We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An orchid which never had bloomed”
Review of Hotel 't Hert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 't Hert
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We booked our stay in december last year, a long time ago (and probably the first who had booked for june). The room, which was assigned to us by arrival, was not worth being mentioned a room (and surely not "orchid room", like it was called).
It wasn't even in the holel, but above a Manpower (an interim-bureau)

Entering the room, we saw that the wc was just behind a very thin sheet (no door or something), and just one meter next to the bed. If my brother or I have gone to the wc, we would share the (not so fine) smell the rest of the day. Because two friends ou us, sleeped next to our room (which has a WC in a separate room in the entrance), we were lucky that we could use that one.
For washing us, the lavabo was so small (20cm up 10 cm), so ig we shave our beard, the shaving cream could never fall in the lavabo, but before it (also when brushing your teeth or something).
The backside of the wardrobe was totally was no longer fixed to the rest
(talking about fixation, my friend have a safe in their room, which is good, but the case was not fixed on a wall or so, you just could lift it up (very safely indeed :-) )

The breakfast was acceptable (but nothing more than that).
The bedroom was acceptable cleaned every dary.

Because the host Noke was nice (what couldn't be said of her man) and it was a small family hotel (ans they have to deserve their living with it) , I have doubt for a time for posting this review, but because of the very low level of quality, I feel I have to do it.

Notice that this is a description of the room , which wasn't in The 't Hert Hotel. Maybe, the quality of these rooms is acceptable.

Please don't rent the Orchid room in the future in the present condition. A beautification (refreshment) is necessary to avoid more negative reviews in the future. The hotel is good located, and although the city is not so beautiful, it has nice restaurants, pubs, the lovely c-mine, biking and walking possibilties. There are many opportunities in the city, and if the hotel is refreshed, it deserves a place in the city (and it hasn't to have the quality of the Carbon Hotel), a charming family-hotel will be liked also .
I really hope the review will lead to a positive future (I really don't like writing bad reviews)

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2011

This is a strange, if nice little hotel. However it is most certainly NOT the best hotel in Genk and I'm not quite sure how it's reached that level on Trip Advisor. The hotel has some very good points and a few not so good points so I'll try and list them for you. On the good side, our room was quite large with comfortable beds, the shower was extremely good and their very lovely dog took our keys to our room in his mouth which absolutely made our day. The food in the restaurant really was excellent and we ate there a number of times, however the breakfast was only acceptable, although we were very glad it ran so late (till 11am). The location is good, walking distance to the station and very close to the main shopping area. If you're looking for a supermarket though go up the hill past the cathedral rather than into the centre. It is pretty good value for money in a country where hotels are generally quite expensive and this of course cancels out some of the negative comments I'm about to make. So, the not so good stuff, the whole building is rather dark and dilapidated and could really do with a lick of paint and some new carpets. The towels were threadbare, the hair dryer had little more effect than a kitten blowing on your head and the bed linens were tired too. I found the proprietors to be not particularly helpful and anything we needed was given with the barest minimum of grace. The walls are very thin and if you will be staying awake till your neighbours do, like or not as you can hear every sound they make. On our last night the people watched TV till the small hours and we got no sleep at all. The bathroom door is basically a screen offering little privacy. In all I found it quite a depressing place visually and wouldn't stay there again if I visited Genk for a second time, although as I mentioned the price, location and food are all good. A mixed bag.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauraudingbeasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I've strayed in a number of small hotels in Europe. This one is the best I've been to. The people there made you feel so welcome and it was a pleasure to be part of there hotel albeit for 1 night. All staff and the owners could not do enough for me. They were so friendly and helpful. The rooms was nice and spacious, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was a joy with plenty of choice. I enjoyed my trip to Genk to watch football and the town is nice too. The only regret is that I did not stay longer. If you go to Genk then you must stay here. It is a 5-10 minute walk from the railway station and is easy to find. You wil not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

this was my first vist to belgium but everyone in hotel was friendly and helpful. the room was pleasant and was good value. breakfast menu was substantial with enough choice. i will be back there next year i hope. would like to thank the proprietors for the friendliness shown.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickeyglancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_het_hert, Manager at Hotel 't Hert, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013
Google Translation

нам очень понравилось как вы наш отель оценили спасибо большой до другого раза

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

This small hotel is a short walk from the train station and a grocery store, in a pedestrianized area of central Genk. The propietors are charming and friendly, as is their dog. My room was big, with a comfortable double bed (two twins pushed together), a big wardrobe, and a desk that was mostly occupied by a TV. The bathroom had two sinks and the tub was a jacuzzi. When I visited, the owners asked me to not take a shower because there was some sort of leak, and the TV remote didn't work, but otherwise things seemed in decent shape. The serve-yourself breakfast buffet had a good variety. Wifi cost 5 euros, and I couldn't get a good signal in the room so worked at a nice table outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

This hotel is a quaint little place, by no means a delux place, but there is something about it. Run by a lovely lady and her dog, this hotel offers a clean and very relaxed envioroment. The rooms are basic but clean, but how long do you stay in the room????
This hotel comes into it's own in the bar area, it as a stricking resembelance to the hotel in Faulty Towers (Britsh 70's sitcom, worth a watch) wich the owner already seems to know. The owner cannot do enough for you she is pleasent and accommadating and so is her dog who will evan carry your key to your room. The included buffet breakfast was wonderful both english and continental. I can also recommend the evening meal espically the steak, mine filled the plateThe hotel is situated in the centre of Genk only 3 mins walk from the station with a supermarker about 100yards away and a very large shopping mall.
All in all a very pleasent stay worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deannbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FOTOFANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantis - Different Hotels
0.1 mi away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M Hotel - Different Hotels
0.1 mi away
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#9 of 11 in Genk
22 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Schacht
De Schacht
#8 of 11 in Genk
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Hert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Hert

Address: Winterslagstraat 11, Genk 3600, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Price Range: $88 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 't Hert 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 't Hert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing