We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They can write the book on customer service”
Review of ALTA Cebu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ALTA Cebu Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent a week at the resort and from the transportaion being arranged for a midnight pick-up, to the necklace and drink given while checking in, my experience started off quite well. I had to alert management to a noise problem created by a group at the hotel with rooms on either side of mine. Not only did they give us another room, they upgraded us to a Deluxe room and treated us to dinner! All of the staff were friendly, polite, and very helpful. The massage was great! The food in the dining room was fantastic and very reasonably priced.

I do recommend the Deluxe room. The room was larger and the A/C could be left running when you left the room. Their website to me did not do the difference in the rooms justice and the email from customer service ahead of time really did not explain the difference.

The pool, bar, grounds, free wifi, available activities (they can arrange for snorkeling, diving, sightseeing, etc.) and the massage facilities are great. It is a nice place to relax if you are going to Cebu.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjk363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CebuLarry, Manager at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks for this very flattering review. I think we are the only one if not one of the few resorts who is very flexible when it comes to guest's needs and comments. We, at Alta would always want that guests would feel that they are part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 323 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hello again,
My 2nd visit to Alta was for Valentines Day, we had a special booth were we shared a 4 course dinner and wine. Service and staff as usual were excellent. We spent 2 nights and once again could not fault the hospitality of everyone at the resort. Keep up the good work, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CebuLarry, Manager at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for the nice words. It is always our pleasure to serve you the best as we can ensuring that you will have the best memories of your stay at Alta! Looking forward to seeing you the third time soon!

Vivian Quindala
Operations Manager
Alta Cebu Village Garden Resort and Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited there for 2 nights with group of friends and kids. Very relaxing rustic holiday environmetn in south of Mactan Island. Place was nice, clean and staff was very friendly. Swimming pool was not the biggest one we have seen, but definitely enough for our group. Generally very nice and affordable place. Will definitely consider of going back.

Ps. please note that it is bit difficult to get taxi there, so leave your watch at home and don't stress out if you need to wait few extra minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CebuLarry, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for the very flattering review. A few notes for future guests: Always best if you ask us to pick you up (normally same cost compared to taxi) or bring a Google map with you to show taxi driver. Since the rules are a little different here, meaning some taxi drivers are a bit unscrupulous and preferring to negotiate rather than use meters, we do recommend that you let us pick you up at the airport or at the port. Just write or call and ask us to set it up.

Once you are here, we provide a map and instructions on how to deal with taxi drivers. And if a taxi driver does try to negotiate with you, either on the way out or on the ride back, our guard can and will broker make sure that the taxi driver will turn on his meter. We also publish best practices to follow when taking taxis (part of your info package available at the front desk). Thanks again for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 11 nights at the Atla Resort. All the staff are great and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a premium room that was very nice and a bit different with the paintings on the walls.
Would I stay there again? Definately Yes,, That says it all

Room Tip: Go Premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robmva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been visiting Cebu for a number of years as my wife originates from the there. Our trip this time starting in early January was for 4 weeks and we had an itinerary mapped out where we would be staying both in the city and the provinces. My wife was keen to have her sisters and their 2 young children stay with us for a few days as they had never had anything that resembled a holiday and we decided that Alta would be ideal as there would not be the restrictions that a conventional hotel would bring. Well we were not wrong Alta is not conventional, it can best be described as a collection of bungalows set in a tropical rainforest, but with all the modern amenities. The kids loved it, they had the freedom to roam the grounds safely and use of the pool which they spent hours enjoying. As for the adults what more could you want than just sitting arround the pool relaxing and enjoying a drink. As for the food it was fine, breakfast was freshly cooked and adequate and the evening meal was varied and delicious and they also stock some decent wines. Staff wise they can't be faulted always polite and smiling. Some of the previous reviewers have made mention of the problems with taxis. We never found this, if we asked the reception to order a taxi it was there within 5 minutes and it was always metered and therefore we were never ripped off. On our last day after checking out we were moving to a hotel in Cebu city centre and reception asked if we would like to use their own car and driver. which we did and we driven door to door for 600 pesos not expensive by western standards. finally I would like to say thanks to Larry the owner of the resort, he's very hands on and if there are any minor niggles he will get them sorted..Would we go back to Alto yes we will, hopefully towards the end of the year and the kids are alreadyexcited at the prospect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Alta is located in a mainly residential area away from the ocean. The taxi driver did have difficulty finding it but there are signs off the main road. We only found one other sit down restaurant in the area. The wifi worked well and a small safety deposit box is available at the reception desk. The breakfast that was a buffet was good but if there are not many people at the hotel, they offer a smaller set menu selection of food. There is a free shuttle bus to a beach at 9:00 and you have to pay to use the beaches ( we paid 90 pesos) and you have to pay a taxi to get back to the Alta ( from 200 to 500 pesos).The place is noisy as you can hear other guests and staff outside and there are numerous airplanes that fly almost directly overhead. We did have a misadventure as 2 days before we left we asked the shuttle driver if the shuttle was available to take us to our next hotel. He said 'yes' so we went to the front desk and scheduled the shuttle for 11:30. The next day the driver came by us at the pool and mentioned he was driving us. On our day of departure at 11:20 the front desk told us the driver was on his way. I checked a few more times and each time was assured the driver was on his way or was just about at the Alta. At 12:30 I finally went to another staff and explainied the situation. He then said he would drive us in his private vehicle. We are thankful to him and it leaves us wondering why numerous staff kept telling us the shuttle was on its way when there was no shuttle available.
One of the things we really did appreciate is that staff at the resort will take you to the orphanage a short distance away. There appears to be a good working relationship between the Alta and the orphanage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CebuLarry, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We’d like to thank this reviewer for the complimentary review. Because this guest had never been to the Philippines, she probably had little idea what to expect. Therefore, she can be forgiven for making some erroneous assumptions.

All resorts in Cebu are in “mainly residential areas”. We are a bay-front resort. The ocean directly accessed from Alta Cebu- a few hundred meters distance from Alta Cebu- at the opening to Alta Bay. There is a bridge connecting Alta Cebu Resort to Alta Bay and dock and we do offer rafting tours of the bay and nearby shallow ocean with plenty of tropical fish to be seen.


We do recommend using Alta Cebu’s airport pick up service (at about the same price as taxis charge) to avoid getting lost after a long and tiring journey. Some taxi drivers overcharge and some will try and hard-sell another resort to make a commission. It is worth noting that Alta Cebu is the closest resort to Cebu City. Since they normally work with no maps and no training (also, this is a high turnover job), there are many taxi drivers in Cebu who often get lost when looking for other resorts as well.

There are at least 6 restaurants nearby. Our butler is always happy to discuss nearby things to do and restaurants.

We do not get many complaints about noise, especially from those guests who know what to expect when they visit the Philippines. All resorts in the Philippines are noisy at times- as is Alta Cebu. For many Filipinos and some other Asians and Westerners, noise equals fun. At 7.5 acres (3 hectares) Alta Cebu is one of the larger resorts in Cebu; there are always quiet places to retreat to in the gardens, at Alta Bay Dock or by the swimming pools. We are (this month) completing a new swimming pool, located far away from the guest rooms, so that the noise-lovers can make noise without bothering the guests who want to sleep early.
We have a rule that staff needs to be quiet when working near the guest rooms.

There are also times when guests say we are too peaceful. It all depends on the crowd that day- same as all resorts. We do have a noise-curfew at night, so that guests can sleep in peace.

Generally, planes fly infrequently and they are quite high in the sky-the airport is about 8 miles away- so the noise is not even notice by most guests. In fact, many guests enjoy watching them.

We apologize about the shuttle incident. Alta Cebu does extensive ongoing training (often daily). Sometimes staff makes wrong assumptions or say things without checking first-something which will be found even at the most expensive 5 star resorts. This habit is cultural, which makes it difficult to correct, even with frequent training.

Alta Cebu Resort is the biggest donator to the orphanage and many guests also donate time and money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here with our kids and my parents in January 2013 for several days as we were doing volunteer work at the orphanage next door. The location was super convenient for this, though fairly inconvenient for any other amenities. (And quite honestly, Mactan/Cordova aren't the greatest locations in the Philippines if you are looking for beaches, so we didn't mind that it wasn't near a beach.) The resort is a nice, chilled-out little oasis with lots of personality (the landscaping, the activity areas, the room decor). The restaurant and breakfast were both good, and the staff were helpful and accommodating. My kids enjoyed the pool and hammocks a lot when we weren't working at the orphanage, and the owner introduced himself to my parents to make sure their stay was enjoyable. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam_SHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CebuLarry, Owner at ALTA Cebu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

This review is very flattering, and we are most grateful that this guest took the time to write some nice things about us. The only thing mentioned that we take exception to is the fact that we are not far from Cebu city- as compared to our peers (all other resorts are farther travel time than Alta Cebu). In fact there are 6 or more restaurants within a ¼-1 mile radius and many and many more malls, restaurants and other tourist activities within a 6 mile radius of Alta Cebu. If a guest wants to escape the noise, pollution and lack of beauty which is the norm for most big cities in under-developed countries, they have no choice but to take the 30 to 45 minute taxi drive from Alta Cebu. Keep in mind that almost all the congestion is inside the city, not on our island, so most hotels in the city have extended travel time as well. Some malls, restaurants and other popular attractions (including all water sports and activities) are actually closer to Alta Cebu than from popular Cebu hotels.

One more thing we’d like to mention is that Alta Cebu does offer a daily shuttle to beaches on Mactan Island.

Thanks again to this guest for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cordova
4.5 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
729 reviews
6.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALTA Cebu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALTA Cebu Resort

Address: Pilipog, Cordova 6017, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Price Range: $39 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALTA Cebu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ambiance at Alta Cebu Resort is truly unique - with the feel of a tropical rain forest, modern cozy facilities, genuine service. With 50 rooms, it has the feel of a casual, intimate estate in a tropical paradise. Alta is a place where guests can meet liked-minded travelers from around the world; this includes families on vacation, couples seeking a romantic hideaway and those who want to experience a new culture. Alta also offers sustainable tourism or volunteer programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your ALTA Cebu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Cebu Hotel Cordova
Alta Hotel Cebu
ALTA Cebu Resort Cebu Island/Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing