a bit too early leaving many customers standing to very small bar next to reception and main entrance. That was a bit weird behaviour and was not really according good service standards and attitude. This was maybe the main single reason for overall "average" rating in my review.

Room Tip: Avoid noise from the near by road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jouni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lappeenranta
0.0 mi away
Lappeenranta Spa
Lappeenranta Spa
#4 of 6 in Lappeenranta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Lappee
Original Sokos Hotel Lappee
#3 of 6 in Lappeenranta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cumulus Lappeenranta
Cumulus Lappeenranta
#5 of 6 in Lappeenranta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Club Saimaa
Holiday Club Saimaa
#1 of 1 in Rauha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rantasipi Valtionhotelli
0.0 mi away
Imatran Kylpyla Spa
Imatran Kylpyla Spa
#1 of 4 in Imatra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Patria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Patria

Property: Scandic Patria
Address: Kauppakatu 21, Lappeenranta 53100, Finland
Location: Finland > South Karelia > Lappeenranta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lappeenranta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Patria 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Patria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing