We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Newfoundland Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edge of the Avalon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edge of the Avalon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trepassey
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of Newfoundland Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Trepassey Motel for many years and have enjoyed every visit. The owners are warm, welcoming, and a font of information on what to see and do on the southern shore. The staff too are friendly and helpful. The full service restaurant is a great place to enjoy a leisurely breakfast looking out over the harbor and a welcome sight after a day trip to the archeological dig and museum in Ferryland, to Cape Race, or to see the fossils at Mistaken Point, or a drive to the bird sanctuary at Cape St. Mary's or whale watching at St. Vincent's. The motel is a perfect home base for wherever your fancy takes you. For a taste of Newfoundland hospitality, stay at the Trepassey Motel. Come as a tourist, you'll leave as a friend planning your next visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Florrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, S.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family has stayed at the Trepassey Motel at least a week every summer for the last ten years. It is not the Ritz, but we have found it to be clean and comfortable. The owners and staff have gone out of their way for us on numerous occasions. In fact, the owner opened the motel for us in the middle of January, during a snowstorm so that we would have accommodation at the time of my Mother's death. We look forward each summer to the time spent there with caring people who have become our dear friends.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieCharleston_S_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

An older motel and restaurant that has been managed by a caring hand for a long time. The food menu offers an extensive variety of reasonably priced home cooked food and if you are really lucky to catch the owner at a quiet moment you'll be treated to some wonderful Nfld hospitality!

Bill and Ruth Montgomery
Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Trepassey Hotel while touring the Irish Loop. The owner was very friendly and took time to share lots of stories and information of the area. The food was excellent and the presentation was great. Our room was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. All in all, we had a great experience here. Thanks, Gerome. You have been a great host!!

Room Tip: We had a king room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBS, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

On a weekend motorcycle trip around the Irish Loop we stopped here for lunch at the "halfway" point. Unfortunately, our experience was poor. The dining room was extremely warm with no fans or air conditioning. The young server in the dining room was terrible; she, audibly complained about how many "foreigners" were around that day for lunch, never offered us water (even though it was 28C outside and warmer inside), and forgot our drinks until after we reminded her once our food had already arrived. The dining room has an open door into the motel hallway and a staff member was vacuuming the hall while we were eating; she might as well been vacuuming right at our table it was so loud and none of the staff thought of closing the door so restaurant patrons wouldn't be bothered. There was a serious lack of customer respect on the motels behalf.

The food was bad even for simple food. Frozen low quality hamburger patties were served on our burgers with decent French fries, I would definitely recommend anything else but the hamburgers if you need to stop there and eat. (the choices are few in that area). I was embarrassed afterwards because I had recommended eating there based on a previous recommendation from a family member. I am an easy going person by nature and I wasn't expecting a huge 4 star menu at such a small establishment. Having been a trained chef however, your few items you do serve should be of high quality when your menu is limited and certainly your wait staff should be curtious and pleasant to their patrons. In closing, I'd pack a picnic or stay away from dining at the hotel. The place was clean, however, I would not stay in the hotel based on my dining experience and the demeanor of the staff.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Pieter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed in a number of hotels and feel like I am a rather low maintenance person.
This was a dive, the night staff was rude (shocking for NFLD) and the room smelled of mold. The water didn't really get hot... overall a big disappointment.The icing on the cake was the inflated price for our crap room.
I would recommend driving on to something else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Along the Irish Loop this is really your only choice in the area for accommodations. The motel and it's rooms are pretty outdated. However the staff here are very friendly and the food at the restaurant was well prepared and extremely tasty. There isn't much for entertainment in the area but it does offer a comfortable place to rest your head after a long day of driving. I had a chance to sit and meet with the owner and he was really friendly and warm like most of the people who grew up on this spectacular island of Newfoundland.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EarthGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trepassey hotels
1.5 mi away
Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Avalon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Avalon Inn

Property: Edge of the Avalon Inn
Address: 113 Coarse Hill Road, Trepassey, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4B0, Canada (Formerly Trepassey Motel & Restaurant)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trepassey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trepassey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edge of the Avalon Inn is a full service Inn and fully licensed dining area. There are 12 rooms available, with a mix of king and standard rooms. All rooms have flat panel televisions with cable service, plus there is free wi-fi in the motel. Our restaurant is attached to the motel where we offer a full menu of items that will be sure to suit all of your needs. Our chef takes great pride in his tasty creations. There is a full service bar, called Earhart's Pub, attached to the restaurant as well. There you can have your pick of a selection of wines, beers, and spirits. We also feature draught beer at various times of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edge of the Avalon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Of The Avalon Inn Trepassey, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing