We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best place to stay in Genk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at the Carbon Hotel for one night.

The Carbon Style room was very spacious and the layout was unique compared to other (business) hotels I have stayed at. The dark colors combined with the ambient lightning were very nice. A high-quality flat screen TV and Bose sound dock were nice extras. The airco/heating system was difficult to control and as a result it was really hot in the room in the evening. The thermostat was set to 18 but didn't seem to work properly.

I stayed for business so the nice desk area combined with free and excellent Wi-Fi was definitely a plus.

The only downside of the stay was my breakfast. Buffet choice was limited and the quality was not really up to par. Also during breakfast I got the impression the staff was not too well organized ... and as a result things got kind of hectic and noisy.

The hotel is located just across the railway station and right around the corner of the shopping district. Public parking is available beneath the hotel but be aware it is expensive. I paid 12 EUR for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Only with this feedback, we can improve our products and services.

We hope to see you again in Genk in one of our hotels.

The Different Hotels-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was a great hotel. I loved the decor, it was VERY clean and the rooms were bright. Plenty of good towels too.
The downside was the price of breakfast. 35 Euros is way over the top. The price was not mentioned until I was checking out, or I would not have eaten it.
The taxi driver said I should have walked along to Hotel Ecu (which is very close) and had their breakfast for 15 Euros, which is better too! We live & learn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon in Carbon or ECU Hotel.

Have a Different day!

The Different Hotels - team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Probably, Carbon is the best hotel to stay at when you're in Genk. I had a warm welcome (although my door key didn't seem to work - no apologies for me having to hurry downstairs again - I admit I was in a rush). The rooms are well decorated, but as often, in so-called Design Hotels the wear and tear doesn't come as charming.
However, I had a good night sleep and except for a strange smell in the hallway, some leftovers left alone from a room service and the background music in the hallway resounding in my room it was a perfect night.
The price for the room (around € 100 (which is discounted because I booked really late) ) was totally acceptable.
The breakfast wasn't, considering the price (€ 19). Practically everything was pre-packed, soulless and can be found in any hotel offering a breakfast buffet. The coffee was frankly terrible.

If you're in Genk, you probably should sleep here. It's a nice place and conveniently located. However, have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My partner and I spent a night at Carbon just two weeks ago. This was our second visit and even better than the first. All the staff were very attentive and helpful. We were given an upgrade in room which was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious, modern and clean. The boxspring beds are very comfortable and the docking station for an iphone was a nice modern touch. The room was excellent value.
We ate in the restaurant downstairs where we selected the classic menu and a bottle of Lourens River Morgenster. The wine was divine. The food was good and well presented but somewhat pricey for what you get. Having said that, it was completely full with rather a chic crowd - so they are obviously doing something right.
Certainly worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6mbelowsealevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay in Carbon Hotel and we hope to see you again a third time :)

With Different Regards

the Carbon Hotel - team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Upon arrival at the Carbon Hotel we did get a free upgrade which was really nice. The room was really spacey with a view on the hotel garden. Its quirky design definitely ads to the experience, which I think is a good thing. It might not be practical but ah well, it is a weekend trip.

Our main reason for the visit was the C-Mine, but there's definitely all sorts of things to do around Genk. Not so much in the city itself, but that area has plenty to offer. For a change we dined at the hotel restaurant: Gusto. The food was really good and fresh. Maybe a bit on the expensive side, but sitting outside on the terrace, getting to talk with the locals and enjoying very good wines is what makes trips like this great.

All in all our stay was very positive. My only thing is that the beds were a bit on the soft side and the 'plastic' floor covering don't age that well. But I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussed_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at Carbon Hotel! It’s great to read you liked your stay at our hotel. It’s also great to read you liked the location which has a lot of things to offer.

We hope we’ll see you back soon at one of our Different Hotels

With Different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice and is part of a chai that is called different hotel.. the carbon is very particular has light for chrome therapy. . The bath tub in the middle of the room ( at least on mine).. on the floor there is sort of textiles floor but seem with some stain next to it there a public parking lot but with direct access. The breakfast included s very good

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear cmarmot,

Thanks for for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Nice to read you liked your breakfast!

See you soon at Different Hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions on business and I have always found it provides a high quality service.
The hotel is situated in central Genk, opposite the bus and rail station.
The decor in the rooms reflects the hotel name with a predominantly black theme.
Most rooms have a double bed and shower / toilet facilities, some higher specification rooms also have a bath.
There is no bathroom as such instead the rooms are zoned with partition walls discreetly placed, it works well and gives the rooms a different feel unlike other hotels.
There are the usual wardrobe, desk, television provided and if you have an iPod there is a sound system to play your favourite music. Free wifi completes the package.
The restaurant is excellent for both individual meals and group meals if with colleagues.
A couple of years ago I would have given 5 stars, but the hotel has changed recently and become less different, the mini bar used to be free with water, cola, beer available. The hotel has gone the way of other chain hotels and started charging for this. There are other points that have changed that make the hotel more mainstream.
Despite my minor criticism I always enjoy staying there when on business.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Nev C,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Nice to read you liked your stay! We also really appreciate your remarks and will take these into consideration.

See you soon at Different Hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genk
0.4 mi away
M Hotel - Different Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Atlantis - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#4 of 11 in Genk
295 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
7.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels

Address: Europalaan 38 | 3600 Genk, Genk 3600, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Price Range: $135 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carbon: Carbon is found in the food we eat, the clothes we wear, the cosmetics we use and the fuel in our cars. Carbon is the 6th most common element in the universe and a major building block in the chemistry of life. In Genk, it has an additional meaning: it is the name of a chic and stylish official design hotel that offers a complete range of services and facilities under one roof. Carbon Hotel is also a showcase for the talents of Limburg designers, who have conceived a harmonious blend of originality and luxury. Carbon Sleep: All 60 guest-rooms have a view on the exclusive roof garden and invite you to relax in style. Each room provides a luxurious bath or shower unit, R(ed) G(reen)B(lue) lighting system, an iDock, free internet and a minibar. Carbon Meet: Carbon has two unique meeting rooms, an exclusive boardroom and a VIP room. Meetings can be combined with a drink at the impressive roof garden. Gusto: Enjoy the innovative Gusto restaurant with its exclusive wine and champagne bar. Delicious dishes are combined with an excellent selection of new world wines. The chef works with regional ingredients to create contemporary flavours. Carbon Taste won the 2008 European Interior Design Award in London. Carbon Sense: Need to relax? Our team is delighted to welcome you to Carbon Sense: a fully integrated city spa on the top floor of this design hotel. Here you can unwind in the bathhouse or enjoy a relaxing treatment. Practical Information: You can park your car in the Q-Park, located underneath the hotel. Price: € 12,- per 24 hours. The main station is within walking distance. For more information, route description and to make a reservation, go to carbonhotel.be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbon Hotel Genk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing