We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a stay”
other traveler has booked this property
Manor Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manor Cottage
The main sitting room ....with welcoming woodburner for chilly evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Manor Cottage
The main sitting room
....with welcoming woodburner for chilly evenings
Ample comfortable sofas
The extra 'snug'/TV room
The extra 'snug'/TV room
There is a separate dining room with oak gate leg table
The dining room leads to through to the kitchen
Stairs to the first floor
A well-equipped kitchen with everything you need
The double bedroom has a kingsize bed
...and view over the village green
The twin bedroom
The bathroom has a bath....
....vanity unit
...and separate shower cubicle
Manor Cottage
The garden is a real sun-trap
...bordered by a brick and flint wall
Autumn
The Plough Inn, Shalbourne
Cricket at Shalbourne
Hungerford, The Kennet & Avon Canal
Stonehenge at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shalbourne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian S
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Perfect for a stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We found it very conveniently located for visits to towns, hill top forts, and charming countryside. Its location on the village green and opposite the pub is just right. The cottage itself is large and well equipped. We wanted for nothing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anneshack...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Manor Cottage with my daughter in the run up to and after her wedding in Marlborough. The cottage was the perfect property for this occasion. Chocolate box pretty, it felt like a very special place with lots of history and character. Quite spacious too. Enough room for our 5 bridesmaids to arrive on the morning and us all get ready together. The outside space was lovely and both inside and out provided us with some beautiful wedding photographs. Well equipped, we wanted for nothing and the friendly pub across the road was an added bonus. The village shop just round the corner was also very handy. We would all recommend Manor Cottage as the perfect countryside getaway for any occasion

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbie F
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a very special stay in Manor Cottage over Christmas 2016. It could have been a sad and difficult time for us due to family illness and the need to assemble in Wiltshire at short notice. The lovely cottage and warm welcome transformed our experience. Christmas decorations, a welcome hamper, toasty warm, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Everyone in the village was very friendly and the walks from the house were a delight for the dog. I hope we can visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slynx
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect English Village Cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a much needed break at Manor Cottage and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Manor Cottage has everything - very comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen and charming garden. The village shop in just yards away and if you've had a tiring day, the pub is within stumbling distance just across the road. Shalbourne is well located for visiting a myriad other places - you could extend your holiday to several weeks and still not run out of new places to go! We loved tha cottage and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Some items of modern furniture - should be period in a period cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy S
Portsmouth, Virginia, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a quiet remote village”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Manor cottage is a lovely cottage directly across the road from the village pub. It comes equipped with everything you need to stay and make yourself at home. It is an excellent location to travel by car to visit many many sites throughout England from Oxford to Portsmouth or from Bath to London. It has a cute garden to spend an evening in, excellent parking in front of the cottage. It is convenient to the Post Office and small General store for your immediate needs. We've stayed here for the last two years and will do it again, if we travel to England soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: hot water in bathroom sink was on right vice left.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierre061...
Nice, France
2 reviews
“nice house”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Nice house in a small village, quiet, clean
we recommend for your future holidays
nice garden with a bbq

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, which will be helpful for future guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Wiltshire. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing