We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystones Guest Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 South Scarle B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I went to this Bed and Breakfast with my mother, we had a twin room, the room was lovely and spacious, with tea making facilities, and homemade cake, which was delightful. The room was decorated in keeping with the age of the property [grade two listed building]. The en-suite was a wet room which was clean, and compact. The breakfast was lovely everything you could have wanted, catered for a small or large appetite with homemade preserves. A lovely place to stay would recommend, and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our stay at Greystones was lovely, Sheena and Ian very helpful, nice room with a lot of extra touches and wonderful large bed. Breakfast was superb. Well worth booking and hopefully we will return and recommend to others as after speaking to the owners they have confirmed they are not closing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A wonderful guest house, really comfortable and friendly but discrete service. these guys really know what they are doing and how to do it, must be the best I know, well worth a detour to stay here. Fab

Room Tip: Enjoy....the hosts also give excellent advice on where to get an evening meal nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardat91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a fantastic stay the Greystones is comfortable clean and peaceful, just right for a relaxing weekend away from it all. The owners were perfect hosts friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was fantastic and local produce. It was close enough to Lincoln and the lovely little market town of Newark on Trent was well worth the visit and is not far from the the Greytones.

We came away relaxed and wanting to go back there very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Another wonderful short break at Greystones, and we will be returning again. From the perfect service, to the helpful booking and quiet location, I can't imagine anywhere better to relax. We used Greystones as a base to visit Lincoln and also Eden Hall Spa. The double 4 poster bed is divine, as is the wonderful spa bath. Another perfect few days. Thanks Sheena!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollymarriott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I booked for my partner and I for our Anniversary. When we arrived we felt very welcomed. We stayed in the Hayloft and it was absolutely stunning. Breakfast was gorgeous and it is a great place to explore nearby Lincoln and its shops. Thanks for an amazing time. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiesarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowkes1, Owner at Greystones Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hayloft is lovely to stay in especially if you are celebrating an anniversary or birthday etc. because you can hide away if you wish!
Lincoln is lovely to walk around too with its pretty cobbled streets and the beautiful Cathedral and Castle. Great place to eat too!
We look forward to meeting you again, should you manage to "escape" once again from your busy lives!
regards
Sheena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Greystones is an old stone farmhouse with outbuidings that have been converted to supplement the rooms 'in house'. There is a small contained courtyard which in sunnier and warmer times would be an ideal sitting place. Street parking of cars no problem as on a quiet cul-de-sac.

The room and bed comfortable, had usual refreshment facilities with a nice touch of two delicious slices of fresh home made cake in container.

South Scarle is very quiet but ideally suited to those wanting to visit Lincoln and / or the Newark showground events. It gets very heavily booked around such times so think ahead. Breakfast was first class, apart from fresh fruit salad we had croissant with scrambled egg and mushroom - excellent although 'traditional' available. All breakfast jams / conserves are home made and can be purchased. Decent coffee.

Room in outbuilding compact especially bathroom but to a high standard and immaculate. Annoying handbasin that is tiny but allows the E.U. conditions re wheelchair access to facilities to be met. Shower facility was like a mini wet-room next to toilet but water seemed to drain into a wider area than would expect.

Tried one of the recommended pubs (Lord Nelson) for evening meal and not disappointed, good 'pub grub' at reasonable price.

The owners were very helpful and charming and I would have hesitation in recommending a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowkes1, Owner at Greystones Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit here at Greystones. You are right ... the courtyard is lovely to sit in on a warm sunny day, we did get some this year.. honest!

All of our baking including the bread, jams and marmalades are made here by ourselves and all of our guests enjoy them. I am glad you enjoyed the cake!
The particular room you were in does have a wetroom to comply with local planning rules, and you are quite right... it does get wet. There is a knack to using it! It certainly adds to the experience of staying here!
Thank you for for your comments
regards
Sheena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Scarle
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lord Nelson Inn
The Lord Nelson Inn
#1 of 1 in Besthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.0 mi away
Manor Court
Manor Court
#1 of 39 in Newark-on-Trent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones Guest Accommodation

Property: Greystones Guest Accommodation
Address: Main Street, South Scarle NG23 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > South Scarle
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Scarle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greystones Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury barn conversions ideal for self catering holidays, short breaks, and romantic breaks. Close to Sherwood Forest, Lincoln, Newark on Trent and Nottingham. The stable is a one bedroomed apartment with sofa bed available in lounge for child . This accommodation has a spa bath and walk in shower. It is on the ground floor. The hayloft is up a flight of stairs and is a studio apartment. The four poster bed and large bath makes it ideal for romantic breaks . A great hideaway for two . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Greystones Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Guest Hotel South Scarle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing