We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
127
109
48
35
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
109
48
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteam buildingmactan islandspent a weeknice poolfree shuttleisland hoppingrelaxing staymangolarryresortphilippinesrelaxationmspros
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 346 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

I chose to stay here because of it's green vast area. I love how they innovate the native filipino nipa hut. Too bad that you can't stay at the terrace too long because there are so many mosquitoes especially at night. Not a beachfront resort, but they private access to the mangroves.

Food
They offer buffet for breakfast. Nothing special, they have to improve the quality of the food they serve. Some servers are not attentive. During dinner, I ordered Crispy Pata and it was heaven at a very affordable price.

Rooms
It's big and air conditioning works great, but the water from the sink and shower smells awful.

Pool
It was big and up to 6ft deep. You can swim up to midnight

Downside
The resort is mostly jam packed because many companies chose to held here their company events. So, it's a bit noisy that ruins the relaxing vibes you wanted.

Nearby Place
It's around 10mins ride away from Lantaw Floating Restaurant (a must visit) and right next to it is the 10000 Roses. And just a tip when going to the airport, better to book a grab car because it's more cheaper (the hotel charges 475 for airport shuttle service)

Overall experience
It was a relaxing stay (despite the noise and the crowd), kudos to all your friendly front desk and house keeping staff. They are all smiles and very helpful.

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank Ace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry T, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Hello

Thanks for the glowing report on our wonderful gardens!

The mosquito supper is between 4 and 7, breakfast is from 4 to 7 Am.
Wear repellent those times.

We have lots of fish and geckos to eat the little monsters. If you think mosquitoes are no fun, try going to Minnesota, land of 10,000 lakes and even more mosquitoes.

Why did Noah take mosquitoes on the Ark, by the way? God's plan to punish us for hiking? LOL.

The mosquito problem here is very small, in comparison to many other places. I have been to Hawaii. It is worse there.

We do also have a boat dock and you can organize island hopping from our marina.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

its a nice resort were you can relaxed and they also offering vibrants rooms and an airy restaurant they have also bar plus an outdoor pool and karaoke.were the staff accommodating and very good service.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank yramrolfdiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry T, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

We need more guests like you;Guests who get our "vision"

There is nothing I can add, except thank you for validating our dedicated team and all the many hours of hard work to make it possible

Larry ,Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

This resort is a little bit remote and the shop on site is very limited on what it stocks, its limits ted to drinks, snacks and some bathing suits. It would be a suggestion to also stock toiletries, shampoos, mosquitos cream, shaving products etc. The nearest supermarket is about 10 minutes away in a pedalcab.
The pool, pool area, garden walks, and activities are all good condition, clean and very enjoyable.
The staff here are amazing, polite, friendly, well dressed and nothing is to much trouble. There is amazing plants and gardens, which are kept it tip top condition. There are 2 swimming pools, both are clean and perfect temperature.
The entertainment in the bar at night is really good, the second naggers ar amazing.
The food is also very good, a big selection which is changed daily.
Now for the negatives, all of which are minor but it would be great if the management looked into improvements in these areas.
The catering staff cannot time management the cooking, on nearly every evening our dinners were brought out incorrectly, the appetisers brought out after the main course, the main courses brought out 10minutes apart meaning we ate at different times.
The stock management needs to be revised, the bar ran out of San Miguel for 3 days, the restaurant run out of garlic bread for more than 3 days. I suggested popping do to the supermarket and buying, but the said its to expensive, even though it's half the price as the bar price.
The breakfast service is always 10 to 15 minutes late, when it does open on time the buffet trays are empty and the omelette service starts 20mins after its open.
The price of wines, beers and hotel organisation send trips are high, one 75ml bottle of cheap ros'e wine cost me 1220 peso, I can buy 3litres of the same in Gasaigno for 500 peso. The local city tour cost 7800peso for 2 people, out of which lunch was 570peso, entrance to the church was 100, fuel was a couple of hundred peso, the car and driver was probably 1500 max. Giving a very big profit to the resort.

But, all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort, the positives far exceed the negatives. I would highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: Our room was non smoking, single story so no noise from above. Ideally situated to the pool and restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank v8vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry T, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thanks for your nice review

We have taken note of your ideas and will implement your suggestions

Kind regards
Larry, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

This place is a pleasant surprise for me and my friend that we stayed here...
nice European stile village resort with clean room for reasonable price and good food.
Slow clap for the owners keep it up.

Room Tip: talk to the owner
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mbenigno393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry T, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

I am the owner, and I accept your compliment, graciously
Hope to meet you personally on your next trip to Alta Cebu.

Thanks
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

This resort has great value. This was my first time in Philippines and its harder to get around as there is no subway or train system and jeep is hard to use but the staff was friendly and was good with arranging our tours. Breakfast was good each morning and they have a singer at the bar each night you can have dinner poolside. Each night i got the specials which were delicious and were set at a good price. The room was nice and had a comfy bed and cold air condition.

Room Tip: get a room near the fd
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Huang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry T, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

If i could only say 3 things about us, it is our genuinely friendly service, our magnificent village garden ambiance and , of course, the value element.

I'm usually a humble guy, but it is fun to brag about our labor of love.

Most guests stay weeks or months . Unlike other resorts with stays of 1 to 3 days.

More time to find our faults , but the ones who "get us" can overlook a few flaws

Thanks for the kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews