We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpenland Sporthotel
Nearby Hotels
$175
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Panorama(Maria Alm)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eder(Maria Alm)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinzgauer Hof(Maria Alm)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Almhof(Maria Alm)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
72
96
39
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
96
39
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharezell am seesmall fridgetwo single bedsbilla supermarketweek stayeagles nestmost placessport hotelper dayoff seasonmain roomthis lovely hotelfive minute walkhot platetimeshare swapkitchen facilities
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 220 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We got two rooms at a fantastic rate through Intervals International using the Get Away option. The rooms were the ones without a small kitchen in the "B" section of the hotel, but they did have a small refrigerator. We overlooked the front of the hotel and had a great view of the mountains, when they were visible. We were there in early June 2013 when in rained excessively for days and there were road closures when you attempted to go anywhere in the area. The hotel staff were very helpful in providing directions on what roads were open and closed.

We did get the breakfast package so we had a reserved table every morning and the staff was very courteous. We did pick the 5 day package, but used it 6 times and they just extended the lower rate without any issues. It has a wide variety of choices of fruits, cereals, scrambled eggs/sausges, yogurts, etc.

The room was very clean and having read other reviews about worn carpeting, etc. seems to have been taken care of. The shower is unlike other european ones in that it is totally enclosed in glass. If you are short it may be a little hard to get into and out of but otherwise great.

The door and window to the balcony can be opened normally or set so that it hinges at the bottom and is open at the top. This is a nice feature to be able to get cool air into the room. There are no screeens however. This helped as one of the two rooms was always warmer than the other even though the heat was turned completely off.

It has a great pool and work out room at the back of the hotel and there are slippers and robe for each person that gets changed daily.

On the slightly negative side, you do have to pay 8 euros for 3 hours of wireless internet and the bar was closed the entire time we were there, but we could get drinks from the restaurant.

From an american perspective I would rate this as a 3 star hotel, but at the very top of the list. As shown on the site, there are two single beds next to each other. They were comfortable, but the pillows were sort of lumpy. There are two closets with ample space and shelving.

If you go out the back parking lot and turn left it is a very short walk to the center of town, which is small but very clean with a variety of stores and restaurants.

We all agreed that the staff were excellent. They were all very friendly and helpful with a positive attitude at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After visiting their other sport hotel in St. johann which is not far away, I believe that this hotel is better only for the ski season and if you want to ski.The sport facilities are much less here than in the other hotel and no jacuzzi at all. According to the hotel site they have free wifi but when you arrive you learn that it is true not for every guest, such as Interval for example, and they try to sale the service for more money, which leave some bitter taste.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruvy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Alpenland Sporthotel resoundingly became our sweet home away from home. The quaint captivating town of Maria Alm is beautifully tucked in under the backdrop of the magnificent shadows of the Alps mountains. The idyllic scenes that changes its picturesque hues as the weather casts its spell upon the breathtaking view will only captivate your soul. My wife, sister-in-law, Gloria, and myself will forever remember the warm Austrian hospitality given to us by Anne Marie, Friedrich, Mary, and Amy. We have truly enjoyed our one week vacation at the hotel. We logged in a total of 2400 kilometers exploring the surrounding radius from Maria Alm to as far as the Bavarian jewels of the German landscape. I took some fun ascending and descending down the steep, narrow, and hairpin turns at Bishofshofen to catch the A10 autobahn to Salzburg.
the triple AAA international driver's license was the key coupled with some knowledge of the international traffic signs and laws. Thank you, Alpenland Sporthotel.

Room Tip: take the mountain view where the church can be seen from.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emeverto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent the third week of February with another family at sport hotel.
Our vacation was great in every aspect! We highly appreciated the hospitality of every single employee.
The food was great, the pool extremely popular with kids and adults and the location is very good facing the bus stop to the ski slopes? The hotel is very clean and the rooms were fine and very quite.
We will definitely come back next year! A big thank you to all the Sporthotel employees for making our trip so pleasant! We felt at home!
Alex Moussa - Switzerland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This small village is in the middle of nowhere. We arrived during a rainstorm and couldn't see a thing. So we just took our luggage to the room. But the next morning, we had a short 2 minutes walk to get to the heart of the village. What an amazing view!

From the room the view was magnificient also. The suite was big enough. The personal was mostly nice. Friedrich and Maria spoke a very good english. But in general, don't expect the Autrichians to speak either french or english.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andre_Fournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews