We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday carvery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sulby Glen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Sulby B&B and Inns
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I enjoyed the sunday carvery. There was a good selection of vegetables including spicy roast potatoes and ratatouille amoung the normal offerings. The chef rushed off to find me some salmon (as I don't eat meat) and was very helpful and gracious. Husband enjoyed the carnivourous choices.

The atmosphere in the bar was warm and friendly with some great TT art on the walls and cosy seating. The Sulby Glen is a Free house and we enjoyed a guest beer (from the new Dog House micro brewery) to accompany our meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manninagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I always go here for a meal when I come to the Isle of Man and it never disappoints. If you are over for TT it would be the ideal place to be as it is right on the TT course and there is also a fabulous view of Snaefel on a clear day.

There is always a good choice of meals and they also do smaller meals for people with smaller appetites. They also have a specials board which I picked chicken tikka curry, which came with rice and chips, a popadom and naan bread. I love a good curry and this was a good curry, plenty of chicken and very good flavour. Very nice meal. Other members of the party had gammon steak and bacon, eggs and chips and they were all very well presented and were delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I visited the Sulby Glen Hotel in June this year and found the atmosphere excellent, the beer good and reasonably priced and also excellent food at the right price, I don't have a big appetite so the smaller portions they do are well suited to me. It's an ideal spot to watch they TT and MGP racing from which I will be doing again this august. Rosie (the Landlady) celebrated her 25th year at the Hotel in June so she must be doing something right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

After a long struggle in 2011 to get accomodation I was relieved when I managed to book this hotel, it seemed ideal...
The heating was never on although it was the worst weather for many years , so it took 3 days for my gear to dry out, the room was always cold. It was very clean though a little tired but thats no problem. Intermitent WiFi. Residents having to wait for seats at breakfast due to passing trade.... It can be noisy but thats to be expected during TT week, again no problem. What was a problem was the landladies attitude, I witnessed people being hassled cause they were eating sandwiches that were not bought at the hotel and was embarassed into contributing to the charity bucket, even though 5 of them had been buying beer for the best part of the day! A man was told in front of the whole hotel bar in no uncertain terms, he shouldnt complain about his food not arriving as it upset the waitress so much she was in tears! He had already spent an hour waiting and the waitress had said she couldnt find his order it must have been taken by the landlord! She never had a smile or hello for anyone other than her 'friends'.
If it wasnt for the 'craq' in the evenings it would have been very disappointing.
I can understand that it is very hard work to cater for everyone and to smile when really you want to cry but that is your career choice when you run a Hotel and it isn't a cheap Hotel at £100 per night B&B. Will I stay there again....No. But I will have a drink there as the place has something about it, but I am not sure what! P.S. The waitresses and bar staff where in general excellent and I think they deserve a medal working for the landlady from hell.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

A clean and efficiently run small hotel and pub in a picturesque part of north-west Isle of Man. Our room, a twin, looked on to rolling countryside. Room attractively presented, ample storage, beds exceptionally soft, en suite spacious and clean though toilet quite noisy with its built-in automatic waste-reducing system (or something!). TV small with a Freeview "Digibox" - reception quite good. Rosie and Eddie most obliging hosts. Breakfasts excellent. First day we took on the challenge of a full Manx. We won (just) but had to skip lunch! Evening meals available in bar - nicely cooked and again plentiful. Handy quaint shop/PO opposite hotel for morning papers, etc.
All-in-all a most pleasant establishment offering affordable comfort, good company and good fare. We would happily return and recommend. [But why O why are the car ferry fares so exorbitant to this beautiful island?]

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms offer delightful views over the island's rolling hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burt
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed her for 5 nights as we were visiting the Island for a wedding. Our rooms was warm and comfortable, clean and refreshed on a daily basis. The hospitality we received on arrival and throughout our visit was second-to-none. Rosie and Eddie are great hosts. The breakfasts in the morning were fantastic and a great selection on the menu. On our last night we arranged a meal for 14 and there were asolutely no complaints. Everything went well and we then moved into the bar area where we sat and had a good nights craic. My only complaint would be that as our flight was not until 6 in the evening we had arranged a late check-out but at 12.00 noon, the housekeeper arrived to change the bed linen despite us telling her that we had arranged to leave about 2 or 3. She was so insistent that we just packed up and left. Apart from this minor hick-up, our stay at the Sulby Glen was great and I would recommend it highly

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the bar area of the hotel - its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed one night here in 2010 while cycling around the island. The hospitality was first class, as was the food, drink and rooms. I am looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulby
4.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Ramsey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sulby Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sulby Glen Hotel

Property: The Sulby Glen Hotel
Address: Main Road, Sulby IM7 2HR
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Sulby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sulby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country hotel set at the foot of the beautiful Sulby Glen with uninterrupted views of hills and glen. An ideal center for shopping, walking, fishing, golf, bicycle and motorcycle racing. Open fire in bar area with entertainment some evenings, a wide selection of real ales and whiskeys. Separate restaurant and lounge serving excellent meals using only fresh local produce. Private car park, solarium and free WIFI for hotel residents use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sulby Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing