We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystones Guest Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 South Scarle B&B and Inns
Bacton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a fantastic stay the Greystones is comfortable clean and peaceful, just right for a relaxing weekend away from it all. The owners were perfect hosts friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was fantastic and local produce. It was close enough to Lincoln and the lovely little market town of Newark on Trent was well worth the visit and is not far from the the Greytones.

We came away relaxed and wanting to go back there very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Another wonderful short break at Greystones, and we will be returning again. From the perfect service, to the helpful booking and quiet location, I can't imagine anywhere better to relax. We used Greystones as a base to visit Lincoln and also Eden Hall Spa. The double 4 poster bed is divine, as is the wonderful spa bath. Another perfect few days. Thanks Sheena!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollymarriott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I booked for my partner and I for our Anniversary. When we arrived we felt very welcomed. We stayed in the Hayloft and it was absolutely stunning. Breakfast was gorgeous and it is a great place to explore nearby Lincoln and its shops. Thanks for an amazing time. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiesarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowkes1, Owner at Greystones Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hayloft is lovely to stay in especially if you are celebrating an anniversary or birthday etc. because you can hide away if you wish!
Lincoln is lovely to walk around too with its pretty cobbled streets and the beautiful Cathedral and Castle. Great place to eat too!
We look forward to meeting you again, should you manage to "escape" once again from your busy lives!
regards
Sheena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Greystones is an old stone farmhouse with outbuidings that have been converted to supplement the rooms 'in house'. There is a small contained courtyard which in sunnier and warmer times would be an ideal sitting place. Street parking of cars no problem as on a quiet cul-de-sac.

The room and bed comfortable, had usual refreshment facilities with a nice touch of two delicious slices of fresh home made cake in container.

South Scarle is very quiet but ideally suited to those wanting to visit Lincoln and / or the Newark showground events. It gets very heavily booked around such times so think ahead. Breakfast was first class, apart from fresh fruit salad we had croissant with scrambled egg and mushroom - excellent although 'traditional' available. All breakfast jams / conserves are home made and can be purchased. Decent coffee.

Room in outbuilding compact especially bathroom but to a high standard and immaculate. Annoying handbasin that is tiny but allows the E.U. conditions re wheelchair access to facilities to be met. Shower facility was like a mini wet-room next to toilet but water seemed to drain into a wider area than would expect.

Tried one of the recommended pubs (Lord Nelson) for evening meal and not disappointed, good 'pub grub' at reasonable price.

The owners were very helpful and charming and I would have hesitation in recommending a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowkes1, Owner at Greystones Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit here at Greystones. You are right ... the courtyard is lovely to sit in on a warm sunny day, we did get some this year.. honest!

All of our baking including the bread, jams and marmalades are made here by ourselves and all of our guests enjoy them. I am glad you enjoyed the cake!
The particular room you were in does have a wetroom to comply with local planning rules, and you are quite right... it does get wet. There is a knack to using it! It certainly adds to the experience of staying here!
Thank you for for your comments
regards
Sheena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here a few weekends back now and although we only stayed one night, the experience was thoroughly enjoyable.

My wife and I had the converted wood shed and although small, it had everything to hand.

The breakfast was stupendous with a bowl of fresh fruit on the table to enjoy before tucking in to traditional English fare.

If there was one thing that was a slight irritation, was the electric kettle in the room which you had to fill up with cups. Not the easiest of things to do.

However, a very enjoyable stay

Kevin Evans
Downham Market, Norfolk

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were looking for a weekend break away for a couple of nights, what we received was the perfect romantic accomodation in a tranquil setting, with a lovely couple who set the highest standards in everything they do.
We were treated to the "Hayloft" for two nights. This self catering accomodation has a four poster king sized bed with luxury duvet and pillows, heart shaped bath, comfortable sofa, widescreen DTV, DVDs and Music CDs, kitchenette with dishwasher, microwave, two electric rings, fridge, etc. Our host, Ian, showed us to the room, took time to show us the under floor heating in the bathroom, and the wall heaters in the bedroom. There was tea, coffee, sugar, milk (in the fridge) and two slices of cake in the kitchenette. Ian showed us where everything was, and explained the times for breakfast. He even booked us a table at a local pub/restaurant for that evening, which he had recommended (more about the Lord Nelson at Besthorpe later).
The following day we enjoyed a full English breakfast, courtesy of Sheena and Ian. It started with a bowl of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast and home made jams. Tea and coffee were plentiful, as was the fried breakfast. A really good start to the day. The rest of the day we spent in Lincoln, taking in the many sites around the grand old city. Returning to Greystones with a M&S meal and a bottle of wine.
The day of our departure we enjoyed the haddock and poached egg for breakfast, before packing and saying our goodbyes.
South Scarle itself is a small village with a church going back to the middle ages. It was near the site of a battle between the Cavaliers and the Roundheads. We were told by some local people out for a walk, that the battle was won by the Roundheads, who then turned on the village and burnt all the thatched roofs on the buildings. This shows today in the way that the buildings are made of stone up to a point where bricks take over (see my photograph of the side wall of Greystones). Greystones itself dates back to Jacobean times, and the interior shows huge wooden beams supporting the place. The village is a mile from the nearest pub, and has a local farm shop just at the side of the church. At night there is an amazing sight (weather permitting) of bright stars and planets in the sky. Although it was too cold for us to venture outside (February), I could imagine sitting out in the garden with a glass or two, enjoying the sights and sounds of the country.

Room Tip: We had the Hayloft which is a room on it's own, away from the rest of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I booked a room at Greystones as a supprise for my girlfriend and was very pleased with the building, the room and the parking upon arrival.

The service was great and the hosts were very attentive and made sure we knew what was what and made sure we had everything we wanted and needed.

We booked the Fleur De Lys room which was a good size and had a very comfy sofa where we were able to sit and have a glass of wine.
We were left some homemade cakes with the tea and coffee making facilities, which was a very nice touch.

The facilities in the room was good with freeview tv, a large walk in cupboard and a deseavingly large ensuite, with a nice selection of toiletries provided.

Breakfast was fantasic and was very fresh. Definitelly one of the best breakfast we have had whilst staying away.

I would definitelly stay here again and will most certainly be recommending Greystones to friends and family!

Many thanks for our lovely stay to Sheena and Ian

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwal1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Scarle
7.1 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lord Nelson Inn
The Lord Nelson Inn
#1 of 1 in Besthorpe
81 reviews
3.3 mi away
Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Manor Court
Manor Court
#1 of 37 in Newark-on-Trent
221 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Greystones Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones Guest Accommodation

Property: Greystones Guest Accommodation
Address: Main Street, South Scarle NG23 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > South Scarle
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Scarle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greystones Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury barn conversions ideal for self catering holidays, short breaks, and romantic breaks. Close to Sherwood Forest, Lincoln, Newark on Trent and Nottingham. The stable is a one bedroomed apartment with sofa bed available in lounge for child . This accommodation has a spa bath and walk in shower. It is on the ground floor. The hayloft is up a flight of stairs and is a studio apartment. The four poster bed and large bath makes it ideal for romantic breaks . A great hideaway for two . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Greystones Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Guest Hotel South Scarle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing