We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent House in the Rhone-Alpes”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Chatelard, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Panorama1...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent House in the Rhone-Alpes”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is our second stay at Le Chatox. This is a very well equipped and comfortable house that is also smart and nicely designed. Our main activities on holiday are walking and for me road cycling. This is a great location for both. There are some great walks both demanding, mildly challenging and more leisurely in a truly beautiful part of France and the Alpes. The views from the summit walks are breath taking. Rides can be started from the house which are described in the house information and marked up on maps by the owner who is a keen cyclist. My rides I kept to around 1.5 to 2.5 hours and the scenery is spectacular. The Tour went through the village in 2013 and you can do parts of, or all of the stage if you are up for it! The house sits on the edge of the town of Le Chatelard which has a convenient supermarket, filling station and few restaurant options nearby. Chez Cyril in Le Noyer is particularly good. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation which is appointed to high standards.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
You guys are just fab guests. So pleased you a great holiday break. Great to have you stay again and meet you both ! You know you're welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our fourth visit...it's perfect!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have now stayed here 4 times, and for a very good reason - it's a lovely place to stay! The house is modern, spotlessly clean and very well-equipped, and the view from the balcony is fantastic. You can sit-out in the sun all day, then take-in fantastic views of the night sky. It is in a great location for walking and relaxing, and the cycling is brilliant. Lots of tough routes on the doorstep, but, equally, there are many easier rides to be had.
We visited Annecy twice whilst we were there, and it is such a lovely town in a stunning location. Market day is very busy, but parking is easy, and it is a great 20 mile ride around the lake.
The swimming lake is only a 5 minute drive from the house, and there are plenty of good quality restaurants nearby. It really is a great place to stay for families, or couples, and we are already planning a return in the near future.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, high quality of the accommodation, and the cycling.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Dear Simon and Sharon, its always a pleasure to welcome you back as there is always something new to discover! A bientot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbrown63
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation in stunning location ”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just spent a fantastic week staying at Le Chatox.

It was our first family trip to the area, and there was something for everyone. The kids loved the swimming in the nearby lake, and taking advantage of the games at the chalet. Mum loved visiting the local towns, especially Annecy. Whilst Dad found the cycling out of this world.

Le Chatox truly was a home from home, with everything you could need to make your stay perfect.

I'm already missing having a glass of wine on the balcony, looking out across the mountains....

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
Thanks you for your wonderful review. Our home from home is now a place for you to treat as 'home' should you return. You were perfect guests and an example to others that there's something for husbands and wives, children and friends. The skiing in winter is fab. (just saying!!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy A
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing alpine holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at the Le chatox for 8 nights in June 2015 and had a wonderful time. When we stayed here about 5 years ago, we did a fly/drive via Geneva airport, but this time we went by car which was fairly straight forward (if you stick to the toll roads). The owner gave us very good directions which was very helpful for the last part of the journey. Le Chatox is a lovely holiday chalet set on a hill overlooking a valley with 2 mountain peaks in the background which make for a stunning view from the chalet balcony. Although it may seem remote and can only be reached by car, you are rewarded by being in a fantastic rural location with breathtaking scenery. It is part of the village of Le Chatelard - one of 12 villages in Les Bauges. We took the opportunity to do lots of walking and went swimming in a local lake at Lescheraines, visited Annecy (make sure you go there on a market day!), hired a boat on the lake as well as swimming in the lake, visited Aix Les Bains and another lake: Lac Bauget. There is no shortage of things to do and places to see! Cycling is very popular around this area, so if you're a keen cyclist and like some challenging climbs, this is the place to come!
Le Chatox is a very comfortable chalet with plenty of room and is very well equipped. The owners went out of their way to ensure our stay here was memorable. We will definitely go there again.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous scenery
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
Well what weather you got as well. Soooo hot! Brilliant that you discovered even more of what Les Bauges has to offer couples seeking relaxation, peaceful walks, good food and star gazing ! See you again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Summer Holiday at Le Chatox”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful two family fortnight at Le Chatox - eight of us in total. The accommodation was superb, exactly as described, spacious, spotless, welcoming and very easy to find from the directions provided. After absorbing the wonderful mountain-view setting and enjoying the clean alpine air we all settled in very quickly in this fabulous home from home with everything we needed for a relaxing base for our holiday. We had very good weather on the whole with the 35 degree high finally breaking with a dramatic thunderstorm which was phenomenal to watch from the comfort of the chalet. On that one day of rain Le Chatox provided table tennis, darts, a cupboardful of games and a selection of DVDs to keep everyone entertained. Temperatures settled around 25 - 28 degrees and we set about exploring and experiencing the area. Between us we cycled (including following a stage of Le Tour de France), walked (Cascade du Pissieu and Chapelle St Bernard) swam and water skied at Lescheraines Lakes, swam and sailed at Lake Annecy on numerous occasions, flew through the trees at Aillon Station Ski Resort (ski-lift up and zip wires and tree-top walkways down - great fun for children and adults alike!), enjoyed the spectacular views from Semnoz, learned about the art of the Chocolatier, shopped in Old Annecy Town and of course at the local Carrefour, especially when we chose to simply relax at Le Chatox and enjoy the weather, the peace and the beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed a number of barbecues at Le Chatox and also ate out in Annecy, at Lescheraines and Lake Annecy benefitting from recommendations from Paul and Wendy - our favourite was Chez Ma Cousine by the water in Doussard. We will definitely return to Le Chatox and we would highly recommend Le Chatox for a fantastic summer holiday.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property and it's location
Liked least: There were no dislikes at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
Probably the most comprehensive review we've received. You really have summed up wonderfully well that Le Chatox is all about going at your pace and relaxing but with marvellous alpine experiences, and animation on offer especially in high summer. Thanks you all for being such brilliant guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Base for Family Skiing Holiday”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent nine nights here as a group of two families with young children on their first skiing holiday during the first week of Easter. We drove which we found surprisingly easy. Le Chatox was absolutely perfect for our group and had plenty of space for the children to play (including table tennis and darts) and for us to relax in the evenings and everything you could possibly need in a holiday home. Paul had sent us all of the information we needed beforehand but was also available to talk through the arrangements for our ski lessons (with Muriel from ESF who was great) and equipment hire (from Christian and Marie from Aillon Sport, also great). We only skied at Margeriaz which is 20 minutes away by car (Paul had already told us that the lower Les Aillons would be closed) which was brilliant for the four beginners and absolutely fine for the fairly rusty two intermediates. The children (10, 9 and 6) took to skiing straight away and loved it. There are many other ski areas accessible by car, including Val Thorens, but we didn't venture far. Despite rain for one day (it was the last week of the season) the skiing conditions were great and the pistes were empty even at the weekend. We didn't have to queue once for the ski lifts and as it was the last week the ski passes were only 12 Euro's each per day. Everyone at Margeriaz (and elsewhere) were very friendly and we particularly enjoyed lunches at La Bergerie. There were some language barriers (we speak very little French) but we got by without too much bother. As we had small children who were exhausted we ate in every evening and the Carrefour supermarket in Le Chatelard had everything we needed. We took snow chains but didn't come close to needing them. Don't use your in-car DVD player on the train (we did and had to be jump started) and don't take the wrong turning and end up in Geneva in rush hour like us! All in all we had a fantastic time and have already booked to go back in the February half term next year.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious and well equipped property
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
Wow! I think your review will help families wit novice skiers to take the plunge ! Skiing at Margeriaz is superb. As you're all returning in February you can try Le Feclaz, Revard and Semnoz! All very cheap day passes and all within 30 mins of your alpine retreat! Thanks so much and great to hear everyone is now up and skiing !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy L
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for a family summer holiday”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

All aspects involved in making the holiday a success were present..... good website (which is how we found out about Le Chatox), easy to book, prompt response by phone from Paul to check that we knew everything we needed to know to be sure it was the right location and type of accommodation for our family, clear directions to find the chalet..... and then.... Wow! - what a view!! - and what a wonderful area to explore on foot, bike, tandem, raft or parapent.... with a well equipped, beautiful chalet to relax in. Yes - the guitar was played, and table tennis featured every evening! Loved the visits from the lizards too. Top tip - on warm evenings, sit outside by candle light when it gets dark, and keep the lights switched off in the house - that way the 'night flying visitors' are not a problem.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose... the view?
Liked least: Lack of internet access (but this is/has been sorted??)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
you guys know how to make the most of Le Chatox... we do the same re the lights..candles and star gazing! Consider yourself "Chatoxed!" come back and ski!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.