We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant San Carlos
Ranked #92 of 117 Restaurants in Frederikshavn
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
450 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went for a quick dinner while waiting for the ferry to Göteborg. The restaurant was fairly empty, the menu was very large (which usually makes me suspicious), but the Mexican food we chose was really good.
Service was friendly, no complaints there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    5
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Don't drink water with your meal at this restaurant. The tap water cost just as much as the meal.
Rare to find this kind of ripoff in Scandinavia.
Recommend McDonalds instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mats8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Słupsk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good service, simply food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Good service, food - not complicated and simple. Good prices when You buy a set menus proposed by staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jarek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“So so, average food but hoorible service and sideorders”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This place is the ultimate proof that the taste of the food served doesnt help you far. Already when we placed our order we felt like the waiter hated us. Literally hated us and wanted us dead. Nice feeling, ey? During the meal he sighted loudly at us, hushed at our children and it didnt matter how hard we tried, we couldnt charm him. (Why did we bother? I honestly dont know!) And, just to clearify things, our children wasnt even in their worst of moods, they were a bit loud as happy children are, but they were not screaming nor crying, they were sitting in their seats, not running around... They could have been a thousand times worse. If you hate children that much, why advertise outside with a huge childrens menu?

We ordered the special three courses. The nachos came straight from the microwave and before that, straight from a prebrought bag and the salsa from prebrought can.
The main course and the childrens dishes were above average, however nothing special, no surprises in either a good or a bad way. The coffee was like potion and they didnt even have real milk, but served one of those tiny little containers of fakemilk that you usually only see on airplanes these days.
It felt like we were caretakers that they HAD to serve and hated their job, not like we were actual customers paying to be there.

Come here if you are cheap and hungry as a wolf for standard food without surprises and only if you come with a quiet company. If you are not, go to one of the other restaurants in the area!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply terrible food and service - amatours playing resturant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The outside area of the resturant had not too many guests. Terrible service from the waiter, could hardly speak English nor Danish.

The menu was simply too big (italian & mexican !?) and we ordered todays recommendations in the hope of getting something fresh from the kitchen.

After 45 minutes we did not even get any drinks we ordered, and after one hour we had to ask for the starter and still it took some tremendous time. time.

The food was industry made and with no good flavours.

Never again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank accidental_tourist_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant San Carlos also viewed

Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 

Been to Restaurant San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing