We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were really impressed”
Review of ALTA Cebu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ALTA Cebu Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Reviewed January 19, 2010

To the entire family at ALTA, It is hard to say goodbye after staying here so long. Thank you for your smiles, warm hospitality and eagerness to please our sometimes unique or  peculiar needs. Of all the places we have used over the years, ALTA is the best.  ALTA's genuinely friendly, caring staff treated us like we were part of your family. This has definitely been a home away from home for us and we hope to be back soon. 
(Program Specialist for a major U.S.  volunteer organization)

Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank VolenteerR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 324 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

What can I say about ALTA. I have spent 6 months at ALTA and consider it my home away from home. The staff are so friendly, helpful, and always take time to greet you. ALTA is a wonderful place to spend holidays, to try local delicacies which is always interesting being a Canadian, and to enjoy the beauty of the gardens.

From wall climbing, swimming, ping pong, or walking through out the resort there is always something to keep active. I also took a relaxing tour of the Bay and mangroves with a local fisherman which I would recommend.

One of the things I like the most about ALTA is how proactive they are in caring about the environment. They have a recycling program, use local goods, conserve on water and electricity, and even compost. Being in a country of indifference towards today's environmental issues, it is a breath of fresh air.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank siteseer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 12, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I am giving you a step by step review of our visit just because there were so many problems with this resort..........

When we arrived at the Alta Cebu resort everything seemed fine until we entered our room which smelled disgusting like cigarette smoke. We decided to look over this as we were only staying 2 nights. We were very hungry when we arrived so we decided to go to the restaurant to order some food, out of 5 or 6 sandwiches which were on offer only one was available and it was the most expensive, the prices were extortionate over 200 pesos for a sandwich on dry, sweet bread with 10 french fries, it was explained on the menu as slices of chicken (or something like that) the sandwich contained about 2% chicken the rest was filled with salad, needless to say we were still hungry and it tasted disgusting.
We decided to go and relax by the pool ummm relaxing not! There was some sort of conference on which had people passing through the pool area constantly for about an hour shouting and laughing and then they decided to turn on the karoke machine! at this point we decided to go for a walk, in fairness the main road wasn't far away only a few minutes walk and the resort isn't as remote as others have made out. We decided not to eat at the restaurant again after the first bad experience.
We were badgered by the staff for not wanting to join in the "fun and games" of the new years eve party and they looked at us in disgust when we told them we wouldn't be joining them for a 600 pesos dinner.
90% of people in the hotel were old men with young fillipino wives or girlfriends.

The COMPLIMENTARY breakfast was something else and not in a good way, the menu states you can choose either fillipino, american or continental breakfast for free with a choice of items on the american beakfast, but on arrival in the restaurant we weren't offered a menu just told it was buffet with no choice of what we wanted to order so basically it was their choice!
When we asked to get a taxi to lapu lapu market the next day we were question by staff as to why we wanted to go there and what we were going to buy which i thought was very rude and intrusive.
When we arrived back at the hotel after our trip, nobody had been in our room to change towels give us more toilet paper or change our sheets, we had dirty glasses etc in our room when we went and told staff they just said 'oh you want your room cleaned?' ok we will tell the cleaning staff, surely this is mandatory in a 4 star hotel. The cleaning staff took around an hour to arrive, but cleaned our room nicely.

The pool area was lovely if only it had been more relaxing and we didn't find it a problem that it wasn't close to a beach as we already knew this before we arrived.

This hotel has great potential to be excellent as the grounds etc are lovely but the small basic things just aren't there which you expect when staying in a hotel which i know about as i have worked in the tourism industry for many years.

To be honest we were so relieved to get out of there we left a few hours early for the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat_B86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CebuLarry, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2010

I am Larry, the American owner of ALTA. I have lived in the Philippines for 10 years, so I know a lot about this wonderful culture. Sometimes guests who do not know the culture are disappointed with their experience.

Filipino culture is quite different from western cultures. Because of that staff frequently feel they need to be extremely polite, even if it means not answering a request because it might appear rude. Secondly, the Filipino culture is not one of consistency. ALTA does extensive training, but in some cases the culture is stronger then the training. Unless there is a westerner or a western thinking Filipino to deal with guest relations, any resort in the Philippines will have misunderstandings with guests. I fill this role at ALTA. These two recent negative reviews came at a time when I was away visiting family with no one to fill my role.

After speaking with my wife and manager (who were there at the time) here is what I think happened.

1. Room. We do have non smoking rooms. Did they ask for a non smoking room? We are glad to move guests who prefer non smoking. All our rooms are less than 4 years old. They are built by American standards and are clean and comfortable.


2. Food. Compared to other 4 star resorts in Cebu, our prices are reasonable. My wife and I often visit other resorts and eat at their restaurants to make sure we are competitive. Most, if not all 4 star resorts that we visit also have the same problem of things on the menu not being available. Our award winning chef graduated from culinary school. In the rare case where someone is not satisfied, our chef will cook another meal for no additional charge if the meal is not acceptable. We even take special orders for things that are not on the menu.



3. Entertainment. Filipinos love parties. We have also had loud westerners. All Cebu hotels and resorts have noisy functions and events. We have also had guests complain that ALTA is too quiet. For people who look for relaxation with minimal noise, they might ask us in advance if we are having any events scheduled during their stay.

4. Badgering. Rude and intrusive staff? This is highly unlikely in a culture which values extreme politeness. I am thinking that the staff's was just trying to be helpful. Most of our staff has been with us for years. It seems inconceivable that any of our staff would ever look at a guest in disgust. 5. His comment about older men with younger girls goes for all resorts in Cebu. Even if what he says is true (guest ratio 90%) they were only there for 2 days, which makes it hard to draw conclusions about the normal mix of guests. In fact, from what I observe, our guest ratio is similar to other resorts.


5. Food. The buffet is standard at most resorts. It is actually an upgrade, since there is more selection. They do not say if the food tasted good or not.



6.No change of towel?
If there was a function going on at the same time, probably ALTA was understaffed. This can happen anywhere. To assume this is how ALTA is always run is not reasonable, in my opinion. If they desperately needed a towel and made a second request, most likely the towels would arrive quickly.

7. All things considered, ALTA's room prices and food prices are reasonable and we offer many things for free at ALTA that a guest would have to pay for at other resorts. In short, ALTA offers very good value.

I do appreciate that they said a few nice things about us in conclusion. We do value suggestions from guests on how we can improve the guest's stay at ALTA. I wish I could have been there to help make their stay a happier one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 2, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 12, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 4, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cordova
4.5 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 43 in Mactan Island
744 reviews
6.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
5.3 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALTA Cebu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALTA Cebu Resort

Address: Pilipog, Cordova 6017, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Price Range: $37 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALTA Cebu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ambiance at Alta Cebu Resort is truly unique - with the feel of a tropical rain forest, modern cozy facilities, genuine service. With 50 rooms, it has the feel of a casual, intimate estate in a tropical paradise. Alta is a place where guests can meet liked-minded travelers from around the world; this includes families on vacation, couples seeking a romantic hideaway and those who want to experience a new culture. Alta also offers sustainable tourism or volunteer programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your ALTA Cebu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Cebu Hotel Cordova
Alta Hotel Cebu
ALTA Cebu Resort Cebu Island/Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing