We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being at Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capt Jack's Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Trepassey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Being with Bertha and Gerard was like coming to you close and beloved relatives. Do you expect such warm reception from strangers? Probably not, but at Northwest Lodge Bed and Breakfast we found excellent conditions and service and extremely nice people. We arrived late when all dinner places were closed, but Bertha and Gerard offered to use their kitchen and give us their famous apricot pie. It was delicious We wish to come back again some day.
Thank you, Bertha and Gerard for your warmth and hospitality.
Earnest and Lucia Light..

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earnest_Light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Due to work restraints we found ourselves on vacation in Newfoundland in late march, early April. We hired a car and planned on travelling the Irish loop. A snow storm blew in on the Monday and we found ourselves stuck in it. Visability was poor and we found ourselves looking for refuge in Trepassey. Luckily for us we found the amazing hospitality of Bertha, Gerard and their lovely dog Oreo. They warmed us up with coffee and muffins. Provided a nice spacious, clean and very comfortable room. They gave us access to their living room and it felt like we were staying with family as we cuddled up to a movie. The restaurant in town was closed (being a winter Monday and Tuesday night). Bertha cooked us a delicious spaghetti bolognaise the first night. Then fettucine, chicken and shrimp the second. Breakfast was delicious, the second morning we had toutons, home made jam and molasses.

The highlight of the stay came on the second night when we sat down and was taught Mexican train dominoes with Bertha and Gerard. While sipping on wine!

Technically we were "stuck" in Trepassey due to the weather. We had an amazing stay and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a warm welcome my husband and I received upon our early arrival. Bertha even though she
Was finishing her chores for the next guests, she still found time to serve us tea and delicious muffins.
Bertha and Gerald were cozy folks with the talent to make one feel at home.
The best was yet to come when happen to find a young bull moose looking back at me through the bathroom window around midnight while eating Bertha's flowers. Not every B&B could offer that experience but, they did.
We shared this lovely place with all friends.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or swimming pool and I could not figure out how to erase it :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting Newfoundland recently and the privilege of staying at Northwest Lodge B&B on our second night. Bertha and Gerry set the standard by which we compared our subsequent B&B experiences. Their hospitality was exceptional. We were warmly greeted on our arrival and offered a most welcomed hot cup of tea and home baked goodies. Our suite was very well appointed, quiet and spotless. The following morning, we were given a hearty send-off with a delicious and most substantial breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay here again should we ever find ourselves back in Trepassey. It certainly is 'a must stay'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LELNewLiskeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The B & B was beautiful, the room was spacious. Bertha & Gerard were great hosts making you feel right at home as soon as you step inside the door. Very welcoming and knowledgeable of the area. I especially enjoyed my evening cup of tea, talking and laughing while they cleaned partridge berries! The breakfast was fantastic and very filling. Unfortunately we too did not get to see the moose that frequents their yard but we did have a wonderful time. Definitely not a place to miss if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had not been down the Southern Shore for 40 years and didn't quite know what to expect. Well our short trip proved to be a wonderful adventure, capped off with a stay in this great little B&B. Food, service and hospitality were all typically and wonderfully Newfoundland. The reception was warm, and the room was very comfortable and clean...and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would highly recommend Northwest Lodge B&B if you are in the Trepassey area.

Also Great sunsets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ButtonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a night here in early September and enjoyed the hospitality very much. Everything is clean and fresh. The breakfast was superb and we enjoyed and learned about Bakeapple preserves which Bertha had made - and the jar we purchased in the grocery store to take home was not nearly as good!
Trepassy is a great central point to travel back out to Cape Race and Mistaken Point Ecological reserve, and just an interesting community to explore.

We did not see it, but a young moose was poking around the parking area the day before!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Moe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capt Jack's Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt Jack's Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Box 5, Site 14, Trepassey, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trepassey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trepassey
Price Range: $106 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capt Jack's Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt Jack's Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast Trepassey, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing