We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cordova Reef Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Reviewed July 31, 2007

All I cn say is that Cordova Reosrt was fantastic!The rooms were really clean and elegant looking. The tubs are perfect for honeymooners like us!i highly recommend this place to those whi really want some romantic private moment.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank iceprincess01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for the heart warming comment, we are looking forward to accommodate you again in the near future, we are wishing you the best in your life. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 138 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2005

This was without a doubt the worst holiday for us. Cordova Reef Village Resort was just awful. Beside everything that went wrong (and we have only listed the major things here), the resort is surrounded by a VERY poor residential area and we noticed one night that a few of them were carrying guns. Security at the resort was practically non existent so this made us feel very vulnerable. We stayed for 11 days. We actually tried to leave the day after we arrived but everywhere else was fully booked while we were there. When we arrived, the phones did not work and it took a week to get them fixed and then they only worked for one day. This just compounded the problem as whenever anything went wrong I did not have the convenience of just picking up the phone to get it sorted out. Here goes: Accommodation - 1. The rooms were filthy, there was a thick layer of dirt near the shower which housekeeping never cleaned up even though we pointed it out. 2. Room was not well lit so very dark in the middle of the day. 3. Phones did not work so could not order room service (not that you would want to!). 4. Housekeeping would forget to make up our rooms so on one day we were left without towels, toilet paper and soap. 5. We constantly had to ask housekeeping to replenish amenities such as soap and toilet paper. 6. Mini bar was not restocked everyday with water (water is not drinkable in the Philippines so bottled water is essential) so we would run out. 7. Spa bath did not work at all. Food - 1. The food was DISGUSTING. The mashed potatoes were literally like rubber. We had to eat elsewhere everynight and this resort is in the middle of nowhere so the nearest place was about a 30 min taxi ride - this was obviously an added expense. 2. We ate at the restaurant the first night and there were only 8 guests in the restaurant and we had to wait 45 minutes for our meal. When we inquired about the wait we were told that they were "a little bit busy" (I nearly choked on my pineapple juice!). 3. Advertised the rate as being inclusive of a buffet breakfast - we never saw it! Facilities - 1. The pool lounge chairs and tables were absolutely filthy. They looked like they had never been cleaned. 2. The pool was not cleaned once in our first week there. General - 1. We hired a jetski that needed servicing. There was just no power to it. 2 - one night we were woken up in the middle of the night by a loud bang in our room. We could not find what had caused it so no problem. Just about to fall back asleep when the mini bar fridge starts making really loud noises. We eventually get that fixed ourselves and just about to get back to sleep and at 5am the staff start blaring music from the restaurant area. Because the phones are not working it means I have to get up and dressed and walk to reception to get them to fix it. We had been there almost a week at this stage and had had enough. We asked to speak to the manager. 2 days later we had heard nothing so we asked again. They ended up sending the sales manager to see us and he past on our complaints to the manager. 2 days later we still had not heard from the manager and they sent the assistant operations manager to see us and we were told that there is no resort manager. By this time there was another family who had arrived and left out of disgust also. They told us that the resort tried to get them to pay a higher room rate on leaving! Another thing that also compounded our frustration was that when we first arrived it was just my husband and I there and 3 Korean couples so service was quite skimpy - which did not bother us too much, but when a few Europeans started to arrive suddenly the pool was being cleaned every morning, nice music was being played at breakfast etc. They eventually gave us a very small discount and we refused to pay for any food we had while there and then on checking out they tried to get us to pay for more. I lost it and we left. We wised up and spent most of our days at the Shangrila Mactan Island Resort during the day. I would recommend that place or Alegre or Pulchre!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank hischicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are indeed thankful for your comment for it will help us more better that it happen in the past. The new management right now are working so hard to satisfy the guest, and will make cordova reef a better place to stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 503takayukiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank 현종 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Epootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank SeongKwan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iker Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cordova
6.9 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
503 reviews
4.7 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
729 reviews
1.5 mi away
ALTA Cebu Resort
ALTA Cebu Resort
#1 of 4 in Cordova
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
#22 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
148 reviews
6.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
4.3 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordova Reef Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordova Reef Village Resort

Address: Sitio Bantayan Poblacion, Cordova, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Price Range: $62 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cordova Reef Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Southern tip of Mactan Island, approximately 20 minutes from the Mactan International Airport, Cordova Reef Village Resort's unique round villas are nestled in lush tropical greenery in absolute privacy. The 4-hectare property has a generous sized pool and a view of the ocean where guests can watch the sunset and unwind at the resort's Kota Beach Bar.The resort is also within close proximity to Cebu's only floating native restaurant, Lantaw and a 20 minute boat ride to the Marine Sanctuary of Hilutungan where guests can snorkel and swim amongst at least 30 different species of marine life.Cordova Reef Village Resort is the ideal place that gives guests a simple and carefree idyllic vacation in a seaside village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordova Reef Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordova Reef Village Hotel Cordova
Cordova Reef Village Resort Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing