We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family motel with welcoming family values”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alta Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alta Vista Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKerrow
Espanola, Canada
1 review
“Family motel with welcoming family values”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Plenty of hot water, clean and comfortable. All amenities. Dog friendly. Rose gardens, new plantings, green grass. After a few days on the road, and traveling from England and the US, I felt that I had landed in Paradise. Gauri and Man are kind hosts!

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 998Cilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iroquois Falls
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had cause to stay at this Motel traveling home to North Eastern Ontario. We chose this location as it is very close proximity to amenities, including the Town of Espanola, Tim Hortons, an Esso Gas Station as well as the Cheechimon Ferry Traveling from Manitoulain Island to Tobermory (where my sister was traveling). Though the Ferry is 1.5 hrs from the Motel it was a convenient central location as I was headed back north on the 144 from Sudbury.

We were greeted upon arrival with a group of `bros` hanging out drinking beer outside the room beside us. This was more then inappropriate...what if we had children...of course I know this has nothing to do with the quality of the hotel!

We entered our room...typical older roadside motel fare...Enter individual rooms from the outside....though there was a hallway to access room on the back side as well. The room was equipped with a mini fridge, a microwave, a couple chairs but no table and 2 double beds. The bed linens were old and thin and the bedspreads were 15 years old easy. The bathroom had a newer tub surround, but the tub could use some enamel. The sink and counter top were adequate, stocked with soap and shampoo for the shower. The beds were comfortable....or we were really tired, or a combination of both! Hot water was not an issue neither at night nor in the morning. No check out per say but a drop box was provided for the keys.

Aesthetic changes that would not be very expensive could really help this tired old Highway Motel. I am a business owner in Northern Ontario and I certainly appreciate it is a hard go sometimes. I also realize you need to invest in your business for a better return. I feel for what we received this place is VERY overpriced. I have stayed at other similar style Motels throughout the Province (and the rest of the world) but have to say at 100 +- a night for a room there should be so much more! New carpeting, some insulation in between the rooms to cut down on sound transfers (this is a must here folks, I could have joined in with my neighbors conversations....and when they showered in the morning the sound made by the pipes was more then enough to wake you up!), and an in room coffee maker would have been nice!

Overall the place is adequate. It is clean, comfortable, and conveniently located and not to mention safe. However given the price vs quality of amenities available in room i would say this place is not worth the price we paid. I will not stay here again in the near future and will try one of the numerous other highway Motels all along Highway 17 between Narin Center and Bruce Mines!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 7 in the front....highway noise did not bother us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillin_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McKerrow hotels

Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had made reservations to this motel approximately 2 weeks before the date of arrival, as every room in Espanola was booked. After arriving to the motel at the end of an 8-hour motorcycle trip through poor weather, we were relieved to arrive safely at our destination. When we were checking in, the motel manager let us know that he had given away our reserved room and had made a reservation for us at another motel approximately 20 minutes down the road in the complete opposite way we were traveling. After we expressed our disappointment, the motel manager and his wife spoke to each other in a language we could not understand and didn't seem to care. Very disappointing to us as we thought reservations meant you had a room waiting for you at the end of a grueling trip. The office was messy and disorganized and we were happy to give our money to a different accommodation. Be careful booking here as you may not have a room when you arrive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Place is very quiet people are very friendly rooms are clean lots of room rates are very economical. Overall town is present .we would love to visit again am glad to stay here as utilities and amenities are near by

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parv a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was on bus travell from Brampton to Sue Saint M and best convinent place i found to stay was Alta Vista Motel. I usually look for clean and comforting place and i'm glad i stayed here. I felt secure, nice host and very convient place. All the things i wanted was there, Resturant, Tim Horton and Gas station. I don't mind staying here again.

Room Tip: I felt rooms at the back of the building is much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKerrow
22.4 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
15.7 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista Motel

Property: Alta Vista Motel
Address: 381 Highway 17 West, McKerrow, Ontario P0P 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > McKerrow
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKerrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alta Vista Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alta Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing