We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad as such...”
Review of Gastehaus Sunkler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Sunkler
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad as such...”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location of Golling (an der Salzach) is great. Salzburg is around 40 Km North, Koenigsee-Eagle's nest is 35 Km east, Hallstatt is 50 Km west and Alps is everywhere around - so u can enjoy stunning views from everywhere. Staying in Golling is in this sence advantageous.
The guest house Suenkler was ok, we didn't find anything worth major complaining. There is a spa-bath behind guest house. Restaurants and supermarket are 5 mins walk away. Breakfast was okay. And the owner Fr. Suenkler was very friendly and helpful. You get a lot of information brochures, maps and vouchers in hotel itself.

Only major problem was Wi-Fi was not good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep-Ajanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We wanted to just stay over night. We got a room with good beds and a bathroom with shower.
Everything was clean. We got a parking place at the yard. The owner, Mrs Sunkler, was friendly nad very helpful. The buffet breakfast was tasty including the normal things, boiled and fried eggs and a variety of different fruits an cheeses.
A down to earth accomodation. 5 minutes walk to the village center with a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sedelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Room looked old and worn. Bathroom was dirty. No air conditioning or fan or window, just a sliding door. No screen on the door, so to allow air in the room you also had bugs coming in. Smoking on communal balcony another reason door could not be left open. Kitchen was filthy! Coffee pot and cheese slicer not cleaned from one day to next. Bowls of jam left out overnight to attract flies. Wifi only in small area on top floor, which was hot and uncomfortable to sit in. Lights in wifi area were on timer and went out every 5 minutes. Overall, a very poor choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJZ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The owner just left the keys for us at night. The rooms were good enough with everything we needed. Breakfast was great, the dining room is nice. The guesthouse is in Gölling in a valley surrounded with the hills of the Alps. Supermarket is within 100m. Calm place next to the bike route and road.

Room Tip: Number 12 faces the street and mountains, Number 15 faces the garden and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisztián B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golling an der Salzach
1.7 mi away
Gasthof Pass Lueg Hohe
Gasthof Pass Lueg Hohe
#1 of 4 in Golling an der Salzach
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Torrenerhof
Torrenerhof
#4 of 4 in Golling an der Salzach
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hauslwirt
Hotel Hauslwirt
#2 of 4 in Golling an der Salzach
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Auwirt
Hotel Auwirt
#1 of 2 in Hallein
69 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kolpinghaus Hallein
Kolpinghaus Hallein
#2 of 2 in Hallein
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Golingen
Hotel Pension Golingen
#3 of 4 in Golling an der Salzach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Sunkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Sunkler

Property: Gastehaus Sunkler
Address: Obergaeu 63, Golling an der Salzach 5440, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Golling an der Salzach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Golling an der Salzach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located on the outskirts of Golling . The country-style rooms have a shower , toilet , cable TV . Top restaurants are located in the center of Golling . The center with the historic castle and the museum can be reached in 5 minutes on foot . The swimming pool / spa paradise Aqua Salza is 200 meters . Golling Train Station is 800 meters away and trains to and from the city of Salzburg run regularly at short intervals . Our private parking are free, and even larger vehicles (even with trailer) have space . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gastehaus Sunkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Sunkler Austria/Golling An Der Salzach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing