We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we expected and more!”
other travelers have booked this property
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove Dining room with log burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove
Dining room with log burning stove.
Living room with large L shape leather sofa and a double leather sofa.
Kitchen.
Second door from kitchen leading outside to the terrace.
Kitchen.
Bedroom 2 with a kingsize double bed, with a door leading outside via stone stairs.
Bedroom 2.
Cabin Bed on the landing.
Bedroom 1 is a family room with a double and 2 single beds, chests of drawers and wardrobe.
Family bedroom showing the corridor to the cabin bedroom with bathroom access in between them.
Large slate round table under a covered, all weather area. just outside the dining room's door.
Upper terrace leading to the Summerhouse.
Heated pool bordered with wisteria, clematis, plum tree, rambling rose, rosemary and valerian.
Wendy House in orchard/garden with an apple tree in front, cherry behind and peach in foreground.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mervent, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kcml
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited La Fermette during the first week in September 2014, we were completely blown away by the house and of course the fantastic pool. The house is beautifully furnished, clean and very comfortable, the terrace is huge, and has the most beautiful slate table, the pool is just fab with plenty of sun loungers and the garden includes peach, apple, walnut, fig and pear trees...all of which we sampled during our stay!

S&G are a fantastic couple who made us feel incredibly welcome, we arrived later at night after a long drive and so were delighted to find that the basics such as Orange juice, milk and bread etc had been provided to see us through the first night. In addition to this fresh herbs from the garden had been picked, the pantry cupboard was stocked with tea, coffee and other staples also wine and beer had been chilled for our arrival.

We would most certainly recommend La Fermette to anyone, not only is it great for families but it is also ideal for a romantic couples getaway, we enjoyed it so much we have already booked to return next year.

Thanks again for making our holiday so special.

K & D x

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbert25
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“paradise re-visited”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Last May we stayed in La Fermette for a week and feel in love with the house, the area, the owners and their dogs!! So we booked to go back again this July and stayed for two weeks. We can't recommend this gite enough to you. Our two girls spent most of their time in the fantastic pool. Every morning my husband would run along the river, whilst I was able to read and relax on the idyllic terrace which has grapes growing on the trellis and the only noise the sound of birdsong. The little surrounding villages with their markets and cafes are just lovely to wander around if you can manage to tear yourself away from the beautiful house.

Steven and Geraldine are the most wonderful unobtrusive hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have the holiday of a life time. Needless to say we have already booked for next year and cannot wait. I now cannot imagine spending our holidays anywhere else. So very sorry Steven and Geraldine but I think you may have a hard time keeping us away!!!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly welcome
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wai hung...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique, excellente, fantastique!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Steve and Geraldine's La Fermette. We were hoping for a third time however the farmhouse is fully booked next summer. Not ones for being deterred, we will endeavour to book again for 2016.

Having stayed here the previous year, our enjoyment wasn't diminished in the slightest. It was still a unique and very stylish French home with quirky corners and customised furniture and fittings. I use the word "home" because Steve and Geraldine are such courteous and warm people that you cannot help but feel their friendship and kindness etched in every stone and painted piece of wood - which makes it even more difficult to leave.

All our needs were met again this year (previously visited for a fortnight in Aug 2013). Laundry is washed, dried and ironed 2x a week (what a luxury when you have 4 boys!), the pool is wonderful and cleaned regularly with fresh pool towels and linen provided weekly. Herbs, wine and cold drinks are provided on arrival and if you have any queries, nothing is too much trouble for Steve and Geraldine.

Our 4 boys were never bored and very reluctant to leave La Fermette and its pool which is a fantastic base to visit Puy du Fou, Marais Poitevin, Mervent, La Rochelle, Sables d'Olonne, Ile de Re and the surrounding villages and Mercier vineyard.

For those who are visiting with grandparents/larger families, there is a very stylish annexe that sleeps an extra 2 persons with kitchen/dining and patio area. We didn't use it ourselves but can imagine it would be perfect for a group of 8.

Please don't visit in August as we want to come then but rest assured, if you stay here, you will have a wonderful holiday. Fontenay-Le Comte is on your doorstep... don't get me started on the pizzas we had there and as for the boulangeries...nom nom nom!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulinho6...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The only reluctance I had writing this review is that it deserved a bit of time and effort and I'm no writer.
Luckily the review before mine, 2 Jul 2014, is very accurate so I do not have to go through some of the detail. Make sure you read that one!
After years of going to France this is our top Gite, no doubt. S & G are naturally generous people who will live long in our memory. I wanted to book straight away for next year but my wife wants to go visit family in a tropical country, oh well maybe 2016.
Our boys loved the pool, it's dingy & WiFi.
My wife loved the fact she new it was going to be great.
I will always remember reading Laurie Lee's description of a wonderful garden in 1920s Stroud and then looking up and realising I was in one!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generous hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
253bbcol
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful gite, fantastic pool & lovely owners”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We've just come back from a glorious week at La Fermette where we were met with such a warm welcome from Geraldine and Steven.

The gite is really pretty and full of arty furnishings thanks to the couple's creative streak and as a result La Fermette has a happy and relaxed atmosphere inside. The gorgeous farmhouse kitchen is very well stocked and when you arrive there are lovely touches like wine and beer in the fridge, fresh herbs picked from their garden and various ingredients in the cupboard. There are lots of DVDs to choose from as well as books and games to enjoy.

The garden has three elements - a beautiful terrace full of flowers with an outdoor table and barbecue; the most fantastic swimming pool to yourselves, plus a garden full of fruit trees, games and a children's playhouse. It's such a lovely set-up here and you won't be disappointed.

We bought our very young spaniel and she loved La Fermette. The gite and its outdoor areas are very spacious yet very well contained so we had no fear of her escaping. We took her for walks through the ploughed fields and down to the river nearby, and we also went on day trips to local markets and boating in nearby Coulon.

Steven and Geraldine are a super couple and so so helpful and generous with their time. They took us to the vet in Fontenay le Comte when we needed to get a stamp on our dog's passport before going home and they kindly did two service washes for us while we stayed at La Fermette. Our clothes were back within 24 hours and we were so grateful not to have to do our own washing!

We had a relaxing and blissful week at La Fermette and think we may also have found the best boulangerie in France in nearby St Hilaire des Loges! If you're looking for a retreat to really get away from it all then this is really a wonderful little haven to enjoy.

Thank you so much Geraldine and Steven!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of the gite and wonderful pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lipsylou7...
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found this house by off-chance on the internet and uncovered a treasure-trove of idyllic rustic charm.
On arrival, we were greeted by Steven and Geraldine and given an in depth tour of their lovely home.
We found the special touches - the bunch of fresh herbs from the garden, french bread, wine, homemade jam and numerous items amazing.
We have already booked to return next summer and would rather keep this a hidden secret but felt it unfair not to write a good review.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and gardens
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona F
Stone
1 review
“a beautiful french retreat”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

la fermette...what an amazing find...perfect location for a peaceful,get away from it all holiday but close enough to all amenities and activities.Beautifully furnished cottage with all that you could ask for and more. The added bonus was the swimming pool and outside areas. Well maintained and perfectly safe for our five year old son. The owners, Steven and Geraldine were always on hand to answer our questions. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay all the more special. All in all a truly special place. We shall definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing