We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere quiet away from Cebu City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordova Reef Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Somewhere quiet away from Cebu City”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We are two couples and stayed at Cordova Reef for two nights. We found the place to be rather "soul less". The huge round restaurant could do with a makeover. Perhaps some of the local crafts on display for a bit of variety and decoration. The ceiling is beautiful though with the biggest chanelier I have ever seem. The reception area is lacking in design also. So much you could do to liven it up. Yes the little round white villas were nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. Pillows were fine too. The bathroom is big but our shower had more water coming out of the top than the rain shower head...needed to be updated. Lots of hot water which was great. Pool is lovely. It is in a quiet area and far from restaurants etc. we ate lunch there and it was expensive. we ended up getting a taxi to the Grand Mall which turned out to be a great find. Department store was cheap for clothes (bought mens JAG shorts for husband- very cheap). We found the Mooon Mexican Restaurant on the third floor which was fantastic. If you want a quiet hotel/resort then this is what you will get. We and another couple were the only ones there,. Service was very good too. Make sure you book your taxi to the airport the night before as they have to come a long way. We almost missed out flight!!! If you want to be out of the city and nearer to the airport then this is a good alternative.

Room Tip: Book your taxi with plenty of time to spare if you are going to airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment, because it is indeed helpful to us more especially to the new management. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    35
    20
    15
See reviews for
28
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The place is very quite, have friendly staffs ready to assist specially Victor from the front desk who always welcome us. They don't accept Day use only guests so the place is not crowded. They have beautiful white circular villas which I found very unusual and the well maintained lawn but It takes us 20 mins to wait for a cab every time we go out the resort but I understand because in Plantation Bay and Costabella we experienced the same so every time we planned to go out we inform the Front Desk ahead so that they can call a cab for us in advance. But anyways its my third visit in Cebu and Im planning to return on my next vacation and stay in this resort again.

Room Tip: Always inform the front desk ahead if you plan to go out so that they can call a cab in advance. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikhael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the heart warming comment, we are looking forward to serve you in the near future. Thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were booked to stay at the Cordova for 6 days but changed to a different hotel after 3 at our own expense. On arrival there was lack of information and facilities of the hotel or map of complex. We are not big eaters, but had exhausted the one restaurant and one bar (which had the same menu for both) and very limited having to eat lunch and dinner in one or the other. Also not all choices were available. They would only serve wine by the bottle even though it was listed on there menu per glass.
We were advised that there were not sufficient guest in the hotel to warrant opening a bottle.
The american breakfast was a choice of one item with eggs not the buffet style expected. Very few other guests in the hotel probably due to the constant kareoke singing which was from 10.00am to early hours of the morning at the weekend and Monday when we thought it would be quiet it started at 1.00pm till late. No peace an quiet at all which is what we wanted. The gym equipment and in a very poor state of repair almost to the point of being unsafe. Poor Wifi connection in the villas very interminate and almost unusable.
Rooms and housekeeping were clean. Only a couple of staff members had good english which made requests difficult when they were not around.
On the whole alot of money wasted on a very badly run hotel.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getaway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so thankful for your comment, for it is indeed helpful to us more especially to our new management. We looking forward to serve you more better to your satisfaction in the near future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cordova hotels

cagayan de oro city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I'm a bit surprised about the negative feedback i've read here about Cordova reef vilage resort. I visited the resort last month and I was amazed at the place! The staff were very warm and accommodating! It's a bit far from the city proper, yes, but if you want to rest from the bustling and polluted city, this is place for you. I figured it out why the previous reviews and stays of other reviewers about this place is not that good and on the contrary i had a very good one. It is because they are now in a new management! that is good news for all! give it a try and u won't regret! with this also comes their new website where in you can directly book online! Visit http://cordovareef.cebumactanhotels.com/

I hope you guys will enjoy your stay as i did!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jannahl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so much thankful for the heart warming comment, we are looking forward to be able to served you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A very depressing hotel, with bad food and even worse service. I would not recommend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAvBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
The New management would like to thank you for your comment, for we need that for us to better served you and other guest that we will soon have.

Your Comment is indeed helpful to us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After arriving i was practically invisible! The front desk staff were clueless about how to handle a reservation or take care of the needs of their guests. The manager then asked me if the girl with me was my wife and if not we were not allowed to stay there? WOW! The pool was cloudy and dirty, Beach was full or rocks and trash, rooms were incomplete and missing amenities, food was defiantly over priced and under prepared. When i had asked for a room change due to no WiFi signal the switched my room 3 times to get a signal. After 1 day there i quickly transferred to Shangrala Mactan. Im glad i did...stay away from this place. What a waste of time and money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
we would like to thank you for your comment, for it is indeed helpful to us together with the new management.

We are looking forward to serve you more better to your satisfactions, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Advertises WiFi in room, it was busted upon arrival. Although, to there credit they did accommodate me immediately in another room. Big +++ .

Room still needs cleaned from last occupants. I found the staff overall to be very pleasant and helpful. Interesting, even at 5 star hotels the Filipino staff would not wait for a tip, I found that here they seemed to expect it, which surprised me. (until recently I lived in Cebu for 3 years).

OVERALL: Nice room concepts, needs repainting or cleaning. If you try to bargain hunt, which I did this time, then it's buyer beware. If you want things to run smoother or are use to high expectations, etc... then you need to shell out more for a Marriott, Shangri-La, etc,,,,, I wish I would have done that, but that for me personally.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment, for it is indeed helpful to us more especially to our new management.

we are looking forward to better served you in the near future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cordova
4.7 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.5 mi away
ALTA Cebu Resort
ALTA Cebu Resort
#1 of 4 in Cordova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.3 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordova Reef Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordova Reef Village Resort

Property: Cordova Reef Village Resort
Address: Sitio Bantayan Poblacion, Cordova, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cordova Reef Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Southern tip of Mactan Island, approximately 20 minutes from the Mactan International Airport, Cordova Reef Village Resort's unique round villas are nestled in lush tropical greenery in absolute privacy. The 4-hectare property has a generous sized pool and a view of the ocean where guests can watch the sunset and unwind at the resort's Kota Beach Bar.The resort is also within close proximity to Cebu's only floating native restaurant, Lantaw and a 20 minute boat ride to the Marine Sanctuary of Hilutungan where guests can snorkel and swim amongst at least 30 different species of marine life.Cordova Reef Village Resort is the ideal place that gives guests a simple and carefree idyllic vacation in a seaside village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Cordova Reef Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordova Reef Village Hotel Cordova
Cordova Reef Village Resort Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing