We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for short Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brussels Airport
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Diegem
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for short Business Trip”
Reviewed April 7, 2007

A good hotel for a short business trip, or a stay over for an early flight. Any longer than 3 days...find somewhere in the city as the hotel is located on a business park with no where to walk/see. Menu is limited, but food very good.

Transport to/from the airport is easy (free shuttle bus). City centre
is easy and cheap to get to using the free bus to the airport and then train to Grand Central.

Check out as you eat breakfast is superb and recommended as queues at check out desk can be very long.

If you need to get a taxi from the hotel, be warned....some of the taxi drivers are crooks....they will turn off the meter when they think you are not looking and make up a fare! This has happened to me
twice. A firm "get stuffed pal, im callng the police" soon resolved the issue (as I knew how much the fare should be). So, check with reception how much the journey should be..and agree in advance with the driver.

  • Liked — Location to passenger and cargo airport
  • Disliked — menu limited and remote location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skybluerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    333
    201
    89
    34
See reviews for
50
104
54
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Had the same experience as HepzbahLondon, pleasent staff but not allowed any freedom of action and generally under-trained.

Room refreshements strictly protion controlled and very difficult to get extras, never a problem elsewhere. There is no concept of 'ordinary' milk, only a processed variety similar to condensed, though this may be the local norm.

Trouser press, a facility I value, advertised but not present; there were fittings on the wall where it appeared one had once been.

Some disagreement over the room rate, I had agreed a price by e-mail before booking, but the reception staff had no knowledge of this and looked at my e-mail print-out as if it were junk mail I had picked up in the street.

The wireless internet connection was so expensive I considered it almost a scam. Considering the virtually non-existant cost of providing what is a standard requirement for most business travellers and many tourists, there is a choice of a one-hour ticket for 7 euros or a 24 hour ticket for 19 euros, either of which have to be used within the hour or the day. No chance to buy a one hour ticket and use 15 minutes today, 15 minutes tomorrow, and those are the charges for using your own computer in the room for which you have already paid dearly.

There are internet connected computers in the reception area for which, oddly, you can buy tickets and use over a period. But these are equally as expensive, if not more so, and you cannot download files to your usb memory so cannot retrieve business documents.

The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable, although with a strange attitude to pillows - not really enough, but with a 'menu' of different fillings.

The leisure facilities are good, except for the freezing lower body shower that you have to dash through before getting to the pool. The in-house facilities have to be good because there is nothing around the hotel, just bare concrete, a building site, and other hotels.

The free bus to the airport is a plus, but who would go there without it.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Poor refreshment provision, expensive internet connection, no trouser press
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Old-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diegem hotels

London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

The tone was set when, on arrival, the receptionist looked us up and down and, with hand gestures, asked did we 'want a BIG bed?' Ok so neither of us fits the size 0 category but ...
After some initial confusion about the room rates we settled into a large room with huge (room for 3 if that's your bag) bed. Apart from a missing trouser press all seemed well. But being English we do like a cup of tea ... well perhaps two cups per day. The allocation of tea-bags is strictly controlled - one per person per day. When we approached reception for a couple more (never a problem in any other of the numerous hotels in which we have stayed) the receptionist became visibly nervous and eventually, after making sure no one could see her, pulled open a drawer and slid a couple of the illicit items across the desk. Nothing could persuade her to hand over further supplies: more-than-my jobs-worth etc. Insult was added to injury when the kettle failed to work, was replaced on complaint, but the original faulty one re-appeared a day later!
As there is absolutely nothing to do and nowhere to go within a good couple of miles of the hotel (we tried walking around for an hour and only ended up in the security man's hut at NATO HQ) the guests are totally at the mercy of the hotel's catering facilities.
A trip to the airport on the free hotel shuttle bus is the only escape route if you do not have a car!
Internet access is heavily charged for - a nonsense in these days of Broadband especially at a hotel used mainly by business travellers.
The hotel was generally clean and the staff were cheerful, if a bit inaccurate when asked for advice. There was no information about local transport readily available, and no tourist information at all.
The pool, jacuzzi and leisure facilities are a real bonus.
Overall - ok for couple of nights if you are on business or need to have access to the airport. Or if you are a tea-bag dealer!

  • Liked — Superb bed. Leisure facilities.
  • Disliked — Charges for Internet use. Poor local information. Location. Teabag portion control.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HepzibahLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

I have stayed at the Diegem Hol Inn many times over last few years, and been rather unimpressed each time.

The worst aspect is the restuarant in which the staff, and especialy the maitre-de, act like it is a top class restaurant when in fact it is typical mediocre hotel restaurant. Service is slow even when only a few diners, and food and choice uninspiring.

Expensive and mediocre.

Try the Sofitel Novotel ETAP etc up the road, there is a wider selection of value and quality.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Tips/Secrets — watch the bill
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Just got back from Belgium and need a room at the airport for an early flight the next morning. The room was fine and the bed was much better that we normally get at a Holiday Inn. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and courteous. The restaurant was a different story. Trying to get something to eat and drink was some of the worst service I have ever experienced. All the drinks had be gotten at the bar as the waiter was too busy chatting with his fellow waiters and the food was cold when brought out after one hour after ordering. The nice thing is the shuttle to the airport was free but left every 45 minuets on the weekend so longer at the airport than we really wanted. I would stay again as I now know what to expect and will eat before staying.

  • Liked — The bed as much better than the beds we stayed in Belgium
  • Disliked — Wish they would of had free internet, just hate to pay for it
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat before you arrive
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Redneckdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Have just spent a night at this big Holiday Inn in Brussels. It was full of coach parties and consequently very difficult to get down to reception in the lift as everyone seemed to be about at the same time. It is in a very poor location and there is nowhere to eat other than in the hotel so you are best to eat before you arrive. Fortunately we had been warned about this so had eaten earlier. The rooms are superb and the bathroom equipped with everything you could wish for. The reception staff were very polite and spoke good English. It is an ideal overnight location but wouldn't want to stay much longer.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Availability of lifts
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a ground floor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

After reading the trip advisor reviews for this hotel we booked a room with 2 double beds in it for my mum, dad and I to stay for the night as we were attending an exhibition the next day in Brussels.

The hotel was of a very good standard and nice and clean. We didn't have breakfast or dinner in the hotel as the prices were quite high.

We did have a problem when booking in as first we were given 3 separate rooms and then just one room with a massive bed in it before we finally got the correct room with the 2 double beds!

On the whole a very nice and clean hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diegem hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
0.5 mi away
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
0.4 mi away
NH Brussels Airport
NH Brussels Airport
#2 of 12 in Diegem
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parker Hotel Brussels Airport
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels Airport
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brussels Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brussels Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Brussels Airport
Address: Holidaystraat 7, Diegem 1831, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Diegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diegem
#5 Business Hotel in Diegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Brussels Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brussels Airport hotel is located in the business area of the Brussels Airport, near to the NATO and offices of DHL, British Telecom, Cisco Systems, Hewlett Packard, Johnson Controls, Honeywell, Canon, Deloitte, Bayer, 3M, Toyota, with complimentary shuttle bus on set times to these offices. The fully renovated Holiday Inn Brussels Airport hotel has the largest rooms (32 sq. meters) of all hotels at Brussels Airport. The hotel offers 14 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 500 people and 800 Sq. meters. Wireless internet is free of charge in the entire hotel! A scheduled free shuttle service from/to Brussels Airport and the hotel is available for our guests. Enjoy our bar-resto, the extensive Health & Leisure Club with INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, Jacuzzi, steam room and fitness. You can enjoy a real wellness weekend! Holiday Inn Brussels Airport is the perfect hotel when you want to visit the Eurantica Brussels Fair or Intensive Care in March, European Seafood Exposition in April or any other fairs in Brussels Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Brussels Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brussels Airport Hotel Diegem
Brussels Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Diegem
Diegem Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing