We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tidy hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comwell Sonderborg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comwell Sonderborg
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Soenderborg
Vancouver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice tidy hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Travelled to Sonderborg for business in late May. I had stayed here about 10 years ago so I was interested to see how it held up. Arrived and check in was fast and courteous. Was given my room on the first floor which I thought was the floor that we were on at check in but it's actually two flights of stairs down. There's also an elevator you can use but I only had my laptop knapsack and carry on so I just walked the stairs. To my delight my room had a partial view of the water and the beach in front of the hotel.

It was unseasonably warm at the time so there were lots of people enjoying the beach and the small pier/dock. It was definitely a great time to be in Sonderborg.

The overall property and the rooms are all very tidy. No worries about cleanliness here. My room was relatively basic but a good size and I found the bed to be firm but comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with only a walk in shower which is fine for me. One thing to note is that Denmark in general seems to like body wash/shampoo as opposed to bar soap and individual shampoo. Just a note as I don't like using bodywash and was able to get some bar soap. Not a big deal just a note.

The accommodation also came with a continental breakfast in the morning which was good. Lots of different things to eat. I realized I used to love hard boiled eggs again since they provided them. Overall a very good continental style breakfast.

There is also a big outdoor patio off the dining room you can have drinks at. It is essentially above the area where my room was located overlooking the water/beach. Since the weather was so good we would have a nightcap there each night. And, at this time of year the sky is light until almost 10pm.

The WiFi was free or included but it did go out on our last day before we left. I think one of their handymen had an "accident" and it took out the router. We saw the repair tech come the next day so I'm sure it was resolved.

The hotel is within walking distance of quite a few restaurants. We went to an Italian place our first night and it was very good.

Overall a nice stay at the Comwell and I'm sure I'll be back.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the lower rooms facing the beach it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warmhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Guest Relations Manager at Comwell Sonderborg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking you time to make a review of Comwell Sønderborg. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you would revisit us.

Best regards

Anne Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    61
    22
    8
See reviews for
16
70
3
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Overlooking the sound and harbour and near the town centre the hotel has a great position, if it is not the prettiest building in town! Service & breakfast all good, I had the luxury of a suite with excellent views, recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Guest Relations Manager at Comwell Sonderborg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
We hope to see you again at Comwell Sønderborg.

Best regards

Anne Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Quiet location on the ocean with almost no traffic. Excellent views from the rooms. Close to downtown Sønderborg.

Good size room with austere furnishings and no frills - it was clean. Comfy bed with down comforters (very warm) and a very soft pillow. Narrow work desk with a single electrical outlet and a hard plastic chair. Only a couple of electrical outlets in the room and they are in unexpected places. Bathrooms have wall mounted soap dispensers. Towels of medium quality. The shower is of the water-saving kind, i.e. fairly low water pressure. Rooms have no air conditioning. WiFi requires a password from the front desk. The speed was OK, about 4 Mbps.

Breakfast was a good selection of bulk cereals, bulk yogurt, variety of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, jams, herring (it is Denmark after all), and some small assortment of fruit. Scrambled eggs were available in single serving cups. The breakfast space is well maintained and was diligently cleaned up as people left.

The very expensive bar is modern looking and was actually out of two of the three kinds of draft beer.

The pool is smallish but seems clean and well chlorinated.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DX-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Guest Relations Manager at Comwell Sonderborg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to welcome you another time and hopefully, we will be able to offer you our full variety of draft beer.

Best regards

Anne Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The view of the Baltic Sea was just beautiful. The room was situated to be very private however, during my stay they were renovating the exterior. One day, I had a stomach virus and had to stay in all day. I had to keep my curtains closed the entire day because there was a male worker (I am female) directly outside my window. It was very disturbing to have my privacy so greatly invaded as well as have to listen to electric tools. The shower also needed a sever scrubbing. Also, the employees at the front desk lacked friendliness.

The hotel is however located within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the waterfront.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Direktør at Comwell Sonderborg, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry for the inconvenience our renovation has caused you. We were changing the windows on the floor which you were staying. Regarding the comments on the front desk employees, I will take care of it.

Best regards

Helle Miang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I states 3 nights, paid around 860 kr. per night.
This hotel is nowhere near the 4* it claims to be. More likely a 2* by European standarts.

Staff was OK, though some of them very sour-faced.
The hotel itself looks run-down. No soap in the shower. Mold in shower. Unsanitary conditions. Carpets stained. No fridge nor kettle for tea making. And trust me, in the wet and windy danish winter a cup of tea is a must.
Breakfast was frugal.

If you can choose, I advice to try another place, maybe a family run B&B instead

Room Tip: Ask for top floor with sea or castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Gæsteansvarlig at Comwell Sonderborg, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mike P

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at Comwell Sønderborg. We have started renovating the bathrooms this week as it has been a recurring problem.
It is very important for us that our guests are enjoying their stay and feels free to contact the reception if they have any problems. Please help us to look further in to this matter and contact the hotel at hotel.sonderborg@comwell.dk with information of your stay (name and date).

Best regards
Anne Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soenderborg hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I came back to this hotel after two years to appreciate its quiet position near the see again. Its location close to the the small port, the centre of town and University is very convenient. But I observed that it need restyling. Particularly the bathroom was not so clean and the furniture
in the room a bit worn out. Ample common spaces and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Select a room facing sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

-----Original Message-----






We stayed at the hotel the night of September 5,2013.

The reduced rate (low season) for the room was d.kr 1198.00 or approximately US$217.00.
We felt that for that price we would get a nice clean room with a double bed. However, the room that we got was by far the worst room that we have ever stayed in. Instead of a double bed, we had to do with 2 single beds. The internet connection was not working and 2 cables, I assume for the internet and for the cable TV, were laying on the floor and on the desk, unconnected (later we were told that the room had Wi-Fi and this was in working order). A used towel from a former guest was still in the closet.

The bath room was below any hotel standard with only one bath towel for 2 people, no hair shampoo, conditioner etc and a non working hairdryer. The worst was the MOLD (a health hazard as per American standards), dirt, yellow markings on the toilet seat, scraped off paint and other unsanitary items.

The hallways were filthy with numerous spots on the carpet, the elevator had scraped off paint inside and outside.

The clerk on duty offered us another room which we went to see. This room was in a similar sorry shape as the one we stayed in.

The next morning we spoke with Dorit P. Moller and requested a full refund. After some haggling she agreed to a 50% discount. We did not have time for further discussions as we were travelling on to Fyn and we accepted the discount.

I have been in the hotel business in San Francisco for over 35 years and I have never seen anything worse. Your hotel is a disgrace. I was born in Denmark, was employed with The Danish Tourist Office in New York and I have always promoted Denmark as clean and wonderful - well this is certainly not true when it comes to Comwell in Sonderborg.

I have written the hotel and their corporate office. To date I have not received an answer.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kent h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soenderborg
1.8 mi away
Scandic Soenderborg
Scandic Soenderborg
#2 of 10 in Soenderborg
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Italia
Bella Italia
#3 of 10 in Soenderborg
24 reviews
9.6 mi away
Benniksgaard Hotel
Benniksgaard Hotel
#1 of 10 in Soenderborg
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
7.2 mi away
Enjoy Resorts Marina Fiskenaes
Enjoy Resorts Marina Fiskenaes
#8 of 10 in Soenderborg
46 reviews
7.6 mi away
Det Gamle Apotek
Det Gamle Apotek
#1 of 58 in Soenderborg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comwell Sonderborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comwell Sonderborg

Property: Comwell Sonderborg
Address: Rosengade 2, Soenderborg 6400, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Soenderborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Soenderborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comwell Sonderborg 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comwell Sonderborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comwell Sonderborg Denmark/Soenderborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing