We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped and situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well equipped and situated”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed in Fredrikshavn the night before we sailed to Oslo with two children (6 and 9). I booked the place after orienting me on the other poss. in F'Havn. for the price (DK 845), the location, the quality of the e-mail response geared to our wishes. The hotel was easy to find, ample parking at the back, smooth receptionist, newly furbished rooms, small, due to the roof floor we were in, but the double bed and the extra bed fitted in easily. Walking distance to restaurants and a pleasant, travellers atmosphere. Simple but good breakfastbuffet and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    30
    14
    5
See reviews for
23
59
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Great newly renovated hotel. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast included fresh quality items. We were very pleased with this hotel and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Liked — Newly renovated rooms, frienly service.
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to comment on.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SBKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Small newely renovated rooms. Bath room was very small with a sliding door but no ventilation (smell from bathroom entered the bedroom). Tastfully renovated, lovely rooms, but very small. Nice bed.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN, US
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed at the Herman Bang Hotel for one night before taking the ferry to Sweden in mid-June. The room itself was small but very, very nice. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the flat screen TV made the room seem a little more spacious. The bathroom was very tiny but very stylish. The front desk person was not particularly helpful. I wanted some information about the spa (whose doors were locked at the time) and she told me to "just go over there and ask them". The breakfast was delicious with a huge selection of breads, cereals, meats, cheese and other items. We weren't aware that almost everything closes down at 2pm on Saturday afternoon so there wasn't much to do in town especially with rainy weather.

  • Liked — Stylish room
  • Disliked — front desk clerk
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

I stayed at the Hotel Herman Bang as part of a group doing a soccer tour. We had booked the whole top floor which is usually a hostel. The rooms were very basic but expected for the price. The rest of the hotel rooms were being renovated and those rooms were very nice. Very spacious and clean and it was significantly better than our rooms. The staff were very courteous, helpful and very friendly. They did a fantastic job the whole week we were there. Breakfast was good and the American style restaurant connected to the hotel was awesome. The food portions were large and was great value for the cost. We would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staledave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 16 in Frederikshavn
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#1 of 4 in Skagen
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 16 in Frederikshavn
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Danhostel Frederikshavn City
Danhostel Frederikshavn City
#8 of 16 in Frederikshavn
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Herman Bang

Property: Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Herman Bang 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Herman Bang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang Frederikshavn, Jutland, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing