We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulge yourself...”
Review of Chalet Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Panorama
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Indulge yourself...”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Loved the accommodation, the location, the skiing, the town. It couldn't have been better! Everyone was friendly and the chalet staff made us feel very much at home. The decor, fittings and furnishings are all very tasteful and the facilities en suite are better than most top hotels offer.
Recommend a trip to the glacier at Kitzstornhein and a visit to the igloo ice bar at the top of the 2nd chair lift. If you don't want to ski every day pay a visit to Tauern Spa and experience the outdoor pools - it's really quite bizarre if it's snowing! Intending to spend at least one ski holiday at Chalet Panorama next season.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Having been skiing since I was a kid this was the best accommodation I have stayed in be it in Europe or Canada.The chalet is gorgeous, the staff absolutely awesome and the food, what a shame people are concentrating on "Michelin star" quality. I personally thought the food was fantastic after a day skiing. Thanks a lot chef! if people want Michelin star they should go to Michelin starred restaurant and pay the appropriate price associated with that. The one comment I'll make is that dinner should be an hour or so later. After a great day on the slopes, a few drinks were needed and it was a bit rushed to get back in time for a quick shower and food.

The spa area is great, the views are stunning!
The company in the morning ( chef ) over a coffee was great as I tend to be an early bird and up before anyone else. The chalet and rooms were kept spotless.

Will I go back? Absolutely YES. And hopefully in a bigger group.

Thanks for a great holiday for both seasoned skiers and beginners. Awesome job guys.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolasHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was my first ski holiday but wasn't for everyone in the group so I felt the pressure when recommending Chalet Panorama based on just a few reviews and some beautiful photos. But wow, we were not disappointed! I wanted a little bit of luxury for a well needed week away and somewhere that would be really comfortable and enjoyable should the skiing not work out! I got all those things in bucket loads. The Chalet is beautiful. Our room was big and spacious with a gorgeous bed, massive bathroom with both a bath and shower and a small balcony over looking the garden. The chalet feels very welcoming and the no shoe policy means that dinner in The Great Room has a relaxed atmosphere in a very impressive setting! I think it's a shame that the food was compared in a previous review to Michelin star standard, it has set the bar high and seems to have become a focal point of reviews since. The food is gorgeous, is it Michelin star standard? No, but it's still pretty damn good! I went for the veggie option one night to try something different and it was delicious and the desserts were top class every night. Maria Alm itself is a wonderful little town, being relatively unknown means the food and drink is good and at reasonable prices. We went skiing in Kaprun on two of the days (it's worth getting an extended ski pass upfront to give you this option) and although I loved the experience we really noticed the change in prices, quality and atmosphere. It's much more commercial and touristy. But still a great day out for something different. What I loved about the holiday was the friendliness of everyone we met, from the chalet, to the local people and ski instructors, everyone made us feel welcome. I would definitely go back and next time we'd probably rent a car to give us the freedom of skiing in the many different areas and we'll be bringing a bigger group with us too! This really is a little gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Impressed with chalet and location, room was best ive stayed in although could have done with cigarette ends swept from balcony after last residents left. No change of towels even though i put it in the wash bin and took it back out after day on the slopes.
Fantastic wellness suite but needs a nice hot tub to enjoy panoramic views, would definately return if it had one.
Overall a great chalet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selectskichalets, Owner at Chalet Panorama, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
I am really pleased to note that you had an excellent holiday at the Chalet Panorama in March 2012. We do not aim to provide ‘Michelin Star’ catering but a quality menu compatible with hungry skiers, which has earned the praise of 99% of our guests to date.
We have a strict non-smoking policy in the chalet and will ensure that more thorough checks are made in the future especially in our penthouse suite where you stayed.
A jacuzzi is at the planning stage!
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This superb chalet did not quite live up to the reviews below. This may have been partly because it was a week of transition between one chef and the next, and more than one cook in the kitchen never seems to work well. The food was OK, but definitely not approaching Michelin standard. It was prettily presented, but e.g. the duck breast on day 1 was overcooked and dry.
The rooms are to a high standard, but there was no change of towel or bedding mid-week, no dressing gowns to use to go down to the cellar spa, and dirty cups and glasses were not cleared from the rooms.
There is a fantastic huge panoramic (hence the name!) ground floor dining/living room with attached bar which the staff were keen to promote - but 4 euros for a 2cl measure of gin seemed excessive, and we did notice occasions when the shot measures were not even filled.
In the basement was a spa (a hot-tub somewhere needs to be added) and an excellent ski storage and boot warming area.
The chalet is situated 300m from the nearest ski bus-stop (not he nearest slope as proclaimed in its literature).
All in all, it has the potential to be absolutely superb.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I’ve been on about 10 snowboarding holidays around the world so I’m qualified to say this is the best by a clear mile...
We had a fantastic holiday here this year (7 of us) and looking to return next year. The chalet and staff are handpicked from the perfect isle. They really getting to know the guests and putting themselves out to ensure a perfect stay. Thierry ‘Master Chef’ not only creates ‘Michelin standard’ meals but he even picked us up when we stranded ourselves in the next town!
We were fortunate enough to have a heavy blanket of snow also which made the trip uber-perfect.
The chalet is kept in pristine condition and feels like home. Lovely open fire to put a warm glow on the ladies faces and the chalet has its own spa all inclusive. The equipment room has boot warmers so you’re nice and toasty before you hit the mountains.
The only recommendation I have would be the introduction of a Jacuzzi to compliment the steam room, sauna and relaxation room. It’s sometimes nice to warm up in a Jacuzzi with friends after a day battling the mountains.
Hopefully by next year Elysia would have learned to pour a beer with less head (Private Joke :-) and watch out for Steve, his idea of ‘light powder’ means he’ll have you boarding in 5ft of powder – great fun.
Keep it up guys, you are No.1 !!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect and quiet, we saw 4 of teh rooms and they were all an excellent size and stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The chalet was recommended to us by my son who stayed there last year and the whole group were very glad we took the recommendations. My wife and I travelled with ten other friends, all couples, so we had the whole chalet to ourselves. It was really the best place we have ever stayed on a ski holiday. The food was exceptionally good, in particular, we voted Thierry's Tarte Tatin, the Dish of the Week. Actually every meal was like being in a very good restaurant and the table wine was a very good match. We had home made cakes every day with our afternoon tea. The rest of the team were very helpful and the standard of accommodation was top notch. Maria Alm itself is a lovely village and the prices on the slopes were very reasonable. We were worried about the low altitude but of course this seasons heavy snow sorted that out, but apparently despite its low level, the snow record here is very good. The slopes were very quiet, no lift queues and a refreshing change from the usual crush of the French Alps. The one hour taxi bus transfer from Saltzburg was very convenient and meant we arrived refreshed and ready to ski.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 and had a separate bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maria Alm hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#1 of 7 in Maria Alm
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Resort Maria Alm
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Sonnenlicht
Gasthof Sonnenlicht
#4 of 37 in Maria Alm
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpenblick Pension Appartement
0.3 mi away
Sunnsait Appartements
Sunnsait Appartements
#3 of 37 in Maria Alm
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinzgauer Hof
Pinzgauer Hof
#1 of 41 in Maria Alm
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Panorama

Property: Chalet Panorama
Address: Griesbachwinkl 17, Maria Alm 5761, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Maria Alm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Maria Alm
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Chalet Panorama in the resort of Maria Alm, welcomed its first guests in December 2006. Less than one hour's drive from the historical city of Salzburg, the resort forms part of the Höchkonig Ski Circuit with over 150km of piste divided across four interlinking valleys. The chalet's design and facilities have been thoughtfully planned to suit discerning guests and skiers. At our Chalet guests will feel totally at home with all the creature comforts provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing