We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice base to visit Melk Stift without Melk prices”
Review of Hotel Moser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moser
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pochlarn
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Downside is that you are perhaps 6 miles from Melk and this hotel faces out onto the railway so on a hot night facing that way there is some noise. But the positive is an excellent room beautifully produced beyond expectations at this price band. This combined with attentive service, an excellent dinner, good beer and one of the best breakfast buffets of my trip to Austria. A good base for visiting this section of the Danube valley and easy to reach Melk by either train or car. Not an inspiring location or architecture but a good unpretentious hotel offering true value.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms facing the railway in high summer when I might want to sleep with the window ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeESussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was convenient for us to reach the airport in the morning, however, we were disappointed. When we arrived we were told that the hotel was full due to a large group who arrived before us. We were offered free food and drinks for the night and an alternative lodging within 500 metres. We refused to take this offer as we felt it was unfair to be refused to stay at the hotel when our booking had been settled for a number of months! Besides that the person who informed us about this could not communicate well in English and thus we could not understand fully what he tried to say. It is not fair to prefer money or larger groups over a booking that had been guaranteed for a long time. We were also given a jar of peaches to make up for the disappointment. So at around 10 in the evening we ended up looking for another hotel and it was not easy to find one at that time and in that area!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place was one of the best places I have ever stayed in throughout Europe, especially for the price. It is close to the highway and railway station. We had a back room and didnt notice any noise - my father had a room at the front and had no issue with noise either. We ate at the restaurant and the meals were extremely hearty, large and delicious. We dont speak much German but they all certainly made an effort to speak english and explain as much as possible. Should we be back in this area, we wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an extremely light sleeper, you may want a back room although we didnt have any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nozndaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Convenienty situated immediately across the road from the town railway station. Met with a warm and friendly welcome after a long day on a bike. Main lobby, bar and restaurant areas are heavily decorated in traditional Austrian style - quaint and inviting. Unfortunately there is no lift and no porter service, and the layout is a bit rambling, so be prepared to drag your luggage ... maybe some distance ... upwards at times! However, a nice refreshing local beer can be found at the bar.

Room was clean, comfortably furnished with a large window overlooking a quiet side road. With the window wide open on a summer evening, train noise wasn't really worrying, but a fan would have been nice. Bathroom was fairly modern.

Family and staff were very friendly and helpful on our short stay. The proprietress offered an overnight laundry service and wifi was free. With the exception of one open café/bar we found on a Saturday night, the town seemed quiet, but the Hotel Moser itself put on a good meal. In fact it seemed the town might have come there along with an accordion and a man to play it! The main bar and restaurant area was very busy, noisy and smokey. Fortunately for those just passing through, there was a choice of some other quieter restaurant rooms, all interestingly decorated, good food and drink.

Breakfast was the usual mainly cold buffet in the room that had been so busy the night before. Our laundry was ready, all neatly folded and on time for our departure. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Overall, the Moser is quite a pleasant little hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilburight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a family run hotel, nicely decorated (a traditional Austrian look I would say). Breakfast was grand and tasty, the staff friendly. In the evening you can sit in a nice bar and have a local beer. All this would give it a 5 star, but one bed in our room was broken and I had to sleep on the floor, Plus I booked a four bed room and ended up with three beds (one of which was broken). It was a last minute booking and there was no free rooms (or so we were told). It was probably just bad luck but I advise to check thoroughly.

The hotel is situated next to a railway station but our windows were loooking at other side and there was no noise.

Room Tip: Room not facing the railway, check the beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcekpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

I stayed in this place which is situated in a very small town, business brought me there ....
The property is family run, very traditional in style, located on the station square, I was fortunate to have a room in the rear and was therefore not disturbed by the possible traffic noise .... it was during the heat wave but the hotel and my room were surprisingly cool ...
the room in itself was not spectacular rather smallish and kind of old fashioned but well kept and very clean, so was the bathroom in 70' style ...
The restaurant downstairs, have also a beer garden but it was not very inviting due to the heat, is serving genuine Austrian food in huge portion ... food was not bad at all but dangerous to waistline
Buffet breakfast correct, they had a large group of retired people on tour that day and service was slow, with streed personnel and it was difficult to get access to the food
ALL IN ALL NOT A BAD PLACE, I WILL CERTAINLY RETURN IF I HAVE TO DO IN THE VICINTY
Pöchlarn is also fairly close to Mauthausen KZ and can make a quiet stopover

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank AESCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ullumuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pochlarn
5.4 mi away
Gasthof Goldener Stern
0.3 mi away
Privatzimmer Familie Wagner
0.7 mi away
Gasthof Paradiesgartl
Gasthof Paradiesgartl
#4 of 6 in Pochlarn
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pension Barbara
Pension Barbara
#1 of 6 in Pochlarn
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moser

Address: Bahnhofplatz 3, Pochlarn 3380, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Pochlarn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pochlarn
Price Range: $53 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moser 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Moser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing